Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse – Version 2 – DIY Silk Tie Neck Blouse

DSC_1861

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse in Forest Green Crepe de Chine Silk (worn with my ginger jeans).

Hey Friends,

This here is my second version of the Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse, and this time I think I nailed the fit.

You can see my first version here. I have worn this first version quite a bit but it needed a FBA, which I have now done following this tutorial for doing an FBA on a dartless front blouse. It does  mean that now this version has bust darts but I can live with that. The FBA also means the front length is now much improved.

DSC_1865

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse in Forest Green Crepe de Chine Silk


DSC_1879

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse in Forest Green Crepe de Chine Silk

Details (check my first version for full review):

Fabric: Forest green crepe de chine silk ordered from silk seller on eBay.

Edit: some of you have asked for the seller details so here they are: 

http://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/131724105418

I can’t recommend this seller enough for their quality, value and service. 

Modifications: 0.5 inch FBA and added bust darts. The FBA resulted in a one inch increase in length to the centre front; I added a further 0.5 inches.

Construction: french seamed throughout, including sleeves. I added a continous lapped bound placket to allow me to french seam the sleeve side seams.

DSC_1886

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse in Forest Green Crepe de Chine Silk – continous lapped bound placket

Sam gave me the idea to attach the neck ties to the blouse first and then sew the centre front seam up using a french seam which resulted in a tidier finish.

Overall I love this blouse, and plan on wearing it out for a lunch date on valentines day.

Have a great day!

DSC_1827

Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse in Forest Green Crepe de Chine Silk

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

46 responses to “Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse – Version 2 – DIY Silk Tie Neck Blouse”

  1. Lillian says :

    gorgeous! I want one!!

  2. lovelucie1 says :

    It’s fabulous and what a great colour!

  3. SewSouthLondon says :

    It’s absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for the link to the silk seller. I have a yearning for a jade green silk Alder shirt dress having seen someone wearing something similar in KL the other day.

    • sewmanju says :

      Surely you will be able to find some nice silks in the part of world you are? Or no? Thanks anyway and hope you get what you want.

      • SewSouthLondon says :

        KL had a wide range of fabrics but mainly synthetic or v expensive, and usually quite lurid prints. Last time I went to Hong Kong I did well for silks. You just can’t beat the choices of EBay!

  4. Andie W. says :

    Beautiful top! That colour looks gorgeous on you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. stitchedupsam says :

    This is lovely Manju. I have some crepe de chine in a very similar colour for a blouse, I’m not sure if it will be a pussybow blouse or something else. Mine isn’t silk though. I’m glad my tip was helpful.

  6. Amanda S. says :

    This looks amazing on you! Gorgeous color and fit. Have fun on your date!

  7. Tanya Maile says :

    This is such a gorgeous blouse! The color and style suit you so well and it looks perfect with your jeans and awesome heels. That fabric looks so luscious!

  8. Jen (NY) says :

    I love everything about this blouse – looks great on you!

  9. dr P says :

    Beautiful! That colour is fantastic on you. The FBA has made a huge difference to the fit.

  10. Fiona M says :

    Beautiful! And you can really rock those jewel colours, lucky girl!

  11. Ruth says :

    Beautiful colour and style for you, I bet you will be making it again!

  12. Tomasa says :

    This blouse is beautiful! I love this color on you. And it fits you beautifully. I too must do FBA’s. I at first didn’t like the fact that the adjustment involves adding a dart but it does improve the fit tremendously so I have made peace with bust darts. You look gorgeous! Have fun on Valentine’s day!

  13. navybluethreads says :

    Such a fab colour on you, looks great and very ‘wearable’.

  14. Jennifer A says :

    Beautiful top. I love that color!

  15. Sarah C says :

    Super chic! I love the top paired with the shoes!

  16. Thimberlina says :

    Looks stunning! I think the darts are an improvement on how it hangs st the front. And I love your shoes!! Have a happy Valentine’s Day!! โค๏ธ

  17. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    that is gorgeous, I love it! the fit, the color, the fabric. So perfect.

  18. ccmercer1982 says :

    Gorgeous! Such a beautiful colour too! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  19. Tia Dia says :

    Gorgeous colour! Bust darts can be a girl’s best friends!

  20. Lynne says :

    This is gorgeous! And, ooh, the colour is amazing. I’m clicking on the ebay link right now…

  21. prttynpnk says :

    I love this style-dressy and comfy. Nice!

Leave a Reply

