OOP Simplicity 2479: DIY faux fur gilet for a little girl

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Hi Readers,

Christmas is almost upon us and this year Kezia really has been enthusiastic and excited about the festive season (if I hear the Michael Buble christmas CD one more time….!), but it’s lovely to see and be part of.

Anyway, some of you may remember this fur gilet I made for myself a little while ago (had it on today when I was out shopping….lovely and warm and comfortable). I promised Kezia a version of her own, and here it is.

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Simplicity 2479 is actually intended for men and little boys (Sshh, don’t tell her, she will not be happy!), but again, it is a pattern I had in my stash and one I have made before (for Philip, see here). I made view A but without all the extra details.

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

I didn’t really follow the instructions. I sewed the lining to the outer fabric, right sides together, at the armholes, bottom of the gilet and the fronts, and then turned the whole thing right side out through the sides. I then sewed up the sides and attached the collar. I added fur hooks and made the pompoms by simply gathering a circle of fur up, stuffing it with scraps of fur, and hand stitching it closed.

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Not much else to say about this project. Check out my first fur gilet post for how I approached cutting and sewing faux fur.

Are you all ready for christmas? Aside from sewing some little christmas tree decorations I have not sewn anything else in the way of christmas presents. I am trying to finish up a dress in time for christmas which will be my next White Tree Fabrics make….warm wishes for the festive season…until soon!

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

Simplicity 2479 little girls faux fur gilet

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

23 responses to “OOP Simplicity 2479: DIY faux fur gilet for a little girl”

  1. SewSouthLondon says :

    Fabulous gilet – and what a gorgeous model!

  2. Faye Lewis says :

    That outfit is to perfect especially with those pom poms!!!

  3. JenL says :

    Cute! Lucky girl!

  4. Ems says :

    Absolutely darling!

  5. Alicia @ Pandora Sews says :

    So adorable! The pom poms really finish it off.

  6. Amanda says :

    It looks gorgeous and she is very pleased with it! 💝

  7. Catty says :

    Cutest outfit ever! You both rock the fur vest! Love the pom-poms! Wish I had it in me to make one for my 10 year old!

  8. Carolyn says :

    This is just adorable! Your daughter looks like she really loves her new fur vest!

  9. Kathy Sews says :

    Oh my goodness!!!!!! This is so adorable! I want one for me 🙂 Those pompoms!!

  10. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    that is so pretty, you make me want one!

  11. Roberta Fahrni says :

    Very nice! Well done!

  12. paulinealice says :

    This is so cute! And your girl is so adorable in her fur vest!
    I’ll go read your original now as I have some faux fur and was wondering what to do with it. I wish you and your family a Merry Christmas Manju!

  13. lucy says :

    This vest is so adorable. I love the pompom so cute.

Leave a Reply

