Butterick 5982: DIY Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Hi Friends,

Happy Monday! I decided I wanted to make a couple of easy to wear viscose dresses in autumn appropriate colours that I can wear comfortably on the odd warm day we are still getting, but easily layer with tights/ boots/ cardigan etc when it gets cooler. This is the first of those dresses.

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

This is Butterick 5982. I have already worn this dress LOADS since I made it (last week). With a cardigan over the top and pumps and, today, tights. I love the style and the fabric. BUT the fit is not perfect. Check out my review below for the details. Consider this a wearable muslin. I think this is such a versatile style to have in your stash because the recommended fabrics include brocade, linen, eyelet and you can make the skirt with a sheer overlay too. Plus it has the princess seamed bodice with a choice of two necklines…including a V-neck…what’s not to love?

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Dress has close-fitting, lined bodice, side front seams, pleated and gathered skirt, back zipper, and belt with bow, knot and Velcro® closing. A/B, C D cup sizes.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yep.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Although the fit on this dress is not perfect (see below), I love the ease of wearing this dress and the cool, comfortable fabric. Since completing it, I have already worn it loads and it looks great layered with a cardigan, tights and boots or bare legs and pumps etc. I love the princess seamed bodice, choice of necklines, the pleated/ gathered skirt and the versatility of this pattern: you can make it in so many varied fabrics. Nothing to dislike. Did I mention this is a multi-cup size pattern?!

Fabric Used:

A dark floral print viscose.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

There are around 3.5 inches ease in the bodice: I chose to size down.

The only actual adjustments I made were:

  • 1 inch sway back adjustment
  • 1 inch full arm adjustment
  • Took only 3/8 inch in sewing the lower part of the bodice side seams (thereby effectively adding in 1 inch back into the bodice)

I chose to staystitch the neckline, although the instructions do not tell you too. Hmmm….risky I say.

I omitted all the suggested handstitching. I used steam-a-seam to secure the bodice lining inside and stitched in the ditch to finish. I machined the lining to the zipper. I installed an invisible zipper.

Like I say, the fit on this dress is not perfect. But the busy print hides the problems. I have already adjusted this pattern as follows for if/ when I sew this again:

  • Added 0.25 inch at the lower bodice side seams
  • Dropped bust darts by 1 inch
  • Raised back waist seam by 1 inch, tapering to nothing at side seam
  • Lengthened front bodice by 0.5 inch, tapering to nothing at side seam
  • Did a 0.5 inch forward shoulder adjustment

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I may sew this again. Yes, I recommend.

Conclusion:

I know the styling on the envelope isn’t too inspiring, but this is a great basic pattern to have in your stash.

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Butterick 5982: Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress

Back soon with another viscose dress. Have a great week.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “Butterick 5982: DIY Dark Floral Viscose Fit and Flare Dress”

  1. csewsit says :

    I like to receive your posts! Thank you for your reviews.

  2. zibergirl says :

    This is a really cute dress. I love a full skirt, and tend to make a lot of them. The fabric is lovely and is very flattering on you.

  3. Morgan says :

    Everything about the style, fit and fabric choice works so well for you.
    It’s a winner.

  4. stitchedupsam says :

    This looks like the perfect transitional dress Manju!

  5. Lynne says :

    This is such a lovely dress, and I can see that it would go with lots of things. Good call on the stay stitching. My sewing motto is “if it’s got a curve, stay stitch it!”

  6. Tomasa says :

    Oh my – what a beautiful dress! Love the print – so feminine.

  7. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Very pretty dress. The neckline is very flattering on you.

  8. mia says :

    Lovely dress, perfect for the change in season, plus you always do such great reviews. It’s good to read a blogger who’s not all about the indie patterns.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress | sewmanju - November 17, 2015

Leave a Reply

