McCalls 6885: DIY Denim Tunic Dress

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

Hi There Folks,

Well, winter continues on here. I can’t complain too much: the winter so far in this corner of the world has been relatively mild. But it’s still quite cold, wet and windy. I wanted a couple of casual, throw on dresses that I could layer over tights and boots. And also, more loose fitting in style.

Enter McCalls 6885. This is described as a semi-fitted pullover dress, which should have a collar and collar/ front button bands. You will notice on my version that I decided to omit the collar to give a more grandad style collar.

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

Here’s the back view. I decided to add the waist ties, which I made from self fabric. Those fabric ties were designed by the devil himself. I spent more than an hour trying to turn them the right way round (using a pair of tweezers!) and my ties are shorter than the pattern indicates. Just saying. You will also notice I added a back yoke with some topstitching.

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

Here’s the inside of the yoke, which I cut from cotton.

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

I decided to add hammer on denim buttons. I wish I had thought more about my thread colours. I did the topstitching in brown, but the seams (and subsequent buttonholes) were sewn in white. Ah well. I also flat fell seamed the arm seam that gets folded over.

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

I actually love wearing this. It’s just so easy to pull on and go. I love the loose, casual fit and the very soft denim. I wish I had been able to get it in a darker wash, but this is all my local market had. Next time!

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Semi-fitted, pullover dresses have collar, collar/front bands, front pleat and narrow hem. C: purchased belt. D: pockets, tie ends and long sleeves with button tab. Shaped hemline B, C and rolled sleeves D: wrong side shows. Lined hat has top, crown and brim.

I made view D.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes. Although I omitted the collar.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the loose casual fit and the pullover style. I can see this dress being made in so many different fabrics. Nothing to dislike. Although be warned, the sides of this view are very short. If I was going to make this to wear in the summer and wanted the shaped sides I would lengthen.

Fabric Used:

A very soft, lightweight denim.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I added a back yoke.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.

I shortened the sleeve length by an inch?

I omitted the collar.

I flat fell seamed the sleeve seam that gets turned over.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes and yes.

Conclusion:

This is such a great casual dress pattern to have in your collection that can be made for year round wear. I love it!

What do you think? Are you a fan of the looser, tunic style?

Have a great rest of the weekend!

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

McCalls 6885: denim tunic dress

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

18 responses to “McCalls 6885: DIY Denim Tunic Dress”

  1. Faye Lewis says :

    Nice make. Perfect topstitching.

  2. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    looks good and will translate to spring with different accessories. Oh denim…how nice it is to wear in any form 🙂

  3. dkswife says :

    I think you look so comfy in it. Love the look.

  4. Alicia @ Pandora Sews says :

    I made this pattern over the Summer in the sleeveless version. I ended up adding 4 inches of length because of how high those sides go up. I like the idea of leaving off the collar. This looks perfect for throwing on with boots and leggings and heading out on the weekend.

  5. lucy says :

    Nice top/dress. It looks comfy.

  6. Mary Danielson Perry says :

    I looooove this! It looks comfy and chic, at the same time. You’re always inspiring me to buy new patterns that I’ve oveooked, like this one. It’s so cute on you, Manju! Fantastic work.

  7. Tomasa says :

    I love this tunic on you! It looks so cozy and comfortable.

  8. Alice says :

    This looks super comfy! You look very cozy in it 🙂 Perfect for the British winter (it’s about to get less mild…)

  9. catherinedaze says :

    I think the ties were worth it! A great casual dress.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. McCalls 6885: DIY Popover Gingham Shirt Dress | sewmanju - May 5, 2017

Leave a Reply

