Vogue 7975: A Quilted Boho Version: Construction Post 2

Hey All,

Today I have a pictureless post to share with you 🙂 Aren’t you lucky?

BTW, the first construction post for this jacket can be found here.

Just wanted to update you on how this project was going, and largely talk about the pattern modifications that I have made.

Firstly, an update on the quilting: I have spent probably about 7 hours quilting so far! And I am about three quarters of the way through. Am I foolish? Or am I dedicated? You decide. I tend to do it in not more than 1 hour blocks, just to avoid complete brain death. It’s not hard once the first line is sewn. The other lines just run parallel to that one. But it is certainly quite boring. Put on something interesting to listen to, or to watch.

Here are my pattern modifications:

  • For this version I am making long sleeves (as opposed to 3/4 or bracelet length). This is a jacket which will be worn in cooler weather so I feel longer sleeves are more appropriate. I cut the sleeve at the line for view C/D and added 2 inches to the length.
  • I have added 1.5 inches to the length of all the pattern pieces
  • I added about 1 inch in total to the front of the jacket only, running from just above bust point down to bottom of the jacket, so this 1 inch is split equally over the front princess seams.
  • I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.
  • I have added 3/8ths of an inch to all the seam allowances to make a total of 1 inch seam allowances. There are two reasons for this:
    1. Someday I may get round to making a quilted French Style Tweed Jacket thing, and on my Craftsy class (that I purchased for this purpose) you are told to use 1 inch seam allowances to allow for potential fraying of fabric. So this means I kill two birds with one stone.
    2. I think I will only actually use 5/8ths of an inch seam allowance to sew the current jacket and the 3/8ths will hopefully allow for any bulk added by the quilting. I can always make the jacket smaller if it feels too big. So it is a little bit of a built in safety factor.

That’s all I got for you today. Tomorrow I got a busy day of running to piano lessons, dentist appointments (for my daughter) and taking her to her swimming class so maybe by the weekend I can get to the cutting out stage.

More soon!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

5 responses to “Vogue 7975: A Quilted Boho Version: Construction Post 2”

  1. thesewingmiserablist says :

    Looking forward to seeing your jacket. It’s very on trend. I have the same fabric in voile and love it but haven’t round to using yet.

  2. Amanda S. says :

    I love your inspiration picture and can’t wait to see how your version turns out!

Leave a Reply

