New Look 6217: Kimono Jacket

DSC_2416

New Look 6217 Kimono Jacket worn with New Look 6225 top

Hi Friends,

I made up a kimono jacket using New Look 6217, view A. This is a very versatile pattern which lets you sew a whole outfit of mix and match pieces if you you wanted too, and I am definitely going to be trying the top from the pattern soon.

DSC_2356

New Look 6217 Kimono Jacket

Don’t be fooled by the apparent sunshine in these photos. It is still far too cold to  be wearing an outfit like this in these parts. But I was just struck with the desire to sew something  fast and easy a couple of weekends ago, and this was the product.

This is some mystery polyester georgette (?) that I found in my stash. It is lightweight with great drape. The only alteration I made to the pattern was to lengthen it by 3 inches.

The colours are a bit washed out in the outdoor shots so here are some on the dressform, and you can also see the facing which finishes off the neckline inside.

DSC_2436

New Look 6217 Kimono Jacket

DSC_2433

New Look 6217 Kimono Jacket

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Misses’ kimono style jacket and tee have an easy extended sleeve and bias binding at neckline. Pencil skirt and slim pants have side zip.

This review concerns the kimono style jacket, View A.
Pattern Sizing:
10 – 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, although mine is slightly longer
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the finished garment, and the shaping at the front. I love the fact it is such a quick and easy piece to sew. Nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
A polyester georgette
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
The only change I made was to lengthen the jacket by 3 inches.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don’t know if I will sew the jacket again (although it would be wonderful made in silk! and would be a great pattern to sew for others), but I want to make the top (view B) soon. I definitely recommend.
Conclusion:

A versatile pattern to have in your collection with lots of possibilities.

Hope you enjoy this Easter weekend however you are spending it. Until soon…

DSC_2414

New Look 6217 Kimono Jacket worn with New Look 6225 top.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

28 responses to “New Look 6217: Kimono Jacket”

  1. garnet49 says :

    You did a lovely job on the jacket and it looks great on you!

  2. Thimberlina says :

    Gorgeous fabric and perfect match with the top under and jeans! Looking very stylish and summery and not a bit chilly! 🙂

  3. Caroline says :

    This kimono is so pretty and it has a great drape. I have this pattern but have not made the kimono yet.

  4. zibergirl says :

    Very pretty! You’re ready for Spring!

  5. jay says :

    Beautiful print, roll on summer eh?

  6. Diane Lord says :

    Very pretty spring outfit! I might have to try that pattern!

  7. Carolyn says :

    I was wondering if it was warm by you and I was so jelly! Thanks for clearing that up. I want a couple of these for this summer too so you’ve inspired me to put it on my sewing list. Your version is lovely and will work wonderfully this summer!

  8. beebeesvintagedress says :

    You pick such great fabric I’m loving this Kimono. I keep meaning to make one, Well done you!

  9. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    Love your whole outfit Manju. The colours all work so well together. The print for the kimono jacket is gorgeous. Hope the weather warms up soon so you can actually wear this outfit.

  10. ccmercer1982 says :

    This fabric is perfect for this pattern, and when the weather DOES warm up properly it will be an ideal extra layer.

  11. SeeKatSew says :

    That fabric is so pretty! The outfit is perfect – so nice and springy.

  12. Tanya Maile says :

    I really love this, Manju! It’s the perfect pairing of fabric and pattern. It looks great the way you styled it as well. It will be wonderful in silk, too!

  13. Kay says :

    It is very pretty.

  14. Gemma says :

    I’ve followed your fab blog for a while, but this is the first time commenting. Gorgeous fabric, and gorgeous jacket. It suits you so well! 🙂

    Gem x

  15. Carolyn says :

    Your jacket looks so pretty! I love that gorgeous floral print 🙂

Leave a Reply

