2016 Wardrobe Contest: Sewing Plans

BEGI9119

Hi Friends,

PR.com are currently running a Wardrobe Contest until the end of March, by which time entrants have to have sewn 5 compulsory garments (2 bottoms, 2 tops and 1 topper), and 5 free choice garments. The tops have to go with all the bottoms and vice versa, and the topper must go with all the outfits. If sewing a dress it must go with the topper and coordinate with the wardrobe.

I am going to try and meet the deadline (?!) because what I have realised is that I have all the fabrics I need to make this wardrobe in my stash (bar one), and all the patterns. So, if nothing else, I will have succeeded in sewing some classic, wearable garments from my stash, which will hopefully coordinate with each other, and in essence, give me a capsule wardrobe of sorts.

Above is an inspiration collage I uploaded to Instagram which captures the kind of look I am after. I am thinking that kind of very wearable, effortless chic that French women seem to pull off so easily, ha! (The collage is missing the tenth item: a white silk blouse).

So today I thought I would share my fabric/ pattern choices. These may change as I progress. Some are patterns I have sewn before; others are new patterns. Already, by sorting through my fabrics/ patterns and writing this post I can see a clear plan and it looks promising.

Item 1: Striped Breton Tunic Top

Pattern: McCalls 6886 (modified to tunic length).

Pattern already sewn up here and here.

DSC_1890

Black white striped ponte knit

M6886

McCalls 6886

 

Item 2: Denim Dress

Pattern: Vogue 9077, View A, possibly with sleeves from View C.

DSC_1892

Denim fabric

V9077

Vogue 9077

 

Item 3: Black Wool Crepe Blazer

Pattern: Vogue 8958, View C (already made View A, here).

DSC_1896

Black wool crepe fabric

V8958

Vogue 8958

 

Item 4: White/ Black Heart Print Blouse

Pattern: Vogue 1387, View B

DSC_1907

White/ black heart print polyester georgette fabric

V1387

Vogue 1387

 

Item 5: Black Triple Crepe Culottes

Pattern: Butterick 6179.

Previously made here.

DSC_1908

Triple crepe fabric

B6179

Butterick 6179

 

Item 6: Red/ Black Animal Print Blouse

Pattern: McCalls 7248, View B.

DSC_1911

Red/ black animal print georgette fabric

M7248

McCalls 7248

 

Item 7: Off white Silk Crepe de Chine Collarless Shirt

Pattern: Simplicity 1279, View C.

DSC_1902

Off white silk crepe de chine fabric

1279_FBV

Simplicity 1279

 

Item 8: White Cotton Shirt

Pattern: Grainline Archer.

Made 3 times to date and last made here.

DSC_1905

White cotton fabric

11004Illustration

Grainline Archer

 

Items 9 and 10: Black and Red Pull on Jeggings

Pattern: Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull on Jeans.

Previously made here.

 

So that’s the plan: it remains to be seen whether or not I make the deadline!

I had a great weekend meeting up with The Yorkshire Spoolettes. Read about it over on Ali’s blog. It was wonderful to meet other friendly, down to earth sewists and the fabric shopping was good too ๐Ÿ™‚

How about you? Any sewing plans? Anyone else entering the contest?

Have a great week ahead.

Until soon…

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

34 responses to “2016 Wardrobe Contest: Sewing Plans”

  1. Sarah C says :

    Oh my goodness! I love your plan! I cannot believe that you found fabrics in your stash that are nearly identical to your inspiration pieces! I look forward to seeing your collection sewn up!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Sarah. I think it happened the other way round: I had the fabrics, had an idea of what I wanted to make and then searched for the inspiration pictures!

  2. thetelltaletasha says :

    Love the fabric choices! You’re going to be feeling luxurious ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. jay says :

    Brilliant plan, all classics but each with a little something to lift it, and you have the fabrics and patterns!

  4. nwspooner says :

    OMG,
    You’re rocking my world. I love your idea! I’m putting this on my summer to do list. March may kill me, lol. I can’t wait to see everyone’s entry. This group is great for me. I’m getting better and better every day with my sewing. I bounce out of bed inspired, every morning.
    I’m getting my muze on!

  5. ccmercer1982 says :

    Sounds like an amazing project! Can’t wait to see all of your makes come together – I envy your levels of organisation! It was lovely to meet you on Saturday ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Thimberlina says :

    You’re going to be really busy!! I keep thinking I should have a plan, but because every week is so different it’s hard to get into any sort of routine. I SWAP. Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. navybluethreads says :

    Wow! That sounds a lot, and some of them look pretty tricky too! Love that you’re making use of what you’ve got and some lovely patterns selected. Will look forward to reading about your progress with these. And I guess you’ll end up with some beautiful items whether you make the deadline or not ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Tomasa says :

    Wow – you are very ambitious but you always achieve success! Great pattern choices and fabrics. I look forward to seeing your creations.

  9. SewSouthLondon says :

    Looking forward to seeing your Breton top. I’ve had my eye on that pattern for a while.

  10. Ruth says :

    Your plan looks great, really versatile I like your colour combinations and styles. I like the focus on sewing with a plan, whether it’s for a deadline or not, it helps me, think about the gaps in my wardrobe, and sewing items that work together.

  11. stitchedupsam says :

    I love your plans! This is something I totally need to do rather than just sewing random items out of fabric I love. Sadly there’s no way I’ve got time to enter the contest. Where is that red and black leopard print georgette from – it’s gorgeous!

  12. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Great plans Manju. I will look forward to seeing this all come together. I am very envious of your sewing meet up too. Sounds like a great day.

  13. lovelucie1 says :

    A great selection. I would wear every one of them. I particularly love the blouses and look forward to seeing them come together.

  14. Shauni S says :

    Wow! That’s a lot of sewing to do. I love the idea of the competition, though I’m a bit of a slow sewist. Absolutely love the white and black heart print fabric, and can’t wait to see your Vogue 9077. Good luck ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  15. SeeKatSew says :

    Love your pattern and fabric pairings. And wow that is a lot of sewing! I can’t wait to see your creations.

Leave a Reply

