Vogue 1395: DIY Snake Print Tie Front Dress

DSC_2808

Vogue 1395: Snake Print Tie Front Dress

Hey There,

Vogue 1395 is a Rebecca Taylor pattern that I have admired since it was released, and have been waiting to make for more than a year. The fabric is a gorgeous quality tencel fabric that I purchased from Remnant Kings in Glasgow last year, with a snakeskin print. The fabric really is wonderful and is probably the only reason this dress hasn’t been thrown into the recycling bag. It feels so light and cool. Before you ask, this fabric is no longer available. Anywhere. Believe me, I tried. More on that to come.

DSC_2848

Vogue 1395: Snake Print Tie Front Dress

My major issues with the pattern are, firstly, it is far too wide in the shoulders for me. This dress was saved from becoming a complete wadder only because I have made thread chains sewn to tiny press studs which I have sewn to the shoulder seams of the dress (sorry no picture), which loop around my bra straps and are keeping the dress from sliding off my shoulders. My second isse with the pattern is how low the neckline is on me. Fortunately I had this light grey viscose camisole in my drawer which doesn’t look too bad under the dress, but I am somewhat disappointed.

DSC_2858

Vogue 1395: Snake Print Tie Front Dress

Going back to the fabric. I made a rooky mistake when cutting out this dress. I assumed I had enough fabric to cut it (I thought I did?) but it turns out I didn’t. Queue me searching every available source to try and get more fabric. I couldn’t get hold of any for love nor money. In the end, if you look very closely, you will see that I had to put a centre back seam in the skirt and one side of the skirt is made out of three sections of fabric pieced together. Fortunately the print of this fabric is such that it is not too obvious. It doesn’t bother me when I have the dress on.

I did a full bust adjustment on this dress using the method from Fit for Real People for “fronts with cap, cut-on or kimono sleeves”. This added in a side bust dart. Here’s a photograph of what I did on my instagram feed.

*Edited to add the only reason I did the FBA was because I felt I needed the length in the bodice front. 

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Pullover dress has narrow bias neck and armhole facings, V-neckline, semi-fitted bodice, elasticized waist, attached, single-layered overlay (wrong side shows) extending into tie ends with gathered back neckline, lined skirt, cap sleeves and very narrow hems.
Pattern Sizing:
8 – 24
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes…but the model doesn’t look like she is having issues with the depth of the neckline or the width of the shoulders or showing the sides of her bra off.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
As mentioned above, and this is obviously unique to me (and other people with my build) but things I dislike:

The dress is too wide in the shoulders. I have made thread carriers sewn to tiny press studs which I have sewn to the shoulder seams and loop around my bra straps and stop the dress from sliding off my shoulders. It’s saved it but it’s not ideal.

The neckline is too low. I will only wear this dress with a camisole which I generally dislike, but in this case I will make an exception.

Be prepared to show all the sides of your bra wearing this dress (plenty of other reviewers have also mentioned this). Again, camisole.

I thought the seam allowances used to create the casing for the elastic were too narrow and next time I would make these a bit wider especially if working with easily fraying fabrics.

What do I like: hmmm….my fabric.
Fabric Used:
Wonderful quality tencel. Feels beautiful to wear.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1 inch sway back adjustment on the skirt and added the removed 1 inch back to the bottom of the skirt.

1 inch FBA using method from Fit for Real People for “fronts with cap, cut-on or kimono sleeves”. This added in a side bust dart. You can see a picture of how I did this on my instagram feed.

Lengthened skirt by 2 inches.

Attempted to raise armholes by 0.5 inches but if there was a next time I would probably add about 2.5 inches.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don’t know.  I recommend but with the caution be prepared to make modifications.
Conclusion:

I want to love this dress and I have already worn it but I don’t know if I can overcome the disappointment to make changes to a future version. Time’s a healer 🙂

If you have had a long weekend hope you have enjoyed it. See you soon!

DSC_2819

Vogue 1395: Snake Print Tie Front Dress

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

25 responses to “Vogue 1395: DIY Snake Print Tie Front Dress”

  1. goodbyevalentino says :

    Love your dress ~ especially with your shoes!

  2. stitchedupsam says :

    If it’s any consolation I think it looks great on you Manju! I tried this pattern last year as I loved it on other people, but I felt like a school dinner lady in it for some reason. I guess things we love on others don’t always look good on us – or make us feel great.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Sam. I don’t hate this dress: I think it will get worn but as someone who hates making muslins it’s a risk I take every time I sew!

  3. Fiona M says :

    It’s a gorgeous dress and really suits you! I hope you grow to like it more.

  4. Astrid says :

    Good Job! Looks great. Nice accesories.
    Regards from Germany , Astrid

  5. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    Pretty dress and lovely fabric.

  6. Gilly says :

    You look lovely in your dress. I appreciate your frustrations with the pattern though as I had similar experience with it last year, and unfortunately mine was thrown in the bin. A total disaster for me, but I have seen some gorgeous ones on line and yours is definitely one of them 🙂

  7. velosewer says :

    Such a cool look Manju. This is such an edgy style!

  8. Amanda S. says :

    What a gorgeous dress! I tried this pattern in a silk cotton print but it just did not suit my body type. However it is super flattering on you.

  9. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    well it looks tres chic on you but I know what you mean about a too wide neckline. and I agree – often when the pattern has a casing for elastic they are way too skimpy and difficult to sew. I have this pattern and keep thinking about but maybe will pass for now.

  10. JamieDSC says :

    I had the same fitting problems as you. I raised the neckline before I cut it, but then I still had the shoulder and bra showing problems. Later I talked with Lladybird after she made it – she just pinched the shoulders up an inch or so and that solved all the problems for her. After hearing that I’ve been meaning to try it again with that trick. Maybe that alteration would work for you on this version? That fabric is too fabulous to not wear!

  11. dr P says :

    I think it looks good, maybe it will grow on you….

  12. Tomasa says :

    I think this dress looks very pretty on you. A light and flowy dress for summer. I hope it grows on you because you really look great in it – very flattering!

  13. Mags says :

    My version of this pattern went straight to the charity shop! I thought it was a lot of work for a simple looking dress and it made me look dumpy. My friend made it twice and it didn’t do much for her either! With you on the muslin front. I find that fit is so dependent on the fabric you use the muslins don’t guarantee a good fit anyway.

Leave a Reply

