Kwik Sew 3504: DIY Mens Corduroy Jeans

Hi Friends,

It’s been quite some time since I last made anything for my husband Philip. Well, now that fast has been broken as I made him some corduroy jeans using Kwik Sew 3504. This pattern is fairly well loved on the internet and as Phil is not keen on super skinny jeans this looked like a good option.

 

DSC_1351

Kwik Sew 3504: DIY mens corduroy jeans

Check out the review below for the full details. In essence I am very happy with how I made these jeans, but unfortunately Phil is not completely happy with the way they fit. They are too long in the rise from the crotch to the waistband, and when I (eventually!) make these again I am going to shorten the rise by 2 inches.

We all know black (and especially black on black) is hard to photograph but I have some detail shots to share. Even though it might not be terribly apparent I did all the topstitching/ bar tack details on these jeans using Gutterman topstitching thread.

DSC_1354

Kwik Sew 3504: DIY mens corduroy jeans – coin pocket detail

DSC_1358

Kwik Sew 3504: DIY mens corduroy jeans – back pocket detail

DSC_1365

Kwik Sew 3504: DIY mens corduroy jeans – fly detail

I used some left over cotton from my stash to make the pocket linings and matching bias binding which I used to bind the waistband and the left hand fly extension.

DSC_1366

Kwik Sew 3504: DIY mens corduroy jeans – waisband, inside fly and pocket bag detail

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Men’s jeans have fly zipper, waistband with belt carriers, back yoke, back patch pockets, front pockets, a coin pocket, and topstitching detail. View A legs are straight cut and View B are boot cut.

I made view A, but slimmed the legs down further than the pattern suggested.

Pattern Sizing:

S – XXL

The waistband on these were originally cut at a size L but I ended up removing a total of 2 inches from the waist before attaching the waistband and I also cut the legs as the size S. This was because I compared the width of the legs to a pair of RTW corduroys my husband has and the legs were much slimmer.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Very much so.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

This is a great basic mens jeans pattern. There is nothing to dislike as such.

Fabric Used:

Corduroy.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

As mentioned above I cut a size L for the waist, but removed 2 inches before attaching the waistband. I cut the legs following the size S line (to get a narrower leg).

I shortened the length of the leg by 3.5 inches.

I chose to bind the inside edge of the waistband using self made bias binding and stitched in the ditch from the outside rather than topstitching.

Next time round I will shorten the rise from the crotch to the waistband by 2 inches and also interface the waistband: the instructions do not tell you to do this but the waistband is not firm enough for Philip.

Some other notes:

I used the “With nap” layout (corduroy!)

I used a Schmetz size 90 needle for sewing (and in my overlocker). I used a 3 thread overlock to finish seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes. Sigh. I will have to make these again :-). Yes I definitely recommend, if for no other reason than in 17 concise steps this pattern takes you through making an entire pair of jeans, including installing the fly.

Conclusion:

This is a great pattern and I am very happy with my finish on these. My husband thinks the fit is off (too long in the rise), and that’s fine. I can alter the pattern for the next version.

Well, we have had a frost over night here and my daugher is disappointed we have not yet had snow. Yuck! Happy (warm) sewing….

DSC_1345

Kwik Sew 3504: DIY mens corduroy jeans

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

28 responses to “Kwik Sew 3504: DIY Mens Corduroy Jeans”

  1. prolificprojectstarter says :

    Wow, excellent topstitching and finishing inside, hope he appreciates that!

  2. That Black Chic says :

    Nicely done, for some reason I shy away from corduroy. [I did just purchase two types for upcoming projects though] The construction looks solid and your inside as beautiful as the outside. Your husband is such a pro at modeling, I see he was focused!

  3. alliana88m says :

    Thanks for your review. My husband keeps asking me when I am going to make something for him and my son. I don’t usually make guys’ clothing and I have only attempted to make a shirt for him recently. I will have to try this pattern.

  4. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    wow those look fantastic. I love corduroy jeans. they always look so comfy and classic. the sewing is perfect.

  5. Noelle says :

    I think they are very flattering on him. Guys are funny. They like what they know. But if your husband knew how good these look on him he’d feel comfortable wearing them. We over here in Arizona , USA who are jean experts say, he looks hot in those.

    Great job on your work. I love the inside pockets too. They’re just as nice on the inside as the outside.

    Im getting this pattern for my husband.
    Thx!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thank you Noelle. My husband had a chuckle over your comment re. Hot! I have already adjusted the pattern for next time…meanwhile maybe he will grow to love these?

  6. Alethia says :

    OMG! you did a fantastic job on your husband pant.

  7. crab and bee says :

    Your sewing looks beautiful! I sewed these up for my husband and had the same problem – really long rise. I removed 1″ from the top (as much as I could without making the pockets look really weird) but I would have taken more if I hadn’t already top-stitched everything.

  8. Rachel says :

    These look beautifully made. What a shame your hubby doesn’t like the rise. Next time it will be perfect. I can make two pairs of trousers for my son and the fabric will look similar but they will hang differently. Blame the fabric! Sling them on a hot wash, tumble dry and add turn ups to adjust for the shrinkage! Job done.

  9. m3isme says :

    They are really quite lovely. You are inspiring me to stop procrastinating and start sewing “harder” things. They turned out so well, even if they’re not a perfect fit…seriously, RTW is never perfect, either. These, at least, have the potential to become perfect next time around!!

  10. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Beautifully sewn details Manju. Such a shame he is not happy with the fit after all your hard work. The next ones will be perfect.

  11. Myra says :

    These are great pants and I thought based on the very nice smile on your hubby’s face, that he was extremely pleased with the total outcome! I was surprised to read he thought the rise was too high. We all think he looks great in them!

  12. SewSouthLondon says :

    What a great job! They look really smart, inside and out. Nice meet Philip too!

  13. Aminat says :

    Great pants, and what a great job you did. Oh mine you have lots of patience with all these top stitching.

Leave a Reply

