Fabric shopping in NYC and a Linton Tweeds Meet Up

Hello Friends,

Two things today:

  1. I am going to have a whole day to do some fabric shopping in NYC on our forthcoming trip to The States. I am thinking of heading to Paron Fabrics for 10:30am on Wednesday 20th July. From there I was thinking of Chic Fabric, but have just been informed that it no longer exists. So…maybe after Paron’s then Metro Textiles/ Spandex House and Pacific Trims? This is all completely loose, as I haven’t even checked how close things are to each other (any experts feel free to chime in!) In the afternoon if I have any energy/ money/ space in my luggage left, then try for Mood fabrics? So if anyone is feeling jobless on that particular Wednesday and would like to join me please leave me a comment below or PM me (my email address is under my “about me” section.
  2. A couple of people have mentioned they would like to come visit Linton Tweeds. I am proposing a meet-up there on Saturday 17th September. At this stage this is just to guage interest. I have contacted Linton Tweeds asking if they might be able to organise anything for us (like a tour of the production side/ a talk or something), but, till now, have not heard anything. So it might just be a chance to pet the fabrics (and add to your stash), but more than that, meet other folks with a shared interest in sewing, eat some lunch and enjoy some sewing related craic. I will put out more details nearer the time but everyone is welcome.

Until soon. Enjoy the weekend.

 

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

26 responses to “Fabric shopping in NYC and a Linton Tweeds Meet Up”

  1. kjrasmussenwi says :

    Just returned from a fabric-focused trip to NYC. You will find that all the stores are within a few blocks of one another. I enjoyed Mood, Elegant Fabrics and a little gem- Greyline with only linen fabrics galore. Now, where to shop during a trip to London next week, please?

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks kjrasmussenwi. I have heard about Greyline: sounds wonderful. Sorry, but I am probably not the person to ask about London shopping as I live about as far from London as you can get in England! But I believe the place a lot of people head to is Goldhawk Road.

  2. craftycreeky says :

    I’d love to but I’ve a wedding on 17th September :-/

  3. JenL says :

    Sadly, I probably can’t escape work that day. I last heard that Chic is still open but is sharing space with the store next door.

    May I also suggest Shindo and Mokuba for beautiful trims (on the higher end). Shindo is a Japanese company that specializes in more sportswear type trims. Mokuba has really beautiful ribbons and fancy trims. Good for browsing, if nothing else!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thats a shame that we won’t meet but thanks for the suggestions. Yes, apparently Chic is sharing space with someone else so I will check it out. Shindo sounds great.

  4. Shaneka says :

    The garment district is not that big. You can visit all of the major stores in one day.

  5. Carolyn says :

    I will put the date on my calendar. Maybe we can meet up wherever you are during lunchtime. I will drop you a note.

  6. kathrynb74 says :

    Hi there Like lots of others, by the sound of it, I was really intrigued by the idea of Linton Tweeds too. Where is it please? All best wishes for your imminent trip. Hope you find lots of goodies so that you can continue to inspire us! Kathryn

    • sewmanju says :

      Hey Kathryn, sorry I should have said Linton Tweeds is in Carlisle in Cumbria. I live about 20 minutes drive from the place. Let me know if you want to join us.

  7. Linda says :

    I’d be interested in meeting at Linton Tweeds

  8. amcclure2014 says :

    I’m interested in meeting up on 17th September. I hope they get back to you about a tour or some such. I have been a couple of times previously. Enjoy your trip to NYC. I’d love to go there someday.

  9. Tomasa says :

    You must visit Mood! Mood is inside an office building but the home deck section does have a storefront. July 20 is a workday for me so I am not sure if I can escape. Regardless, I hope you enjoy fabric shopping in NYC.

  10. thesewingmiserablist says :

    Count me in for the Linton trip 😀

  11. Cawmags@tiscali.co.uk says :

    I’ve actually at great expense bought Moods silk jersey over the Internet (which you just can’t get here). Definitely in for Linton tweeds and my friend Gary will probably want to come too. Enjoy NYC.

    • sewmanju says :

      Oh what did you make with it? A length of silk jersey is on my shopping list because it is like hens teeth round here! But what to line it with? Will add you and Gary to the list.

  12. Thimberlina says :

    Hi, I think I’m ok for the 17th and would love to come. I’ve already signed up for the Sewbrum meet-up, I’ve had it pencilled in for months, but somehow I have 2 consecutive Saturdays off, which is usually unheard of! You’re in my diary! I’ll be picking your brains about the trains 🙂

    • sewmanju says :

      Yes pick away once I am back off holiday. Will be great to see you again but don’t feel pressurised to come if you have already committed to sewbrum. It was a bit of trek for me to reach you so don’t feel you have to come up here.

  13. cinnaspice says :

    I am seeing if I can meet up with you while you are in NY.(cough,cough). If you want to see some leathers, go to Leather Impact on 38th street between 7th and 8th Ave.check out Daytona for notions and trimmings.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks cinnaspice. Hopefully we might meet if you can make it. I don’t think leather buying is an option on this trip (excess baggage concerns!)

Leave a Reply

