Simplicity 8093 and 1366: DIY Wide Leg Cropped Trousers Pants and Boxy Orange Linen Top

DSC_3447

Simplicity 8093 and 1366: DIY Wide Leg Cropped Trousers Pants and Boxy Orange Linen Top

Hi Friends,

The weather is not being very cooperative with photographing summer clothes, but hey ho, we must press on. Today I am sharing a pair of wide leg cropped trousers (or pants for some) made using Simplicity 8093 and a boxy top in the brightest orange linen made using Simplicity 1366. Let’s start with the trousers.

Simplicity 8093 is a Mimi G for Simplicity pattern. It is the first time I have used one of these patterns. Included in the envelope are also pattern pieces to make a jacket with a notched detail collar and a top. I was very kindly provided the pattern and also the fabric I used to make these trousers by Sew Essential. The fabric I chose is to use is their Prestige Medium Weight Crepe, in navy blue. This fabric is easy to wash, sew and press (I used my press cloth and my clapper in parts) and overlocked seams. It’s a great quality fabric and perfect for trousers like these.

DSC_3434

Simplicity 8093 and 1366: DIY Wide Leg Cropped Trousers Pants and Boxy Orange Linen Top


DSC_3437

Simplicity 8093 and 1366: DIY Wide Leg Cropped Trousers Pants and Boxy Orange Linen Top

Full review for the trousers below but one thing I wanted to point out was that these trousers feature an invisible zipper which is placed in the seam alongside an in-seam pocket. What?! Did you even know such a thing was possible? Nope, neither did I until I came to making these. (p.s. I know the seam intersection is about 0.25 inches off here, but I was just too amazed to unpick and re-do!)

IMG_3428

Simplicity 8093: wide leg cropped trousers: invisible zipper inserted in to seam with in-seam pocket

There is a full (free) video tutorial sew-along for these trousers, hosted by Mimi G, so if you want to see how this magic is done watch the video.

Simplicity 8093 Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Pattern includes V-neck top, cropped wide-leg pants, and lined jacket with notched detail.

I made view B, the cropped wide-leg pants.
Pattern Sizing:
6 – 24
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes they were, although I had to refer to the (free) Mimi G video tutorial sew along for these pants to work out how to do the invisible zipper, which is inserted in to the side seam alongside an in-seam pocket. Clever stuff.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is a new silhouette for me. I think I like it. I have worn them already and was complimented on them. TBH I think when I wore them out I wore them with a tucked in silk blouse and maybe that looked neater than the untucked top I am wearing them with in these photos. You can see how I wore them out on my instagram here. I love the invisible zipper/ pocket detail. Nothing to dislike as such.
Fabric Used:
Prestige medium weight crepe in navy blue, supplied by Sew Essential UK.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
My only adjustment was to take a 1 inch tuck from the back yoke and re-add this to the back hem. I am no trouser fitting expert and whilst the yoke now fits me well, it has caused the trousers to pitch forward slightly. I don’t know if I should have taken the 1 inch from the top of the trousers (and deepened the back crotch by 1 inch?)

I ended up removing 4.5 inches from the length.Shortys beware.

I didn’t finish the yoke facing as instructed and instead turned over the raw edge and machined in the ditch to close.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Maybe and yes.
Conclusion:

I am surprised at how much I do like wearing these and am totally freaked out about the invisible zipper ๐Ÿ™‚ Dress these pants up or down. Either way they are comfortable and have that classy tailored look too.

Now the top. Simplicity 1366 is a Cynthia Rowley pattern, that also includes a skirt and a camisole. (Interestingly the camisole has a facing if you prefer that finish to doing a narrow hem or bias tape finish). Anyway, I have seen some great versions of this top and I wanted to try it out. The bright orange linen was purchased from my local covered market. I love the colour and can’t wait to wear it on holiday.

DSC_3448

Simplicity 8093 and 1366: DIY Wide Leg Cropped Trousers Pants and Boxy Orange Linen Top

Simplicity 1366 Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
High low cascading bow skirt in two lengths. Pattern also includes tank with spaghetti straps and loose fitting short sleeve top.

