Vogue 7975: A Quilted Boho Version: Construction Post 1

Hi Friends,

For my next White Tree Fabrics project I have decided to make a quilted boho (?) style jacket using some gorgeous Geninne Cloud9 organic cotton. It is the sashiko bird navy colourway and I have already washed, dried and iron this fabric. It is colour fast and wonderfully soft and smooth without being too lightweight either.

Here is my inspiration:

Quilted jacket inspiration - the Emerline print quilted jacket by Monsoon. [Source]

Quilted jacket inspiration – the Emerline print quilted jacket by Monsoon (2013). [Source]

The inspiration jacket features princess seams front and back, welt pockets, a centre front zip fastening and a combination of mirrored and pom pom trim. The inspiration jacket has the lining quilted to the outer fashion fabric, but as I explain below, I have decided not to do that. My jacket is not going to have any fastenings and I have ordered some trim, but I am not sure whether, yet, it will be entirely suitable.

I am using Vogue 7975 as my pattern. I have already made this jacket once before. I took it out of the wardrobe today and tried it on and I am actually astounded at the fact it doesn’t look that bad, given that I made this jacket quite early on in my sewing life. Ok, there are things I wish I had done differently and the size needs slight tweaking, but it wasn’t too bad. If anything at least it has given me a muslin to work from.

In this picture you can see the outer fashion fabric and also the printed cotton I plan on using to line the jacket. The lining fabric, featuring a stag print, was bought locally to me. I don’t know if it is one of the Liberty’s of London rejects that they used to print…

Moody Blues by Geninne - Sashiko Bird Navy Organic Cotton and Stag Print Cotton for Quilted Version of Vogue 7975

Moody Blues by Geninne – Sashiko Bird Navy Organic Cotton and Stag Print Cotton for Quilted Version of Vogue 7975

As mentioned above, I am not quilting the lining to the outer fashion fabric. This is because I think the quilting will be too hard to manage, in order to achieve a pucker free finish on both the lining and the outer fabric. Also, I don’t want to hand sew seams or flat fell seams on this project, so I have decided to quilt the outer fashion fabric to the wadding and then line the jacket.

Here’s the details of the wadding I am using:

Vogue 7975 quilted jacket wadding details

Vogue 7975 quilted jacket wadding details

I have no idea if this is the most appropriate type of wadding to use…I chose it because it is not very lofty and seemed the easiest to work with!

I am working with a total of 3 metres of outer fashion fabric. Today I laid my pattern pieces (still to be adjusted) out roughly on the fashion fabric and decided, to make the quilting process more manageable, to cut the fabric in half and quilt one half at a time. It took me just over 2 hours to put all the diagonal quilting lines on one half, and I made a small start on the diagonal lines that run at 90 degrees to the first set. My quilting lines are approx. 2 inches apart (to create 2 inch squares).

Vogue 7975 quilting the fashion fabric

Vogue 7975 quilting the fashion fabric

I used my walking foot throughout, and the guide it comes with (the metal bar above) to make sure I was getting lines 2 inches apart.

Here’s what it looks like so far:

Vogue 7975 quilting the fashion fabric

Vogue 7975 quilting the fashion fabric

So that’s where I am at. This is a project which is going to take a little time. And, to be honest, I don’t know what the outcome is going to be like, or even if I will like it. But that’s part of fun of sewing, isn’t it? Isn’t it?

Until soon, have a great weekend.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “Vogue 7975: A Quilted Boho Version: Construction Post 1”

  1. sewnupgifts says :

    I am impressed! Such a lot of work, but it is looking really good, looking forward to seeing the finished jacket. Well done!

  2. Stella says :

    I am going to have to copy your copy!! Well they do say it’s the sincerest form of flattery! Will use a pattern from my stash and look on ebay for some fabric to jump out at me. Good luck with your creation!

  3. prttynpnk says :

    popcorn, cushion, large beverage….ready to watch this unfold. I love the idea!

  4. stitchedupsam says :

    Ooh, I can’t wait to see how this turns out, I think it’s going to be fabulous. What patience you have to quilt all that fabric, I’m not sure if I could be bothered…

  5. Carolyn says :

    What an interesting and fun project! I love your inspiration jacket and I’m sure you’re intrepretation of the jacket will be fine!

  6. amcclure2014 says :

    Looking forward to seeing the finished item; looks great so far.

Leave a Reply

