Butterick 6182: DIY Sandwashed Silk Boxy Top

DSC_2899

Butterick 6182 sandwashed silk boxy top (worn with skirt from same pattern)

Hi Friends,

This here is my second version of Butterick 6182. My first version can be seen here. I have worn the first version quite a bit and I had this smallish length of sandwashed silk in my stash (a rare eBay find!) and I thought it would be nice to make a dressier version to wear out. Incidentally, the skirt I am wearing with the top comes from the same pattern. I don’t love the skirt for some reason but whatevs, I put it on for these photos! (On sewing list: make new denim skirt that I love).

DSC_2904

Butterick 6182 sandwashed silk boxy top (worn with skirt from same pattern)

Not much else to say about this top – I did a review with the first version. The only alterations I made were to add 0.5 inch to either end of the sleeve bands to give myself 1 inch extra around the arms and to drop the armhole opening by 0.5 inch. I french seamed the centre front/ back seams and shoulder seams and serged the side seams/ armhole bands. Here are some inside pictures:

DSC_3230

Butterick 6182 sandwashed silk boxy top – inside – you can just see the french seamed shoulder and centre front seam.


DSC_3234

Butterick 6182 sandwashed silk boxy top – inside – french seamed centre front and should seams and overlocked side seams and armhole bands.

And here is how I wore the top with my white linen twill Butterick 6179 culottes, as shared on my instagram. I wore this outfit last Friday night to a retirement function for my husbands colleague.

IMG_3249

Butterick 6182 sandwashed silk boxy top worn with linen twill butterick 6179 culottes.

This is such a great outfit because it is simple lines done in lux fabrics: breathable, comfortable and stylish. What more could a girl want?

See you soon!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

23 responses to “Butterick 6182: DIY Sandwashed Silk Boxy Top”

  1. Debbie Cook says :

    Lovely new top. Love how you styled it for the retirement function. And I also love both of those necklaces! I’m on a mission to eventually (soon, I hope) sew a new denim skirt too.

  2. Sew Exhausted says :

    What a lovely shade of pink! I especially like the way you dressed it up AND can wear it more casual. Great top!

  3. Jen (NY) says :

    That’s a lovely top on you. I particularly like it styled with the culottes.

  4. Masha says :

    It looks so good with those culottes!

  5. Peggy S says :

    Love that pink and it looks perfect with the culottes. That’s spot on “dressy casual.”

  6. corrineappleby says :

    I do like that top with those culottes. Gorgeous!

  7. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    I love that colour on you. That top is nice dressed up or casual. Nice work!

  8. TinLizzie72 says :

    I love that top and it’s perfect with the culottes! I’ve been eyeing that pattern, but not sure about the skirt. Maybe I’ll try the top, after seeing how cute it is on you. : )

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Lizzie. The culottes are great but I am going to try a simplicity pattern for culottes next time round. I do love these but be warned they are fulll and use a fair bit of fabric.

      • TinLizzie72 says :

        I’ve made two pairs of the Vogue 9091 culottes so far and really like them. I rarely duplicate patterns, so that’s says something! 😄

  9. Mags says :

    Lovely, that silk is gorgeous and the colour looks great

  10. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    Beautiful top Manju. I love it with the culottes.

  11. CurlsnSkirls says :

    Agree: My fav combo is the casually classic last one. Great sewing *and* styling! 😀

Leave a Reply

