My sewing in 2014!

Hello There Friends,

Happy new year!

I wanted to take a quick look back over this past sewing year, as well as look forward to 2015.

2014 has been a (even if I do say so myself), phenomenal year for me in terms of sewing. Not only in terms of output, but also in terms of variety of garments and fabric types sewn, as well as the increase in my technical abilities. Here are some brief stats:

I think these are correct….

  • 45 items sewn in total (that have been blogged about; I have also sewn one pair of curtains so far for the new house, and am carrying one UFO forward into the new year – my birthday dress. I don’t do UFOs, so this will have to be finished….but now I don’t have a big occasion coming up that I need the dress for, I am dragging my heels slightly).
  • 17 dresses (including one not mentioned above that has not yet been blogged).
  • 9 tops
  • 8 jackets/ coats/ cardigans/ sweatshirts
  • 4 items for Kezia
  • 1 shirt for Philip
  • 3 bottoms
  • 1 knitted item
  • 1 underwired bra
  • 1 swimsuit
  • 1 patchwork teddy!

These items are definitely the ones that got worn the most:

Butterick 5683: quilted jacket

Butterick 5683: quilted jacket

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

So suffice to say, I realise that I need to make more tops in the new year!

I also wanted to give a “special mention” to these garments, which I genuinely love each and every time I put them on:

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

McCalls 6696: DIY navy linen shirt dress

McCalls 6696: DIY navy linen shirt dress

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Now on to the garments which I didn’t love:

Vogue 8936 studded peplum top

Vogue 8936 studded peplum top

The bodice length was too short on this peplum top and I really didn’t know what to wear it with. It has been donated to charity.

Simplicity 1423

Simplicity 1423

The puckered seams on this dress made it a fail for me. I wore it once and then realised how embarrassed I was of it…it went to the charity shop.

McCalls 6991 and Vogue 8936

McCalls 6991 and Vogue 8936

Ah yes, the beautiful silk crossover top. Don’t worry, this is still in my wardrobe…but it has only been worn once. I am thinking what to do with it.

Burdastyle Zipper Sweatshirt 08/2014

Burdastyle Zipper Sweatshirt 08/2014

This last one may (or may not!) surprise you. I love wearing this sweatshirt, and I would like to make another (maybe sized down slightly). The issue is with the fabric. It is extremely delicate and snags (and tears) very easily. I have actually acquired more quilted fabric from another source which seems more durable…so expect to see some quilted dresses appearing.

Plans for 2015? I don’t like to restrain myself with resolutions or plans. I like to go with the flow 🙂 But I would like to make more tops, more every day wearable pieces, still try and do the tailoring thing, and sew some classic tailored pieces like a beautiful blazer and a tailored coat.

All that remains is for me to say thank YOU, readers, sincerely, for following along this year. For leaving comments, answering my questions, offering opinions and entering my giveaways. Peoples, it’s been emotional….until soon and happy new year.

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

30 responses to “My sewing in 2014!”

  1. sewingaddict says :

    Wow – what an impressive array of sewing! You’ve had many more hits than misses!! Thanks so much for sharing your sewing journey with us. I thoroughly enjoy your blogs and have bought and sewn several patterns based on your recommendations. Happy new year to you and yours!

  2. Nakisha says :

    Great wrap-up! I love that pink silk top and want one of those V8884 jackets!

  3. Miss Celie says :

    I’m a new reader to your blog but quite love your makes and your voice. Happy New Year to you!

  4. JenL says :

    I’ve enjoyed your blog all of 2014 – happy new year!

  5. Jenny Cashmerette says :

    Gorgeous stuff! Your 6696 is one of my favourites.

  6. Kathy Sews says :

    Love your work. I rarely look at roundups but knew yours would be fantastic… and it is! I really look forward to seeing more in 2015 🙂

  7. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    you have made some fantastic things this year and quite an output! I always look forward to seeing what pattern you choose. Especially love the green Vogue jacket, that is perfection. Happy New Year, Beth

  8. zibergirl says :

    Wow! what an exceptional year of sewing, you have so many beautiful handmade items! Congratulations and Happy New Year!

  9. Sassy T says :

    Love them all. My fave is the quilted jacket, it is fabulous.

  10. Erika Arens says :

    I’m crazy for quilted knits right now… what’s your source?!? I love how colorful everything in this post was! I think you got one of each color in there!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi I got the sweatshirt fabric from minerva fabrics in the UK…the other two (new) quikted fabrics are from an ebay seller…will put up details when I see them!

  11. Ginny says :

    What a wonderful & productive year in sewing you’ve had! I’m swooning again over several of your makes — I NEED a gorgeous green jacket too!

  12. Janet says :

    Well done, you got so many of the garments spot on! I tend to have more misses than hits, and if it is a hit, I tend to make it over and over. Thanks I have enjoyed following your blog and look forward to following another year of inspirational sewing.

  13. Tia Dia says :

    Great sewing year! Here’s to a Happy New Year of sewing and learning.

  14. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    You have made some really beautiful garments in 2014 Manju. Looking forward to seeing what you make in 2015.

  15. Mary Kay says :

    Love your selection! I am late to this blogger/pinterest way of finding information but I am starting on Vogue 8884 and I see you made a lovely version back in the spring. I really am not a beginner but I am quite stumped over the directions on the foldline on both the front and back yoke pieces. Please if you don’t mind, do you crease the foldline and then bring it down to the seam line, then topstitch 1/4″ from there??
    Also, did you use woven interfacing?
    Thanks so much!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hello Mary Kay….erm….that dress was made such as long time ago, I really don’t recall at all…although I don’t remember needing interfacing? If I can look at the directions in the next couple of days I will….

Leave a Reply

