Saiph Papercut Tunic: DIY Mustard Quilted Tunic Dress

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Hello Dear Friends,

Here’s a little splash of colour to brighten a now dull and cold winters day. Mmmmmm…..mustard. It’s not a colour everyone likes, but, as Sunni wrote in this post, it’s something that I am drawn too (and I loved her mustard skirt!)

The fabric is somekind of quilted jersey/ cloque (from ebay). I have another piece in navy. It is warmer than wearing your average jersey, but handles something like a scuba. It was definitely easier to handle and I would say more hard wearing than my last quilted jersey piece, detailed here.

Quilted jersey/ cloque

Quilted jersey/ cloque

The pattern is the Saiph Tunic from Papercut Patterns. I first made it here.

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

In addition to whatever changes I made last time, this time round I did a one inch sway back adjustment, I took a little more off the sides at the waist and I redrafted the neck facings and deepened them by one inch. I also slip stitched the facings to the shoulder and back seam to stop it flipping out.

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

The hems were overlocked, turned once and stitched. Yes, I change all my overlocker threads everytime to suit each project. 🙂

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Hmmm…not much else to say. I told you I wanted a couple of looser fitting tunic styles in my wardrobe for the cold weather and I have them now. Now on to other, more complex projects!

Here’s a shot without the scarf. I do think if I made this again I might raise the neck up slightly.

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Until soon….have a great weekend…we are predicted extremely cold weather next week (minus temperatures), so I am off to hibernate 🙂

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Mustard Saiph Papercut Tunic in quilted jersey

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

30 responses to “Saiph Papercut Tunic: DIY Mustard Quilted Tunic Dress”

  1. thornberry says :

    I love mustard too, and I really like your dress! It looks warm and cosy and it’s a perfect pop of colour in what is currently a cold landscape.

  2. lucy says :

    This color is so perfect. I love the tunic/dress, its looks good you

  3. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Very warm and cosy looking tunic. The mustard looks great on you.

  4. Gabrielle UpSewLate says :

    I love the look of that fabric – and your dress looks so cosy, perfect for warming up on a cold day….

  5. Alicia @ Pandora Sews says :

    Manju, this color is great on you! I may just consider this tunic. It looks like it would be pretty easy to grade up, and I am a gal that loves tunics.

  6. Amanda says :

    Its lovely and the colour is just beautiful. It really suits you. 💝

  7. stitchedupsam says :

    I like mustard too, although it doesn’t look as good on me as it does on you! I’m really tempted by this pattern having seen your couple of dresses, although I am also tempted to try and do a mash up of my favourite New Look 6000 and the skirt from Vogue 1247, with the slot pockets.

  8. Jeanette says :

    Oh my! I just made a very similar dress in this exact fabric! Love yours!

  9. CraftedbyCarrie says :

    Love the mustard color on you – especially with that contrasting purple scarf! And I love the quilted jersey, I have a new love of all things quilted and I’m very jealous. Do you have particular vendors you buy from on Ebay? I’ve never purchased anything there and don’t really know where to start.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks carrie. There are certain ebay sellers who I now “know”/ trust…but they are in the UK…not sure if you would want to pay shipping from here. If in doubt I would always say ask for samples. Most professional sellers will send them out – often for free. Just go with sellers with good feedback and communicate with them.

  10. Sheseams says :

    I love your surging work!

  11. aradhana says :

    this is an extremely cute look on you – love the colour and the pattern.
    i don’t know whether you mentioned why you are considering raising the neckline in future iterations – it looks very good the way you made it!

  12. Roberta Fahrni says :

    It’s a perfect winter dress – very nice! I also love the scarf – did you make it?

  13. catherinedaze says :

    I love how you styled this. Also what a great fabric!

  14. Kirsty says :

    What a great cold weather dress! It looks wonderful.

  15. velosewer says :

    I love how you’ve worked with quilted fabrics and come up uber cool.

  16. That Black Chic says :

    Love that fabric and the dress is really cute pockets are awesome! http://www.thatblackchic.com

Leave a Reply

