Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Review and Pauline Alice Quart Coat Pattern Giveaway

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Hey Peeps,

I said I wanted to make another easy to wear transitional dress, and this is it. It’s the Eliana dress by Pauline Alice. Some of you may remember I was a pattern tester for Pauline last year, for her Quart Coat pattern, and Pauline kindly sent me a copy of this pattern along with a final pattern for the Quart Coat once the pattern was finalised. It struck me that I don’t need another copy of the Quart Coat, and as we are approaching coat sewing season, I thought I would offer one of my readers a chance to win the pattern. Just leave me a comment below before midnight GMT 27th September (that’s next Sunday) and I will randomly pick a winner. Open internationally.

Back to the dress…

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

The weather wasn’t the best when we took these pictures but they will have to do. I love the finished dress. This is another easy to pull on, wash and wear dress, made from a lovely printed viscose that I purchased locally.

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

I love the fact there are no fastenings for this dress. There is a slit at the front (or you could have it at the back), with a tie formed from the bias binding which finishes the raw edge of the neckline. I also love the elasticated waist (I know not everyone does), but it just gives the shaping required and makes this super comfy to wear. I also think the slightly 70s feel of the pattern is very on trend right now.

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

The Eliana dress is a semi-fitted dress with gathered neckline and waist. The flowy skirt has inseam pockets and hits just above the knee.

View A has long raglan sleeves gathered at the wrist, a front opening and an elastic waistband.

View B is sleveless, has a back opening and ties at the waist with a grosgrain ribbon.
Pattern Sizing:

34 – 48

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

For the most part yes. There is one part that I didn’t find very clear (sorry Pauline :-)) which was what seam allowance to use for the bias binding. I ended up emailing Pauline and she clarified to use 5/8ths of an inch. The pattern is rated as easy, and it was, but you have to be confident at making/ applying bias binding to finish the neckline slit, the neckline itself and the wrist openings. Also, I would say don’t attach the skirt to the bodice until you have finished applying all the binding as it may make things a bit unwieldy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the easy to wear style, but you could easily make this up in a fancy silk, and it’s very on trend at the moment. A silk maxi version would be lovely for a special occassion. Nothing to dislike.

Fabric Used:

Printed viscose.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I added 3.5 inches to the length, but took 1 and 3/8ths inch for the hem.

I shortened the sleeves by 4 inches.

I made my own bias binding from self fabric.

When I made the proportions of the neckline as suggested in the pattern instructions it felt a bit…constrictive, so I made the neckline longer. It fits fine at the back, but the shoulder darts are slipping backwards. On my next version I will shorten the front portion only I think.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes and yes.

Conclusion:

A great on trend and easy to wear dress.

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress

Thanks Pauline for the pattern. Have a great week and don’t forget the giveaway!

*This giveaway is now closed*

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

43 responses to “Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Review and Pauline Alice Quart Coat Pattern Giveaway”

  1. Little Miss Bunting says :

    Sewing a coat is on my Autumn to do list, so finger’s crossed

  2. Lisa Raison Trehy says :

    The dress looks gorgeous :-).
    Thanks for the giveaway.

  3. cinnaspice says :

    I am in love your dress, It is a dress I would make for the fall season, instant gratification. You have inspired me to want to make the Quart coat for this winter when you made it last year.

  4. dkswife says :

    Love the dress, and I have wanted to get the coat pattern so thanks for the giveaway.

  5. lefilalagratte says :

    Thank you for the giveaway ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. G says :

    Very nice dress. But it’s the coat I’m after ๐Ÿ™‚ so please put my name in the hat!
    Ghainskom at yahoo dot com

  7. caroleknox says :

    Your dress looks great. Really good fit on you. Would love a chance to win the coat pattern please

  8. Sue says :

    Your dress looks lovely on you. Would love to win the coat. Many thanks for giving everyone the opportunity.

  9. Faye Lewis says :

    I love the Quart Coat pattern. Please enter me in your drawing!

  10. evans s says :

    I am going to try to make a coat this fall. Looking at the waterfall coat or maybe a cape.

  11. Fiona says :

    This dress really suits you, a lovely style for the autumn.
    I love the coat too, and I have the material waiting!

