Simplicity 1716: DIY printed jersey cowl neck dress version

Simplicity 1716 dress version

Simplicity 1716 dress version

Hi Friends,

It is so good to be back! We are still waiting for a landline to be installed, but we have a (rather slow) dongle connected to the PC so I can blog again. I totally could  not cope with blogging on my ‘phone.

So, I turned 40 on Sunday. The silk that I was waiting for didn’t arrive (worse I fear it has gone missing in the post). I have contacted the eBay seller concerned and they are sending another shipment in the post BUT! they now only have a limited amount left, so I have to pray that 1. it actually arrives (or the first shipment miraculously turns up) and 2. it is enough to finish cutting the skirt panels.

The morale of this story is, if ordering from an overseas eBay seller, make sure you order enough fabric the first time around…

Anyway, I made this easy-to-wear-and-make jersey dress to wear on my actual birthday. We went out for lunch to a lovely pub/ restaurant in the Lake District.

Simplicity 1716 dress version

Simplicity 1716 dress version

This is a dress version of Simplicity 1716. It’s actually my third time working with this pattern. Here’s version 1 (this version was too big; I wore it to lounge about at home until it got holes in, then I had to get rid of it), and version 2 (worn this over and over; really should get some more jersey of this weight and make another version).

Simplicity 1716 dress version

Simplicity 1716 dress version

All I did this time around was cut the bodice pattern a couple of inches below the waist. I thought I wanted a blouson effect so the bodice would bag out and cover the elasticated waist, but I am actually not so sure about it. If I was making this again I would probably just cut it at the waist (allowing a seam allowance to join), and maybe make it a little bit wider at the waist. Personal fitting preference. The skirt is taken from my Miz Mozelle pattern.

Simplicity 1716 dress version

Simplicity 1716 dress version

FYI, most of the construction was done on the overlocker, but I sewed the darts/ made the casing etc on my sewing machine. I inserted the sleeves flat, which is standard practice for me on all knit garments. I stabilised the shoulders with clear elastic and the hems were overlocked, turned up once and finished with a twin needle. Despite this being a thin jersey, it is surprisingly warm, especially over tights and I am wearing a jersey slip under the dress in these photos.

I have so much more to share about the fabulous sewing gifts I received, but this slow internet connection is driving me crazy, so until soon (hopefully getting proper internet next week)…enjoy the rest of the week.

Simplicity 1716 dress version

Simplicity 1716 dress version

 

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

25 responses to “Simplicity 1716: DIY printed jersey cowl neck dress version”

  1. house of pinheiro says :

    Happy birthday, you look great in this colour. xx

  2. sewbusylizzy says :

    Happy happy birthday! Alas for slow silk delivery but yay for a lovely cowl neck dress. Looking forward to seeing your sewing presents!

  3. stitchedupsam says :

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday. Fingers crossed the silk arrives soon!

  4. Meigan says :

    Happy Birthday! This dress looks wonderful on you! The color and silhouette are perfect.

  5. Amanda S. says :

    I like it – the color is lovely on you. Happy happy birthday!

  6. robindrush says :

    beautiful fabric and dress. looks great on you too.

  7. Alicia @ Pandora Sews says :

    Happy Belated Birthday, Manju! I really like this dress and the colors are great on you. Sending happy thoughts that your silk will arrive soon!!!

  8. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    happy birthday and that color is great on you.

  9. goodbyevalentino says :

    Happy Birthday!! Cut dress 🙂

  10. Sabrina says :

    This dress looks so comfortable and easy enough to dress up and down. I love it!

  11. Preethi says :

    Happy birthday to you. It looks like a very versatile dress you can wear in summer and winter.

  12. Amy says :

    Wonderful birthday dress! Wishing you luck for your silk! Eek!

  13. helloeloo says :

    I really loe this dress! I discovered your blog at Pauline Alice’s blog and i just love it!

Leave a Reply

