Burdastyle Esther Cardigan #8027 – DIY Sewn Woollen Lambswool Blend Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Dear Friends,

Yesterday it snowed. It’s April and it snowed. Yes, I know some of you in other parts of the world are also still awaiting real spring to arrive, but gosh, I was miffed driving through the horrible, wet, cold sleet. So I came home and decided to sew a cosy cardigan.

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

I chose Burdastyle’s Esther cardigan. The only modifications I made were a 1.5 inch sway back adjustment and to shorten the sleeves by 2 inches. I realise now of course that I should probably have left the 2 inches were it was, but I like the 3/4 sleeve length. Ok? And if I really want them full length, I just unfold the cuff. Like this:

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

The fabric is a delicious 25% lambswool, 25% cotton, 50% tencel blend, purchased from this ebay seller, whom I have used before, and describe themselves as an “Italian Textile Company”. I like the fact this seller carries a variety of different (including technical, performance) fabrics, all very high quality, and is happy to send out samples for no additional cost. I don’t think there is any more of this particular fabric left, but it is wonderfully soft, warm and definitely cosy.

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

I taped the pattern together, made my modifications, cut the fabric out and did my tailor tacks yesterday afternoon and sewed it together (all on my overlocker) over a couple of hours this afternoon. Once you have got your head around how the pattern pieces go together, this is a fast and easy make, although don’t rely on the instructions too much…I was able to figure out what to do myself but everyone else who has made this has said the instructions are rubbish.

Photographed just now in the grey, cold, windy evening.

Not the blog post I wanted to bring you, but it is just too horrible to photograph the stuff I wanted too.

Until soon…

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Burdastyle Esther Cardigan

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “Burdastyle Esther Cardigan #8027 – DIY Sewn Woollen Lambswool Blend Cardigan”

  1. Andie L. says :

    Your cardigan looks so comfy and soft. Perfect for gray days like that. I hope it warms up really soon!

  2. Thimberlina says :

    The cardigan looks lovely and snugly! It looks like you’ve knitted it rather than sewn it up. Thanks for the ebay link – I’ve just been drooling over their fabric!

  3. wearawyatt says :

    OOOO looks soft as a peach, loving the colour too

  4. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    What a lovely cosy looking cardigan. The fabric looks so warm.

  5. Alicia @ Pandora Sews says :

    Manju, I love that kind of slate blue color! I have looked at this cardigan and considered making it on occasion, but I have such a love hate relationship with Burda that I have not managed to talk myself in to it yet. I think it would be really luxe in a mushroom gray taupey kind of color.

  6. Judi says :

    It looks snuggly warm!!! Thank you for the link!

  7. Andrea says :

    That looks really cozy. I really like the shape and colour. I must keep that seller in mind.

  8. Caroline says :

    This is a lovely modern shape for a cardigan and its a fab colour too. I am always on the lookout for a good sewing pattern for knits so thanks for this one.

Leave a Reply

