OOP Butterick 4610: DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

DSC_1733

Butterick 4610 DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

Hi Friends,

Following on from my last post where I discussed the construction of this blazer, here’s the finished article modelled on myself and a review of the pattern (OOP Butterick 4610), which was included in the price of the Craftsy class that I followed to make this blazer. We had our first good day of sunshine in at least 2 weeks today, and so I jumped at the chance to take some photographs.

DSC_1783

Butterick 4610 DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

DSC_1786

Butterick 4610 DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

DSC_1749

Butterick 4610 DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

DSC_1737

Butterick 4610 DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

DSC_1814

Butterick 4610 DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Lined, fitted jacket has princess seams, two piece sleeves, patch pockets and single button closing. B, E: topstitch trim. C: purchased trim. E: contrast flowers.
Pattern Sizing:
6 – 20

I picked a size based on my high bust measurement and then made adjustments from there (see below). I did grade out by one size at the waist and below.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn’t really look at the instructions as I was following a Craftsy class to tailor this jacket. I think they were “ok”.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the finished jacket and I am happy with the fit. This is my first woven, lined, notched lapel, blazer style jacket and I think it was a good starting point. Now I have made it I am thinking it might have been better to have more than one button (although honestly, I doubt I will rarely, if ever, wear it fastened). The thing I disliked the most about this jacket was the setting in of the sleeves. Setting in sleeves is something that doesn’t normally phase me, but I sweated over these. Other reviews don’t mention any issues so this could purely have been down to me, and the adjustments I made (see below).There was just too much ease (particularly at the front of the sleeve). In the end everything looks ok, but if I tried to make this jacket in, say a cotton, I imagine it would be a nightmare!
Fabric Used:
100% wool with a viscose lining. I steam pressed my fabrics before commencing with cutting out.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • I lengthened the jacket by 2.5 inches.
  • I did a 6/8ths of an inch sway back adjustment, tapering away to nothing at the side seams.
  • I added in approximately 1 inch to the back and side back seam over the high hip.
  • I did a 5/8ths of an inch forward shoulder adjustment and also a forward shoulder adjustment to the upper sleeve using this tutorial from Heather B.
  • I cut the sleeves at View A and added 2 and 5/8ths inches to the length.
  • 1 inch full arm adjustment.
  • 1 inch FBA, added to the princess seam side panels and the corresponding increase in length to the front of the jacket.
  • This jacket was fully  hand tailored using hair canvas and pad stitching in the lapels and undercollar. Following the Craftsy class I added sleeve vents and taped the roll line using twill tape. I used fusible interfacing on the hems. Full details on what tailoring I did and review of the Craftsy class I followed here.
  • I topstitched the lapels and collar of my jacket by running 2 spools of my regular Gutterman sewing thread through a top stitching needle as I didn’t want a heavy topstitching thread finish.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don’t know if I can face the sleeves again, so the answer may be no, which is a shame as I was hoping this may become a TNT pattern. With almost 20 successful reviews of this pattern on PR.com I say don’t let my opinions put you off…
Conclusion:

I am proud of myself for completing this jacket and it is a great way to start the new year, learning new skills that have already made my sewing more on point in other projects. I feel good wearing this jacket and I think it’s a real classic piece that I will never want to part with.

DSC_1797

Butterick 4610 DIY Wool Tailored Blazer

Have a great rest of the week everyone and I will be back soon with more completed projects!

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

27 responses to “OOP Butterick 4610: DIY Wool Tailored Blazer”

  1. zibergirl says :

    Looks like you enjoying that sunshine in an attractive tailored jacket! I finished a Butterick coat the other day. I liked how great the instructions were. It went together very easily. Yours looks really nice!

  2. idaaidasewing says :

    Looks fantastic and it fits you so well you rightly feel proud of it!

  3. Rachel M says :

    Hi, your jacket looks brilliant and I love the choice of lining. I have sewn this jacket twice recently, the second time I really struggled with the sleeve head ease too! I guess it depends on the fabric. I too took the course and now do a mixture of hand and RTW to make jackets.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Rachel. Well makes me feel slightly better someone else struggled with the sleeves 🙂 I do think completing the class has made me a more confident sewist.

  4. navybluethreads says :

    Looks great on you, loving the lining too.

  5. thesewingmiserablist says :

    Lovely jacket and you got a really good fit, which isn’t always easy. I might get to see it in person too, look forward to it!

  6. thetelltaletasha says :

    VERY very nice! How long did it take from start to finish? (after adjustments)
    I see you were able to put layers on underneath as well, that’s great! That allows for so many possibilities!

  7. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    Very nicely done. I don’t notice anything in the setting of the sleeves. They look fine. I love the colour of the lining too.

  8. Thimberlina says :

    Wow! What a fab start to the year! I bet it was still chilly despite the sunshine, but I bet it was easy to smile for the camera in your lovely new jacket 😀

  9. Mette says :

    You are a sewing pro! Love your blazer – you did a great job

  10. Pandora Sews says :

    It turned out lovely, Manju! I hate that it was such a pain.

  11. Lynne says :

    Your jacket is gorgeous, you did a briliant job. Also, I love your sunglasses!

  12. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Perfect fit and beautifully sewn. Well done!

  13. Sheri says :

    Great looking jacket, you nailed it!

Leave a Reply

