The Tunic Bible: DIY Babycord Tunic Dress + Book Giveaway

dsc_1062

Babycord tunic dress made using The Tunic Bible by Sarah Gunn and Julie Starr

Hi There Friends!

One year ago Julie Starr and Sarah Gunn asked me if I would be interested in sewing up a tunic to be featured in The Tunic Bible, which has now been published. To say I was flattered to have been asked was an understatement. I have long admired both Julie and Sarah’s work and the book seemed like a great concept. There are SO many options for collars, neck plackets and sleeves as well as lengths, styles, fabrics (including knits) and trims….this is not just a one trick pony. If you don’t believe me, head over to The Tunic Bible website to check out the gallery (you might see some familiar faces). A group of bloggers were asked to sew samples up to be featured in the book and every single one of us made something completely different and varied.

dsc_1069

Babycord tunic dress made using The Tunic Bible by Sarah Gunn and Julie Starr

Anyway, I chose to make an autumnal version from a soft, fine printed babycord with an outside-facing wide split placket, an angled collar and sleeve cuffs sewn in a contrasting corduroy. All the details for all the options are given in the book. I barely made any changes whatsoever to the pattern: not even my usual FBA or sway back adjustment. Aside from fiddling with the length and dropping the bust darts 0.5 inches and including back darts, that was it. I was very impressed with the fit. Note that the size range goes from XS to XXL.

dsc_1078

Babycord tunic dress made using The Tunic Bible by Sarah Gunn and Julie Starr

I am still waiting to receive my hard copy of The Tunic Bible (on its way), but have seen the full final version electronically and it is beautifully photographed, presented and written. Incidentally, anyone interested in sewing Indian style Kurta tops; this book is perfect for you and before I go to India next time I would love to sew a couple up.

If you would like to be in with a chance to win a copy of the book and check it out for yourself then there is a giveaway. Winners in the USA will receive a hard copy of the book; outside of the USA winners will receive an electronic copy, so this is open to all. All you have to do is leave a comment below before midnight GMT on 12th October 2016. If you want to be in with more chances to win then here’s the list of other participants of this book tour; you can enter on every single site if you wish 🙂

October 3 – C&T; Pattern Review

October 4 – Cloning Couture; Generation Q Magazine

October 5 – Oonaballoona; Featherstitch Avenue

October 6 – Allie J; Thanks I Made Them

October 7 – Sew Busy Lizzy; Jennuine Design

October 8 – Inside the Hem; Girls in the Garden

October 9 – Sewmanju; My Love Affair with Sewing

October 10 – Evolution of a Sewing Goddess; Creating in the Gap

October 12 – House of Pinheiro; The Tunic Bible

Good Luck and well done Sarah and Julie for making this idea a hugely inspirational success.

*THIS GIVEAWAY HAS NOW ENDED*

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

79 responses to “The Tunic Bible: DIY Babycord Tunic Dress + Book Giveaway”

  1. splichala says :

    I like the fit of the tunic on you. I also need to make a swayback adjustment , so I will keep that in mind when I have a chance to make my first tunic. I find a tunic over pants as a new business look. When I was working , I recall that wearing a dressy tunic over pants generated compliments from a variety of male coworkers, as compared to any other day . I just thought that was unusual for an average looking white girl😉

  2. candice chrestman says :

    Beautiful tunic! Great colors!

  3. Deanne Dexter says :

    The tunic Bible is exactly what I need. Love the baby cord you chose. My 1st, will be long sleeve plaid flannel with a ruffle collar.

  4. Mel Nowlan says :

    I love a good read. I love a good sew too 😉

  5. Linda Fansler says :

    Beautiful. I like the contrast detail and would not have considered corduroy as a fabric choice. But it is perfect for the fall. Love how you styled your tunic dress with tights and boots.

  6. Lucy says :

    Manju, your tunic is beautiful and beautifully styled. The backdrop and lighting are perfect for your fall themed tunic.

  7. alexandrap529 says :

    What a cute dress! I love the colors that you used.

  8. amcclure2014 says :

    A great tunic. I love corduroy. It’s nice to see that this fits your figure so well – gives me hope for mine!

  9. Shelley Pleger says :

    I have 2 soft corduroy shirts that I love, but wouldn’t have thought of a tunic. Definitely going to rethink that now. ; )

  10. Allison in Alabama says :

    Very nice – love the look!! churcae(at)auburn(dot)edu

  11. Jill Miller says :

    Very nice! I love to wear tunics and would love a copy of this book. Thanks for the opportunity!

  12. Karrie says :

    I love the fabrics you chose! I’m really excited about this book!

  13. Annmarie DeGuire says :

    Very nice!! I’d love to win a copy of this book!!

  14. Ageofreason45 says :

    After seeing how good this tunic fits you I would love to have a cooy of the book. Thx

  15. ArlyCorr says :

    My lifestyle change allows me the freedom to pretty much sew very comfortable clothes, and this tunic over leggings = a terrific way to work in front of my PC and still run out the door for a quick walk to clear the head and exercise! Thanks for the chance to win.

  16. ldp says :

    Yet another interesting variation. Babycord? Lovely! Look forward to seeing your future creations!

  17. Kathy says :

    I really like your tunic. It looks perfect for fall.

  18. Kelsey R says :

    Love the tunic! Super cute!

  19. Mary Anne says :

    Gorgeous Autumnal colours.

  20. Martina says :

    I’d love to have a chance to take a closer look into the book.

  21. Sara Santos says :

    It’s so interesting to see so many different and pretty versions from the same block! 🙂

  22. calypso says :

    The fit of the tunic is great! I would love a white tunic with long sleeves!

    • sewmanju says :

      Congratulations Calypso you have won this giveaway: please get in touch by the end of Friday 14th October 2016 otherwise I am afraid that the winner will be drawn again. My contact details are under my “About” section at the top of this blog.

  23. asteride says :

    So many great beautiful tunics and dresses in this blog tour! I really feel inspired!

  24. thetelltaletasha says :

    Nice color contrasts!

  25. Litina says :

    I love the tunic you have made here! Looks very elegant. I’ve been wanting to make Indian style kurtis for a while now and I’m really excited to try after reading your post!

  26. Bernice O'Reilly says :

    A whole book on tunics – how perfect! Love the colours you have made yours in – very autumnal:-)

  27. Kvintaen on IG says :

    Oooh! That sounds like a book for me as I find some tunics to be flattering on me while others appear almost tent-like! And I have not been able to tell why… Thanks for a lovely giveaway!

  28. Deanne says :

    Received my book from overstock. Curious what size you cut out. I’m going to make a muslin, and my measurements indicate a medium.
    Wish bloggers would include their rtw size and what size pattern worked best, rather than just the alterations. I really appreciate your post on this book.

Leave a Reply

