The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat: DIY Camel Coloured Boiled Wool Cocoon Style Coat

dsc_5087

The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat in camel coloured boiled wool

Hello Friends,

Today I am sharing a coat which I made using a pattern from a new-to-me pattern company: The Makers Atelier. The pattern I used was The Unlined Raw Edged Coat, which, at the time of writing this post is actually being reprinted, and should be back in stock in a couple of weeks.

My coat is made up in a camel coloured boiled (maybe felted?) wool that I purchased a couple of years ago from a private seller on eBay. It was just over 2 metres in length and I was never quite sure what I would make from it. And then I saw this boiled wool coat from Boden (not even pure wool!) and saw a lovely version of this particular pattern made up on Instagram, and, despite the fact that this is by far the most expensive pattern I have ever purchased (£22.50 excluding postage), I hit the order button.

dsc_4971

The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat in camel coloured boiled wool

The pattern itself is extremely simple, with just 5 pieces to cut: the front, the back (which is cut on the fold), the pockets, the collar and the sleeves. Two options are given in the instructions as to seam finishes: you can either sew the seams the conventional way, so they are inside the garment, and then topstitch from the outside (see Charlie’s lovely version), or you can do as I chose to do and leave them raw and exposed to the outside of the garment. I guess you could also do a flat fell seam finish, but, my way was fast! This coat was made in an afternoon (including cutting out).

dsc_5113

The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat in camel coloured boiled wool – exposed raw edge seams on outside of coat

dsc_5121

The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat in camel coloured boiled wool

dsc_5115

The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat in camel coloured boiled wool – pocket closeup

dsc_5104

The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat in camel coloured boiled wool

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
A coat designed to be made in fabrics which do not fray when cut (e.g. boiled wool/ felted wool/ neoprene/ scuba) due to the raw edge finish. Dropped shoulders, large patch pockets and a cocoon style shape.
Pattern Sizing:
UK size 8 – 18
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, although no finished measurements are given. Two different options are given for seam finishes: either you can sew seams the conventional way, to the inside, and then top stitch seams from the outside. Or you can do as I did and sew the seams so they are exposed to the outside for a raw finish.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Despite this being the most expensive pattern I have purchased to date (£22.50 excluding postage), I LOVE the finished result. If you don’t like the oversized, cocoony shaped, dropped shoulder thing stay away, but I feel great when I wear this coat. I think it is the perfect mixture of cool (trendy) and cosy (boiled wool). Perfect autumn coat! Nothing to dislike really.
Fabric Used:
A camel coloured boiled wool.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • Removed 6 inches from the length of the pattern before cutting out
  • Removed a total of 5 inches from the length of the sleeves
  • 1 inch sway back adjustment – with removed length added back to the lower hem
  • Added approx. 1 inch to side seams
  • Moved pocket position down by 1 inch
  • I used a rotary cutter to cut my fabric out and would recommend using a ruler to cut the pockets out with perfectly straight edges!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don’t know if I will sew this particular pattern again, but I definitely recommend it if you like this style.
Conclusion:

Super fast sew and one of my favourite things I like to wear at the moment. Highly recommend!

Until soon.

dsc_5089

The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat in camel coloured boiled wool

 

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

13 responses to “The Makers Atelier Unlined Raw Edged Coat: DIY Camel Coloured Boiled Wool Cocoon Style Coat”

  1. Amanda S. says :

    I love it! This is sure to be a workhorse in your closet. I’ll bet it matches just about everything!

  2. Jane Marland (@janehandmade) says :

    I already have a boiled wool coat but now I’m VERY tempted to make another one just like this! It’s beautiful and looks soooo expensive! Great job. x

  3. Mollymoppit77 says :

    You look stunning in that coat. I really love it. Is the front and collar faced? I made a jacket in boiled wool and struggled to do buttonholes on the double thickness fabric. Had to resort to press studs.

  4. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    I have always been dubious about raw edges but they look great on this coat. You must have been meticulous with the cutting out. Great fabric choice.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Jean Margaret. For once I did take extra care cutting out 🙂 I cut in a single layer, chalking around the pattern pieces and used my rotary cutter to cut.

  5. Shauni S says :

    This is so so lovely! I’ve been really drawn to this pattern but the price tag put me off a little. It definitely seems worth it though to get such a fab coat. The finished coat is so chic – looks like it could have been a very purchase from Cos/Toast/Hobbs! x

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Shauni. Yes, I did deliberate over spending that much money on a pattern and there are other options (like one of the Tessuti patterns they have released for coats like this). But, I like the notched collar detail and, for me at least, the sizing on this pattern seemed good. It was worth it in my opinion and it got this boiled wool off my shelf!

  6. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    I like it. It looks like a simple make but it also looks classy!

  7. Ruthcreates says :

    This looks great, expensive looking and cosy. It’s tempting me too!

  8. Tomasa says :

    Love this coat on you. It’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

