Burda 7494: The Refashioners 2016- DIY Denim Peplum Jacket

DSC_4231

Burda 7494 denim peplum jacket made from refashioned jeans. Worn with Simplicity 8093 wide legged cropped pants.

Hello Everyone,

Who’s heard of The Refashioners 2016? Click on the link to read all about it. It is the brainchild of the expert and inspiring refashioner, Portia Lawrie. This years challenge (which is open until the end of September), is to refashion jeans into…whatever you want. As  many pairs of jeans as you like, and of any colour, but only jeans (no other sources of denim).

DSC_4168

Burda 7494 denim peplum jacket made from refashioned jeans. Worn with Simplicity 8093 wide legged cropped pants.

I put some restrictions on myself:

  1. I didn’t want to source any new-to-me jeans: I had to use what I could find in the house.
  2. I didn’t want to have to spend any further money on the refashion, and again use patterns/ fabric/ notions that I already had to hand.

What I found was three pairs of jeans, 2 dark and 1 light. This kind of limited what I could make (I knew that wasn’t going to be enough to cut a dress for myself, for example), and in the end I decided that the whole patchwork look just wasn’t me, and so that brought me down to just two pairs of jeans.

DSC_4198

Burda 7494 denim peplum jacket made from refashioned jeans. Worn with Simplicity 8093 wide legged cropped pants.

I settled on using the jacket from Burda 7494, having made the dress previously, because it had princess seams which I thought would be advantageous in getting the pattern to fit to what fabric I had, and also because it had shorter length sleeves.

Pattern Modifications

  • Added 1 inch to side seams
  • Did 0.5 inch sway back adjustment
  • Did 1 inch full arm adjustment
  • Added centre back seam due to fabric constraints
  • Removed pleats from sleeve
  • Cut peplum on cross grain
  • Omitted lining (overlocked most of inner seams)
  • Had to pretty much ignore grain when cutting the facings (in retrospect maybe I should have cut into the lighter denim for the facings but, hey ho)
  • Added a machine made buttonhole
  • Bound inner waist seam with self made bias tape (fabric from previous project)
  • I chose to seam rip the outer legs of my jeans and so the sleeves were cut across the inner leg seam, with the original topstitching being left as a feature
DSC_4188

Burda 7494 denim peplum jacket made from refashioned jeans. Worn with Simplicity 8093 wide legged cropped pants.

DSC_4249

Burda 7494 denim peplum jacket made from refashioned jeans. Inside detail

DSC_4251

Burda 7494 denim peplum jacket made from refashioned jeans. Inside details

Overall I am pretty pleased with how this turned out. I have only really done one other refashion before and so it was great to challenge myself thinking out of the box. In the end I think I have something that reflects my personal style. Who knew two pairs of unloved and unworn jeans still had so much life left in them?

Be sure to check out Portia’s blog for lots of inspiring refashions.

Until soon!

DSC_4229

Burda 7494 denim peplum jacket made from refashioned jeans. Worn with Simplicity 8093 wide legged cropped pants.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

60 responses to “Burda 7494: The Refashioners 2016- DIY Denim Peplum Jacket”

  1. CurlsnSkirls says :

    The whole outfit is super flattering, Manju – and congratulations on such a successful Refashion! You’re giving me ideas… 😉

  2. craftycreeky says :

    I love this, it looks so elegant, hard to believe it was a couple of pairs of jeans 🙂

  3. Gwen says :

    That’s a beautiful jacket and it looks great on you. You have also inspired me to consider what I could do with some old denim that is lying around the house. Thanks!

  4. Thimberlina says :

    Cool! I’d never have guessed it was a refashion, you’ve done a great job 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  5. dkswife says :

    It looks great. 🙂

  6. marcy harriell | oonaballoona says :

    GORGEOUS. makes me want to take another (read: seventh) crack at my botched project!

  7. Carolyn says :

    Like I said on Instagram, this is awesome and it looks like it was made from denim fabric NOT refashioned jeans. You did an amazing job on this jacket! Are you entering it into the contest? I hope so because it’s just stunning!!!

  8. abbey says :

    What a great jacket. Will have to look at that paatern

  9. sugapuddinguild says :

    Dear God Woman, you are magic! That jacket is amazing!

  10. Cawmags@tiscali.co.uk says :

    Yours is definitely the most classy of the remakes I’ve seen, and it would wear with anything. Lovely.

  11. Lynsey says :

    I think your jacket looks fab, an amazing refashion

  12. stitchedupsam says :

    This is fabulous Manju! Can’t believe this is a refashion, it looks like new fabric. You’ve inspired me now to go and claim a couple of pairs of my husbands old jeans that have been lying on a chair in our bedroom for longer than I care to think!

  13. Summerflies says :

    That is a lovely outfit. The pants are super flattering and I think that is one of the nicest jackets I’ve seen. A great mix of casual denim and jacket. Love it.

  14. Masha says :

    It’s a great jacket! I would not have guessed it was made of old jeans. Great job!

  15. Dana Tougas says :

    That is a lovely jacket! I never would have guessed it was made out of old jeans.

  16. Nakisha says :

    I. LOVE. THIS.!!!!

    This came out just perfectly!

  17. Alexandra Ragland says :

    I’m loving the drape/look of those cropped pants! What fabric did you use for those? Sorry if I missed the post on those.

  18. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    that is a super cute jacket – I have to check out that pattern. Perfect little summer jacket.

  19. Nita says :

    Oh my goodness, that looks sharp! I dont know which I love more…the pants or the jacket. Of course the jacket is a work of art and effort…good job! I hope someday to sew as well as you. And you have such a great sense of what styles suit you, too. 🙂

  20. Peggy says :

    It looks great!!

  21. amcclure2014 says :

    Great outfit. I’m not sure about the challenges for me but I’ve told some others about it and love following along. I like the look of the jacket but the cropped wide legged pants are more my scene!

  22. Sheryll says :

    What a great refashion – you’ve turned some unwanted old jeans into a very desirable top-notch jacket!

  23. Lynne says :

    Wowsers! This is brilliant, and definitely my favourite denim refashion so far. Also, it looks great with those lovely purple trousers.

  24. Meigan says :

    This is unbelievably fantastic! The neckline shape is gorgeous, and the top-stitching really highlights the shape. Beautifully done. Now I need to find this pattern!!

  25. IngeMaakt says :

    Lovely outfit and such a great refashion! Sometimes things made from old jeans look quite home-made and not in the good sense of the word 😉 but that’s certainly not the case here. Love it!

  26. Tomasa says :

    Oh wow! This little jacket us just adorable. Love everything about it. Gorgeous!

  27. corrineappleby says :

    Wow! This looks great. The whole outfit looks so good on you but I love the shape of that jacket.

  28. idaaidasewing says :

    That’s an amazing refashioning Manju and I agree with everyone here the entire outfit is perfect, really interesting how you can give new life to unused items, I have never done any refashioning myself but I love what I’ve seen so far.

  29. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    Your outfit looks great! I can’t believe how much the jean jacket is “dressed up” by your culottes. Very lovely!

Leave a Reply

