Vogue 1359: DIY Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Hello There Friends,

Hope you are all ok. Today’s post is about Vogue 1359, a dress I have made once before: see here. This might sound strange, but I have only worn that dress a couple of times since it was made. I think it was the fabric that I didn’t love? But there was something about the pattern which I did like (I do like things with twists/ drapes/ gathers at the waist). And then I saw this Boden dress and it was my inspiration:

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Check out my original post on this dress for the modifications I made. This version is made in a soft cotton jersey (I think? It’s been in my stash for a little while). The only changes made this time were to the lining. Last time the front bodice lining was far too short…although I discovered this may have been due to me omitting to attach the neckline facing. So for this version I added 3.5″ to the front bodice lining piece (I will only add 2″ next time), tapering to 2″ at the sides and continuing round to the back sides, then tapering away to 0, 4 inches away from the centre back seam. The body of the dress is fully lined with a soft mystery stretch fabric. EDITED: forgot to say on my first version, the shoulders felt like they were slipping too far down my arm so I did a bit of a cheats adjustment and just made the pleats at the shoulders larger (0.5″?). I also stabilised the shoulders with elastic.

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress - lining

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress – lining

I obviously shortened the sleeves as well and – for the first time ever! – interfaced the hems (with knit interfacing) before twin needling. Results…ok…probably a bit better than without the interfacing….I am a bit meh on it. Maybe try again on my next knit dress project.

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

The one thing I wish I had done differently is stay stitch the neckline. It’s annoying because it’s something I would normally do, but the instructions don’t make mention of it, and I forgot. So I think the neckline has stretched…it is trying to stand away from the body somewhat…but I think I rescued it by fusing the facing to the dress neckline using some double sided hemming tape and the weight of the lining seems to be holding the neckline in place.

These pictures were taken a couple of weeks ago and since then it has become cold and wet again. Blah! But I have worn this dress a couple of times and I genuinely do love it because it is so easy to wear and the lining means it is flattering too. I could see this dress being worn year round and it just pulls on. Sometimes simple is the best, right?

Until soon.

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Vogue 1359: Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

37 responses to “Vogue 1359: DIY Twist Front Floral Jersey Dress”

  1. stitchedupsam says :

    Fabulous! The twist front makes it super flattering and the fabric looks really lovely and Spring-like. Another pattern to add to my list!

  2. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Beautiful dress. I like this one better than your first. Maybe it’s the pretty blue print.

  3. ntpolite says :

    Really flattering on you. I also love the print. So spring like

  4. Dharma says :

    I agree that the dress is very flattering. Isn’t fun to learn from each project? The garments you post are always inspiring.

  5. Thimberlina says :

    This one is definitely more flattering than you’re first one, looks lovely on you 😃

  6. Ebi Poweigha says :

    Second time’s a charm! Really pretty dress.

  7. Carolyn says :

    Love your fabric choice for this dress and it’s so pretty on you!

  8. Jen (NY) says :

    Really pretty dress and it’s really flattering! (May have to look up this pattern for myself!) The shorter sleeve length works particularly well – seems to be a better balance for the neckline, IMHO.

  9. Suzanne says :

    Agree that this dress is super flattering. In fact, you look better than the model. I love it when that happens. Now I’m buying this pattern.

  10. Amanda S. says :

    I LOVE this dress on you Manju! It is so flattering! You need one for every season.

  11. Nakisha says :

    This is gorgeous! It fits you perfectly and the fabric is beautiful!! Hopefully the sun comes back soon! 🙂

  12. Erin H. says :

    A beautiful dress – and looks lovely on you! 🙂

  13. Mary Danielson Perry says :

    What a gorgeous dress! That twist detail is so striking and it fits you beautifully. Heck, I like yours even more than the cute Boden inspiration! Utterly lovely.

  14. Candice says :

    This is such a gorgeous dress, simply beautiful!

  15. SewSouthLondon says :

    Loving this dress more than the first. The print is lovely. Why would you ever need to shop again if you can make something as fab as this? I need to get myself a Boden catalogue!

  16. Yvonne Bennett says :

    I must tell you, from my view point it looks lovely on you. The color, fit, style are all very becoming.

  17. Levone says :

    Beautiful dress!

  18. Amy says :

    Super pretty!

Leave a Reply

