New Look 6970: DIY Baby Dress and Pantaloons Set

DSC_2689

New Look 6970 Babies Dress and Pantaloon Two Piece Set

Friends,

Whilst STILL waiting for decent weather for outdoor photography (possibly by the weekend/ early next week!) I have wanted to share a baby gift I have just completed. This is a two piece set consisting of a short dress and matching “pantaloons” (New Look’s description, not mine, but as I would rather not attract any more dubious searchers than I already do I am using that description :-)).

The pattern is New Look 6970 and I LOVE it. Not only because it is easy to sew, but there is also the cutest romper/ dungaree option included in it as well. I only wish I had a cute, chubby cheeked baby to photograph it on, but oh well, you are just going to have to squeal over the cuteness of frilly legged pantaloons!

I made views C and D. The bodice part of the dress is self lined so it is cleanly finished inside and no seams to irritate baby. The pantaloons are easy to sew and have casings for the elastic at the waistband and around the legs. I made my own bias binding to use for the leg casings. You don’t have too. I serged whatever seams needed to be. And my set is made in a soft dotted chambray. Note to my husband: girls don’t have to just wear pink!

DSC_2697

New Look 6970 Babies Dress and Pantaloon Two Piece Set

DSC_2700

New Look 6970 Babies Dress and Pantaloon Two Piece Set

DSC_2705

New Look 6970 Babies Dress and Pantaloon Two Piece Set

Sooo cute I can hardly bear to send it away but there you go. It will be sent off for a friends baby girl. I can’t comment on the fit…I will let you know once I find out.

And the little knitted bunny was made by a talented lady in my art class. Is there anything more satifying than an all handmade gift?

Made with love in every careful stitch.

Hopefully back sharing some of my new summer sewing soon….

DSC_2713

Knitted Bunny!

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

13 responses to “New Look 6970: DIY Baby Dress and Pantaloons Set”

  1. Thimberlina says :

    Aw, they’re so cute! I’m almost getting broody! 🙂

  2. CurlsnSkirls says :

    Appreciate that you didn’t do pink! And am very impressed with your knitted bunny – your needles must have been teensy. (grimace!)

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks curlsnskirls but a lady from my art class knitted the bunny. I cannot knit to that level!

      • CurlsnSkirls says :

        Well, you do other things superbly, like sewing leather and getting your lovely sewing space in such grand order! I envy you that cutting table height. (long sigh…)

  3. SomedaySewing says :

    So cute and I love the polka dots!

  4. LinB says :

    My brown-eyed, blonde daughter looked fantastic in grey and white — as an infant and still to this day. I like saturated colors on infants, as so many look washed out and ill when dressed in pastels. Love this pretty, feminine outfit.

  5. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    Beautiful set and lovely fabric choice.

  6. Tomasa says :

    Oh how cute! The dress, pantaloons and knit bunny are adorable. By the way, I saw you featured in the latest Vogue Patterns Magazine Star Blogger column! Congratulations – well deserved!

Leave a Reply

