Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse + Butterick 6182: DIY Pussy Bow Tie Neck Blouse + DIY A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

Hello There Dear Friends,

I have missed you! We were in India for 5 weeks and returned just over a week ago. I missed my sewing machine! The day after we returned, I spied this Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse pattern, which I had printed out months ago, sitting on top of my shelves, and decided to sew it using some viscose georgette from my stash. It is a pretty quick make, so I decided to carry on with the 70s inspired look and sew up the skirt from Butterick 6182 (you can see the top I made from this pattern here). And hey presto! A complete look that will hopefully carry me from this inclement weather through to autumn. Speaking of which, I wore this outfit yesterday (it was Phil’s birthday), and it was pouring with rain the whole day, which is why you are getting indoor shots.

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

I have got a few things to say about the blouse pattern…check out my review below. My overall feeling about the blouse is that I love wearing it (in fact, wearing it right now over skinny jeans). As for the skirt….yes, I think I like it too. I think it might need slight tweaking at the back if I made it again (don’t know if I would), and I don’t know how sensible it was to put an invisible zipper in a denim skirt, so there’s that…

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

I used a printed cotton for the pocket facings, and I also bound the inner waistband seam and topstitched it in place from the outside, rather than turning and slipstitching in place. Handstitching = dislike for me. Speaking of which, I machined everything in making the blouse as well, rather than slipstitching the collar and cuffs as instructed.

Butterick 6182 pocket facing

Butterick 6182 pocket facing

Butterick 6182 inside waistband seam

Butterick 6182 inside waistband seam

I used a contrasting topstitching thread to add some interest to the pockets, side seams and hem of the skirt. You can read about the changes I made to the skirt pattern below. I love the little button loop on the blouse.

Butterick 6182 topstitching detail

Butterick 6182 topstitching detail

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse Button Loop Detail

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse Button Loop Detail

Pattern Review Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse

Pattern Description:

The Pussy Bow Blouse is a classic design that will always be in style. With two different style options you can choose between a v-neck version or a keyhole opening. Stylish and versatile, it’s perfect for the office but can be dressed up for a night out. We promise it’ll be the perfect accompaniment to your favourite pencil skirt.

The perfect pattern for showcasing drapey fabrics, it works best in a rayon, sandwashed silk, crepe or other lightweight fabric with a lot of drape.

The Pussy Bow Blouse is an intermediate pattern, so we recommend you have a few dressmaking projects under your belt. If this is your first time using lightweight drapey fabrics, remember to take it slow and don’t be shy with the pins!

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. Although I will be honest and say they are not as good as the sutton blouse instructions. Given that the recommended fabrics for this blouse include sandwashed silk, crepe de chine etc, I personally thought it was a little disappointing that there was no mention of french seaming etc. I made my blouse out of viscose georgette so used an overlocker to finish my inside seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the finished blouse. It is so easy to pull on and wear. It looks great with skinny jeans or tucked into a skirt. You can dress this blouse up or down very easily. The fit is good (although I will make some minor tweaks next time).

Dislikes:

There are no lengthen or shorten lines. I compared the sleeves and body to a Big 4 blouse pattern I had and from that shortened the sleeves by 1.5 inches and did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.

You have to cut your own (very small) bias strip to make the button loop: don’t understand why this piece couldn’t have been included in the pattern?

No differentiation between different size cutting lines.

No mention of french seaming etc (see above).

Fabric Used:

Spotted viscose georgette.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Shortened sleeves by 1.5 inches.

Approx. 1 inch sway back adjustment.

Next time round I would staystitch the neckline I think, add a tiny bit of length to the front of the blouse and move the shoulder seams forward by approx. 0.5 inches.

I machined everything and didn’t handstitch the collar or cuffs as directed.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I would love to sew this in a silk. Yes, I recommend, but as the pattern indicates, maybe not to a complete beginner.

Conclusion:

Fun, feminine and very on trend whilst being very classic at the same time…

Pattern Review Butterick 6182

Pattern Description:

Loose-fitting, pullover top or dress has bias neck facings, and sleeve bands. A: Narrow hem. Skirt has wide waistband, side-front pockets, front pleat and invisible back zipper. B and C: Stitched hem.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, although I didn’t make mine with a wide waistband, and I added extra topstitching.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the pockets. I think I like the overall shape. I didn’t want the wide waistband so I changed that.

Fabric Used:

A dark denim.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • The waistband pattern piece for this skirt measures more than 6 inches wide (unfolded width). I made mine 2 inches wide (folded width).
  • Due to fabric constraints, I had to piece my waistband.
  • I omitted the interfacing in the waistband, although I did interface the zipper area.
  • I cut the pocket facings from a printed cotton to minimise bulk.
  • I bound the inside waist seam and topstitched from the outside rather than turning over and slipstitching.
  • I removed 1.5 inches from the length of the skirt and made a 1.5 inch hem.
  • I added contrast topstitching at the pockets, hem and side seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I don’t know if I would sew this particular skirt again. Yes, I would recommend.

Conclusion:

A fun skirt to complete the 70s vibe of my outfit.

Ah, so much more to say about India etc but that will have to be in another post. BTW, you can also now catch me on instagram (sewmanju). See you all very soon!

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse and Butterick 6182 A-Line Dark Denim Skirt

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

16 responses to “Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse + Butterick 6182: DIY Pussy Bow Tie Neck Blouse + DIY A-Line Dark Denim Skirt”

  1. Thimberlina says :

    I’m loving the whole outfit! At first glance I thought you’d made culottes but with the pleat in the front. I’m looking for for the right pattern for my elephant & Indian fabric and now I think I may have found it after ‘spotting’ your pussy bow blouse! 😃

  2. Ali says :

    It’s a great outfit, very flattering. I love all the top stitching on the skirt and think I might have a go at the Pussy Bow Blouse, I thought that style would be a bit too formal for me but with jeans (or a denim skirt!) it’s perfect!

  3. sheilazthreadz says :

    Fabulous outfit and looks great on you.

  4. Rachel says :

    Love it. This a great look on you and looks so put together.

  5. knittysewandsew says :

    I love that skirt! It works really well with the blouse too.

  6. NaTisha says :

    Really nice blouse and skirt combo.

  7. stitchedupsam says :

    Really nice outfit on you. The blouse looks great, I might have to add that pattern to my list, although I just bought the Sew Over It Anderson blouse pattern.

  8. lovelucie1 says :

    A lovely outfit. That blouse is exactly what I would wear. One of these days……

Leave a Reply

