The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny:a Kids Clothing Sewing Book Giveaway

fbb-cover

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny

Hi Friends,

I was contacted a little while ago by Natalie Martin, who is one of the authors of a new sewing book, The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny, and also (together with co-author Naomi Regan), one of the owners of British indepent children’s clothing brand, Olive and Vince.(Check out their etsy store for lots of cute, colourful children’s clothing with personality).

dungarees

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny (image from book)

 

Natalie and Naomi have just had this beautiful book published which contains a range of sewing patterns for boys and girls aged 1 – 5 years with a playful animal theme throughout, and asked me if I would be interested in reviewing the book. Full disclosure: I was given a copy of this book to review and invited to blog about it if I wanted too. I decided that as my daughter no longer fits in to the size range presented (such a shame!), that I would introduce the book to you guys and give you my overall impression, and offer the copy sent to me, as a giveaway. It really is a beautifully presented and fun book, and it would be such a shame for it to just sit on my shelf gathering dust instead of being put to good practical use. All the opinions expressed in this post are my own.

bunny-front

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny – bunny duffle coat. Image taken from book.

 

bunny-back

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny – bunny duffle coat. Image taken from book.

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny is, in lieu of chapters, split into 6 animals: the bunny, the cat, the fox, the mouse, the owl and the bear. There are different projects within each “animal” – all kids clothing. For example, within the bunny there are two projects: some puffball shorts and a bunny duffle coat. There are 17 projects in total, ranging from paw print mittens to a bear duffle coat. Projects are rated by difficulty so you can have some confidence in finding  a project that matches your experience.

owl

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny – the owl cape worn over the party dress – image taken from book.

The book contains full size, pull-out patterns that require tracing. Seam allowances are included, as are cutting layouts and applique templates.

The book contains step by step instructions for each project and they are very well illustrated and seem very clear. There are plenty of projects appropriate for both boys and girls and there are also some great basic, practical patterns like the long sleeved T shirt, and the slim leg trousers which could easily become wardrobe staples to be made multiple times over.

mittens-a

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny. Image taken from book.

I think  my favourite projects would probably be the fox duffle coat (seen on the front cover of the book and below) and the mouse capelet: cute beyond cute and so many ways you could personalise these to suit your own child/ grandchild/ niece/ nephew/ godchild etc! My only regret is I don’t have anyone to make anything for right now 😦

fox

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny – fox duffle coat. Image taken from book.

mouse

The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny – mouse capelet. Image taken from book.

A really lovely and different book with some magical illustrations. If you would like to be in with a chance of winning a copy of this book please leave a comment below before midnight GMT on Sunday 20th November. Sorry, but this giveaway is only open to UK residents.

Thanks for reading and entering.

*THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED*

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

16 responses to “The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny:a Kids Clothing Sewing Book Giveaway”

  1. kathrynb74 says :

    What a fun and fabulous idea for a book. My daughter is always looking for ways to dress her 2 little ones in an individual but affordable way. I’d LOVE to win this book so that I could help her! Thank you x

  2. Chris @ makeandwear says :

    I have young child who would adore those clothes,especially the dungarees and duffle coat! I’m in Ireland, but have a UK address that all my fabric and other UK purchases go to, so please add me to the draw:)

  3. Margaret says :

    What a lovely book! Such great ideas … and very generous of you to give it away.

  4. marylou24 says :

    This book looks lovely. I have two little girls who would love me to make a few of these…!

  5. Wendy says :

    What a fun idea, Love the concept and the adorable patterns. Thanks for the review!

  6. stitchedupsam says :

    Please don’t enter me in the giveaway because I have no children and don’t even know anyone with young children, but Oh My Goodness, how gorgeous is this book?!

  7. Angela says :

    I can imagine my four year old loving these! He spends most days pretending to be a cat!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Angela, congratulations you have won this giveaway. Please get in touch via my email address (under the About section at the top of this blog) with your full name and postal address.

  8. Kyla says :

    I love Olive and Vince and have been a happy customer for years now. I would love the chance to own the book and try my hand at some of the patterns for my daughters.

  9. Reloved 52 says :

    Fabulous book! Thank you for sharing your review. If I win I will endeavour to make the owl capelet in time for Christmas for my 3 year old. 💜🙌🏻🌟

  10. Sarah Norman says :

    I would love a chance to win please! I have two toddlers, they would look so cute in these 🙂

  11. mummyoftwo2 says :

    Wow these clothes are just gorgeously! I would love to win the book to be able to make some for my girls.

  12. robyn297 says :

    That book looks awesome, I haven’t sewn anything for ages, but your post and this book have inspired me. Must get my machine out this weekend.

  13. Katy M says :

    This book looks gorgeous! I love making clothes for all the kids in my life so this would be perfect x

  14. Amanda B says :

    This looks like an amazing book, just searched online for it and it led me to you’re great blog! I shall visit again, many thanks

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Fox, the Bear and the Bunny: Giveaway Winner | sewmanju - November 21, 2016

Leave a Reply

