Butterick 6295 and Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank: DIY Workout Leggings and Racer Back Tank

DSC_2578

Butterick 6295 Leggings and Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank: DIY Workout Outfit

Hello Friends,

My workout wear was long overdue an update and so I decided to try making some. I know lots of sewists out there make very professional looking workout gear and the number of patterns available to facilitate this has really increased in the last couple of years. I went with Butterick 6295 (a lisette pattern) and, from a new-to-me-pattern-company, the Lille racerback tank (which also has a dress option) from Greenstyle patterns.

DSC_2582

Butterick 6295 Leggings and Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank: DIY Workout Outfit

I really like both patterns as starting points, but, both need some tweaking. Also, I made the leggings from lycra “stuff” that was in my stash and the tank from a shiny viscose lycra (?), again from stash, and I would really like to make both in proper performance fabrics. I am hopefully going to have a day in Mood Fabrics/ garment district in NYC when we are there in July so maybe I will be able to pick something up then? (BTW it will probably be either 19th or 20th July so if anyone is interested in meeting up, send me an email or leave me a comment. I know its a working day for most so I know the majority of people are going to be busy).

Anyway, as usual, you can check out the full review below, but here are a couple of detail shots.

A close up of the constrast panel at the side leg of the leggings. I went with view D which has ruching up the lower portion of the leg. It’s a neat feature but I think next time I would prefer 3/4 length leggings on me.

DSC_2594

Butterick 6295 Leggings and Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank: DIY Workout Outfit

The tank is the best fitting workout top I own in the upper body. I love the fact a bra shelf is included and I made mine out of swimsuit lining. But I definitely need to remove some length from the top and maybe I would prefer to size out over the hips a little? Not sure. Also, I cheated and just serged my bands on in this version. The pattern has you actually bind the edges.

DSC_2604

Butterick 6295 Leggings and Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank: DIY Workout Outfit

Pattern Review Butterick 6295

Pattern Description:
Partially lined, pullover bra top and top have elasticized shoulder strap variations and casing. Purchased bra inserts. B: Built-in bra. Leggings have elasticized waistband, pockets, seam detail, and no side seams. D: Gathered lower sides. C, D: Serge, overcast or regular finish. B, C, D: Stitched hems. All are close-fitting.

I made view D.
Pattern Sizing:
6 – 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I essentially completely disregarded the instructions. They have you overlock edges and then overlap seams and stich in order to mimic the finish you see on a lot of RTW gym wear. But I just used standard construction methods on my serger.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I LOVE the finished garment. The design is ingenious, current and I think the way the concealed waistband is constructed is brilliant. There is nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
Polyester lycra? mystery fabrics from my stash.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I removed 4.5 inches from the length (FYI I am 5’3″: these are LONG).

I omitted the pockets.

I used standard construction techniques on my overlocker.

Next time around I will remove maybe 0.25″ from the inner thighs.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, if I can pick up some proper performance fabric (maybe on a forthcoming trip to NYC) then I would like to make these again, but probably view C.
Conclusion:

I can only vouch for view D but this is a great pattern IMO.

Pattern Review Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank

Pattern Description:
This PDF Sewing pattern will be one you go back to time and time again.  Make everything from a workout tank with a built in shelf bra to a maxi dress and everything in between.
Pattern Sizing:
XXS- 3XL
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The PDF is very easy to tape together and there was no cutting/ trimming of edges involved. I LOVE the fact the bra shelf is included and different cutting lines are included for bra sizes up to DDD. Even though the pattern needs some tweaking for me, through the upper body this is the best fitting workout top I own to date. Nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
A shiny viscose lycra? fabric that was in my stash.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cheated and just serged/ topstitched the bands on at the neckline/ armholes, and didn’t bind them as the pattern instructs. I ended up adding a band at the bottom which was 8 inches deep but next time round I need to remove some length/ do a sway back adjustment and possibly size up over the hips a little more?
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, if I can pick up some proper performance fabric (maybe on a forthcoming trip to NYC) then I would like to make this again.
Conclusion:

This is a very well thought out and designed pattern with a lot of options included.

So, of course I am now frantically sewing items for our trip to the USA. How about you? Any holiday sewing planned? Until soon…

DSC_2579

Butterick 6295 Leggings and Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank: DIY Workout Outfit

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

21 responses to “Butterick 6295 and Greenstyle Lille Racerback Tank: DIY Workout Leggings and Racer Back Tank”

  1. dr P says :

    Great work as usual but you made a huuuuuge error!

    Now you have all that stylish, well fitting kit, you’ll have to go to the gym!

    • sewmanju says :

      Ha thanks Priya. Good point, but well, I actually quite enjoy mindlessly doing some exercise in the gym especially when it’s horrible weather outside.

  2. Nwspooner says :

    Wooooot woooooo!
    Fabulous. Great job. I bought this pattern. I don’t exercise but thought maybe someday. I liked the cool pockets. I’d like to start hiking & thought I could put leather patches on the knees. Im in Arizona. It’s too hot to wear jeans in the summer. Thx for sharing!

  3. NaTisha says :

    I have that pants pattern. I need to get to making them. I love your version.

  4. m3isme says :

    Wow! Those both look fabulous. Seeing all the things you tackle has made me much braver in front of my own machine. Thanks for sharing all you do…it is terrific.

  5. navybluethreads says :

    Great job. Must get round to trying to make some activewear, thanks for more ideas. The contrast band on these leggings looks great.

  6. CurlsnSkirls says :

    Great job! Agree with Teresa: legging contrast looks great!

  7. Mira says :

    Great job on both!

  8. Fabric, Thread, Clothes? says :

    Those both look great!!! Thanks for reviewing this!! I need to make some more workout gear myself and have been looking at all the patterns. Both of your pieces look great and I hadn’t heard of the company that makes the tank before!

  9. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    Looking good!! I love the splash of purple on the leggings.

  10. Tomasa says :

    Love the pop of color on the leggings and those bright sneakers – fun!

  11. Nita says :

    I was looking for reviews on the greenstyle tank/dress and found you! Great blog! I’ll be a regular follower. 🙂

    In your opinion, would the greenstyle tank pattern work nicely as a dress? I’m wondering how form fitting it is as I’m always on the look out against highlighting tummy bulges, lol! I like the idea of a built-in shelf bra. It gets so hot here in summer,and I’ll do just agout anything to avoid wearing a regular bra in the heat, lol! If the dress would skim rather than cling, that would be great. Any opinions on that now you’ve made the top?

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Nita IMO I would say if you have any tummy bulges youre concerned about then just grade up a size or two from just above the waist down. It is quite form fitting I think. Nice to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

