OOP Vogue 8674: DIY Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Hellloooo Friends:

Finally! Almost 5 weeks after moving in, I have working internet access. I know, I know. It’s a totally First World Problem. But, hey, I missed sharing my creations with the world 🙂 But, internet is finally on, and my sewing room furniture is being slowly assembled (come on Philip!) AND remember, the missing silk? It’s turned up!! Big smiles all round.

Anyway, I am back with something I sewed up a couple of weeks ago and have been wearing LOTS since I made it. It’s the most snuggliest, cuddliest, warm faux fur gilet. I made this gilet using OOP Vogue 8674, view A, with the collar from view B/C. I chose this pattern because I had it in my stash and I wanted a pattern for a lined vest.

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

I have been looking around for faux fur for a while now. The good stuff is not cheap. So when I came across this gorgeous quality Tyber faux fur, manufactured in Belgium, on my local market stall for a very reasonable price I snapped up 2 metres. (I got 2 metres because I knew DD Kezia would want a gilet too, so expect to see a mini version soon. The 2 metres is enough to sew this gilet for me, a version for Kezia and still enough to do hats or maybe a little capelet etc.).

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Rachel recently sewed a gorgeous Tala Faux Fur Gilet, and gave lots of tips on buying and sewing faux fur, most of which I would agree with. But, just so you know, here’s how I approached my project:

  • I cut a single layer
  • Fur has a nap, so take that into consideration when cutting your pieces out
  • I made my markings (I used tailor tacks, my personal favourite) on the backing on the reverse of the fur
  • I did not iron the fur at all. I was too worried about the consequences. I used a lightweight sew in interfacing at the collar
  • I pulled the fur out of the seams once sewn using a wooden point turner
Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

My one regret (not that it’s stopped me wearing the finished garment at all), is that I didn’t go for a more luxurious lining. I used an acetate lining from my stash. This was supposed to be a quick and not too expensive project. I sewed Hemline fur hooks to the inside as closures. Full pattern review below.

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

MISSES’ JACKET AND BELT: Semi-fitted, lined, sleeveless jackets A, B, C in two lengths, have front button closing, darted front and topstitch trim. B, C: stand-up collar and attached, unlined capelet. C: self-fabric belt. A, B, C, D cup sizes.

I made a modified version of view A with the collar from view B/C.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Probably not, but that is simply because of my fabric choice.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I am very pleased with my finished gilet. There is nothing to dislike about the pattern.

Fabric Used:

Tyber Faux Fur. Beautiful quality.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I removed the overlap at the front of the vest, and sewed in fur hooks to close the gilet.

I ended up removing the in-seam pockets; there was a very strange shape at my hips so they had to go to rectify the problem.

I added a hanging chain.

I omitted most of the understitching (kept it only at the armholes), and also omitted all of the topstitching.

I lowered the armholes by 5/8ths of an inch.

I cut the pattern at the length line indicated for view A, but ended up adding 2 and 5/8ths inches to the length.

I did an approximate 1 inch sway back adjustment.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I don’t know if I would sew another fur gilet myself. This pattern worked for me once I made the alterations but I can’t comment on how it would be sewn up in a recommended fabric. It was a pattern I had in my stash.

Conclusion:

Very pleased with my faux fur gilet. It’s been worn lots and it’s very much on trend right now.

So, I have actually been doing a fair bit of sewing. Bit of a blogging backlog now, so expect to hear from me soon. Have a great weekend!

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Vogue 8674 Faux Fur Gilet Vest

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

25 responses to “OOP Vogue 8674: DIY Faux Fur Gilet Vest”

  1. Alicia @ Pandora Sews says :

    Manju, it is lovely! It looks so warm and cuddly for the Winter.

  2. stitchedupsam says :

    Oooh, this looks lovely. I have a faux fur gilet that I bought last winter, they’re so cosy!

  3. Lynne says :

    This is lovely, it looks so cozy and warm. And I love your boots too!

  4. Rachel M says :

    Fabulous, this looks great on you.

  5. Amanda S. says :

    It’s so cute and trendy! Looks warm too.

  6. Yvonne Bennett says :

    Wow! So very professional looking and you look great wearing it. Such a cute outfit!

  7. Tracy H says :

    LookS gorgeous and really suits you. So much more impressive than the pattern

  8. Carolyn says :

    Love this! And this looks great on you!

  9. Simple Inspirations says :

    This is a lovely vest! I love the color the look and the fit! I can understand and totally relate to how warm and cuddly your vest must feel. I made one last year too and wore it again this year. I’m sure I will wear it many more times as will you! Enjoy your great new vast and if you would like to see mine, here’s the link… http://1simpleinspiration.blogspot.com/2014/01/baby-it-cold-outside.html?m=1

  10. SewSouthLondon says :

    Oh, I totally love it. Between you & Rachel Pinheiro I am having massive faux fur gilet envy!

  11. Tia Dia says :

    You look so chic and cozy warm!

  12. velosewer says :

    You’ve done a great job balancing the lines on the fur. And I would so buy your vest.

Leave a Reply

