New Indie Pattern Company: Itch to Stitch and Marbella Dress Pattern Giveaway

Marbella Dress Pattern by Itch to Stitch

Marbella Dress Pattern by Itch to Stitch

Hello There Dear Friends,

First a quick update. We took possession of the keys to our new home on Tuesday and have spent the last 2 days cleaning it from top to bottom so it is all ready for us to move in on Tuesday next week. I love it! Hopefully  this will be our “forever home” and I am going to have an amaaazing sewing room. Pictures will follow (eventually).

On the sewing front, not much has happened. I have gone as far as I can with my birthday dress, Vogue 8998 (sneak peak here), and am now waiting for some more silk to arrive. Fingers crossed it will be here in time for  my birthday party on the 8th November. I suspect after that dress gets completed all other garment sewing is going to cease for a little while whilst I get some new curtains made. Yikes! Curtains!

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago I was contacted by a new to me Indie Designer called Kennis Wong. You can read all about Kennis and her company, Itch to Stitch, here. Kennis very generously offered me a copy of her new dress pattern, the Marbella dress, which I have to say, looks very elegant, comes in 12 sizes from 00 to 20, and also different cup sizes from A – D. (I also like the potential for colour blocking with the yoke).

Unfortunately, as I explained to Kennis, I just didn’t want to commit to sewing a dress right now with everything that’s happening with the move, other already scheduled sewing commitments, and Christmas (!) coming up. BUT, Kennis also offered me a copy to giveway here on my blog. So, Readers, if you want a chance to win a PDF copy of this pattern just leave a comment below telling me what fabric you might make this dress up in. I would love to hear your ideas!

As for me, I would love to do a plaid wool version of this dress…let’s see if I manage that before Christmas (don’t hold me to it!)

This giveaway is open until 12pm GMT Friday 31st October, after which I will randomly pick a winner.

Until soon…

Tags: ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

33 responses to “New Indie Pattern Company: Itch to Stitch and Marbella Dress Pattern Giveaway”

  1. Carol says :

    I love this pattern. I would love to win it and make myself a holiday dress in green wool.

  2. noecassandre says :

    en broderie anglaise,cette robe serait très élégante ,je pense.

  3. Alicia @ Pandora Sews says :

    Congrats on the new house! Even though I will have to do plenty of grading, I will throw my name in the hat for the pattern, because I think it has great potential.

  4. Lilliana says :

    I’d love to do it in a bright tweed to cheer me up through winter!

    Congrats on the house move xx

  5. Janet says :

    I just love the silk fabric that you are busy with and holding thumbs for a successful birthday dress. I am interested in which version of the neckline you have chosen.. Lovely from start to finish!

  6. DonNaturaL says :

    I would love to sew this pattern and post my results.

  7. Sylvie says :

    I’m starting a new job on Monday, and am looking at making skirts and dresses in some types of suiting fabric. Classy and polished! That’s what I would do!

  8. Gail Amir says :

    Lovely dress; I want to make it in bordeaux colored linen

  9. Rachelle Moffett says :

    I really like the pattern. It could be dressed up or down in the right fabric. Sign me up for the drawing and btw…Congrats on the new home and sewing space!

  10. G says :

    I’Ve been eyeing it since it came out. So put my name in the hat, please!

  11. Thimberlina says :

    Thanks for introducing this new pattern designer!
    The dress is gorgous. I have a white stretch cotton sateen with green stitching as flowers on it. (Is much nicer than it sounds!)
    I’ve just looked at the website and there should be enough to make it.
    I’d love to win, but if not it’s definately on my wish list ✂️😀✂️

  12. grabill says :

    A dress with cup sizes, yay!! If I could find a stable knit in a pretty pattern, that would be my first choice.

  13. Rachel M says :

    I like the versatility of this dress, linen for a summer wedding or a silky number for the party season. I would make this in a raw purple silk, giving interest from the texture and colour and allowing the classic boat neck line and pleated hips to emphasise my curves.

  14. genya says :

    Its a beautiful pattern, I would make it in burgundy buacle

  15. prttynpnk says :

    Wool plaid? That sounds perfect!

  16. LeeAnn B says :

    I would love to do a colorblocked version!

  17. Canal Couture says :

    I would definitely make a color blocked version. Maybe a tweed with red or black yoke and leather piping?

  18. carolynmcginnis says :

    I am not sure what I would use to make this dress. Living in FL it would have to be something carefree – maybe a cotton knit.

  19. Debbie Cook says :

    Cute dress and … YAY for the cup sizes.

    BTW, I finally rose to your “challenge.” Sorry for the tardiness.

  20. Suzanne says :

    Ooh, I love when they include cup sizing. I think ponte or wool.

  21. Ginny says :

    Lovely pattern — it’s so sleek and feminine! I’d love to make it in a lovely midnight blue color, (perhaps using wool gabardine) for winter and later in soft flowery cotton for summer.

  22. auntychacha says :

    Nice to be introduced to a new sewing company! I would try it in a Linton tweed for winter…

  23. Jennin says :

    A lovely floral wool my gran gave me would be good for this dress x

  24. Jane says :

    Congrats on the new house and hope that the move goes well next week! I’ve never heard of this pattern company before but I’m intrigued about the optional cup sizes, it’s be great to finally have a pattern that I wouldn’t need to make changes to!

  25. Anne Szabo says :

    Pretty dress pattern. I would sew it in a pastel linen. anne

  26. Mary says :

    That pattern would make a great Christmas party dress!

  27. black label says :

    Thanks for the intro to this new pattern company…very interesting.
    I like this dress – it looks very similar to the Peony Ive just finished (still need to blog) ie. same shape & neckline but it has something extra in the separate yoke which adds interest & allows some playing with fabric, colour, print etc – super cute.

  28. Katerina says :

    Very cute pattern! I would use black or red wool for a dress that can be worn from morning to evening. Looking forward to see your new sewing room!

  29. Megan Reti says :

    Congrats on getting possession of your new home! This is such a cute pattern. I kind of want to make it super girly in a floral print.

  30. lovelucie1 says :

    I can see it in a large blue floral on a white background. Possibly in a stretch sateen. Lovely dress.

  31. Rose in SV says :

    Congrats on the new house. Thank you for the opportunity! I would make it in a bright floral print.

  32. Mary says :

    I think it would look great in an olive green wool, thanks for the chance to win and congrats on the house!

Leave a Reply