  12. genya says :

    The dress looks lovely on you and the proportions are just right!
    Quart coat is in my wish list, thank you for the giveaway!

  13. Nakisha says :

    This is really pretty on you!!! And it looks easy to wear

  14. marylou24 says :

    What a lovely dress! I’d love to win the coat pattern, I’ve had my eye on it for a while!!

  15. Kathy Sews says :

    I need like 10 of these dresses now! I love the print and the ease of wear. It looks great on you. It reminds be so much of a Burda magazine pattern I’ve been eyeing from last year that I have on my short list of things to sew soon.

    (P.S. Count me in on the Quart pattern giveaway, I’m in the U.S., so I’m not sure if you’re going international with it, if not, that is totally fine!)

  16. Sarah says :

    Would love that pattern. I’d like to sew one normal version and one biker jacket adaptation

  17. Donna says :

    Very pretty dress. I love your style!

  18. Sandrs says :

    Lovely dress! Traced the pattern recently but then never made it up – you’ve just inspired me to make it up asap!

  19. Nancy says :

    Your gray Quart Coat with the red lining is gorgeous! I’ve had my eye on this pattern, but looking at your version made me believe that it could work for my figure. I’d love to win the pattern!

  20. Kristin says :

    Love your dress….and would love to have the coat pattern!

  21. June says :

    Love the dress and I would love to win the coat pattern. Thank you

  22. Helen says :

    I remember when you showed your quart coat. It’s a beautiful coat and is definitely on my list of things I would like to sew.

  23. Jen (NY) says :

    I’d just like to say the dress is lovely on you! (No need to enter me in the giveaway, but it’s a nice one!)

  24. Sue @ A Colourful Canvas says :

    Looks like there’s a hint of autumn in the air. Your lovely dress is styled perfectly for the season.

    I would love the Pauline Alice Quart Coat pattern. Thanks for hosting a giveaway.

  25. sewcialwarrior says :

    The dress looks great on you. I love the jade green colour. I would also love to win a copy of the quarter coat pattern. My e-mail address is sewcial.warrior@gmail.com

  26. Rosie says :

    That’s a beautiful dress and I love the material ๐Ÿ™‚

    Never made a coat so would be fab to add to my to-do list!

  27. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    This dress suits you very well Manju. The colours are lovely too.

  28. Simple Inspirations says :

    I really love this dress too! It’s a perfect silhouette with a combination of beautiful colors and print. Very nice job!

  29. Suzanne says :

    i loved the carme top.

  30. SewSouthLondon says :

    It’s a very flattering shape. I love the viscose too, as it drapes beautifully.

  31. amcclure2014 says :

    I like the colour and shape of your dress. The fabric drapes beautifully.

  32. Mel says :

    I loved your coat! I put that pattern on my wishlist after I saw yours ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. Lynne says :

    Your dress is gorgeous! I love the colours in the fabric, and it looks great with your boots. Thanks for the chance of winning your giveaway!

  34. Carol says :

    Your dress is lovely. It looks very chic and comfortable.

  35. Rosalia says :

    LOVE the colors!

  36. ShowandTellMeg says :

    Ooh I love the Quart coat! Thanks so much for the giveaway ๐Ÿ™‚

  37. Anne says :

    Include me in the giveaway! It would be fun to make up the Quart Coat.

  38. Meigan says :

    Lovely fabric choice for that dress.
    I love the Quart coat and would love to win a copy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  39. Brittany says :

    Your outfit is perfect for the fall! I have been following your site for a while and you always inspire me to get sewing.

    The Quart coat is beautiful, too, my goal is to make a winter coat this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  40. Lace hearts says :

    The dress is looking fabulous. I love the fabric. I’d love to be in the hat for the Quart coat giveaway please. If i ever sew a coat, that’s the one I’d choose

  41. Kristel says :

    Hi there, I loved your test version of the Quart Coat! Your Eliana is inspirational too! Great fabric choices. All the best, Kristel

  42. Caroline says :

    A gorgeous dress, great colour with a good fit and drape – it ticks all the boxes!

Leave a Reply