I made view D.
Pattern Sizing:
4 – 20
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I do love the finished top. Nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
Irish linen.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1 inch sway back adjustment.

Added 1.25 inches to the length.

1.25 inches full arm adjustment.

Cheaters FBA: Added 2 inches to the side seams, front and back, tapering to nothing at the armholes.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I can see me making this again. Yes, I recommend.
Conclusion:

It is loose and boxy and perfect for hot weather dressing. If you want a dartless top pattern try this one out.

DSC_3442

Simplicity 8093 and 1366: DIY Wide Leg Cropped Trousers Pants and Boxy Orange Linen Top

Thanks once again to Sew Essential for being so generous and giving me the opportunity to select the pattern and fabric.

Until soon!

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

28 responses to “Simplicity 8093 and 1366: DIY Wide Leg Cropped Trousers Pants and Boxy Orange Linen Top”

  1. Linda (aCraftyScrivener) says :

    I love that bright orange on you! Did you line the trousers? They look great, and I have some crepe I could use!

  2. missceliespants says :

    I’m really digging this color combo! I’m always nervous about dartless tops but this is making me change my mind. And, mind blown by the pocket!

  3. idaaidasewing says :

    aren’t culottes great? i discovered them recently and really love this style! both top and culottes look fantastic, especially love that orange ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. oonaballoona says :

    i agree, i LOVE this color combo! also– i’m hoping to party crash while you’re in NY! i must prove the existence of chic fabrics, after all :))

  5. Faye Lewis says :

    I love those two pieces together, great fabric choices too.

  6. Lynsey says :

    Loving the culottes, they look great on and the zipper looks great, and will have to try this at some point. The navy and orange look great, I’m loving navy at the moment.

  7. pennylibrarian says :

    Beautifully executed as always, and I’m another hearty exponent of orange in all its forms, fabulous!

  8. Tomasa says :

    Beautiful ensemble – you look gorgeous. I adore that orange color and that necklace is perfect with it.

  9. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    you look great in that orange color – very summery (despite your weather) and the culottes look good, especially the cool pocket.

  10. TinLizzie72 says :

    Yay orange! I love both pieces and you always look good in whatever you make (which makes me envious).

    I’d love your thoughts on fabric choices for “professional” clothing. I’m always at a loss for which fabrics to pick that look professional but are not wool (which I can’t wear, even lined), appropriate for the patterns I want, tend to be easy to care for (ie, not taking everything to the dry cleaners) and don’t scream “I made this!” Specifically for pants. The fabric you made these out of made me think of this. I’d love your thoughts and recommendations!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hmmm that’s a tough one. I would definitely recommend crepe, but not the wool type. A good quality polyester triple or prestige weight crepe like these are made from (I made my black butterick culottes from triple crepe): they drape and flow beautifully with minimal creasing and are washable. Also, they look expensive ๐Ÿ™‚ Just make sure the crepe is not the thin type (because you would need lining etc). I also think a cotton sateen, perhaps with a touch of stretch, would make great chino style pants or Bermudas or capris. In navy, black or tan neutral colours you can’t go wrong for office wear. Silk twill (not something I have sewn yet although I do have some in my stash!) makes wonderful trousers and I would prewash so I could wash at home after sewing. Linen twill (again I have made some butterick culottes from) again is great for summer but there is some creasing. I guess the other option is polyester suitings for tailored trousers. Not something I personally have tried but it’s a question of finding good quality ones. Hope those suggestions help!

  11. Thimberlina says :

    The inseam pocket and invisible zip tutorial is something I need to pin! I have in on RTW trousers but have never thought to tackle it myself so thanks for the link. The orange really looks fab on you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    The orange top and the navy blue look fabulous together! Nice work!

  13. dr P says :

    That orange is amazing on you

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Curvy Sewn: Your Creations for August - September 30, 2016

Leave a Reply

