Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigans and Jalie 3461 Eleonore Jeans: DIY Cardigans and Pull On Corduroy Jeans

dsc_5439

Long line Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigan

Hi Friends,

Sharing some cold weather sewing today. Not fancy. Not complicated. Just practical.

First up, two versions of the Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigan. You can read about my first (very successful) one here. I love that version and it has been worn lots.

dsc_5418

Long line Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigan

Version one is made using an acrylic knit that I purchased from Fabworks (no longer available in this colourway) during the Yorkshire Spoolette’s meet up earlier this year. The only modification made was to lengthen the cardigan by 5 inches and omit the buttons (I have added a hook and eye at the neck). TBH I am not sure about this version, although I did wear it over a dress for the first time the other day (see how I wore it here on IG). It is a great layering piece but I am not sure about the length and the overall slouchiness. I think the neckline and the sleeve cuffs have generally stretched out and perhaps that is what is further putting me off. Time will tell whether this gets worn or not.

dsc_5435

Long line Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigan

dsc_5557

Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigan worn with Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull on Corduroy Jeans and Grainline Archer Shirt

The second version was made using some Isabella Wool Mix Jersey that I purchased from Sewessential. This colourway (which I think was called claret) appears to have sold out, but there are several other colour options available. When I first received the fabric I was a little concerned how it would work with this pattern because it does have some amount of two way stretch and I wasn’t sure how that would work with the interfaced button band. But I found some suitable knit interfacing in my stash and everything worked out well (except I inadvertently took 5/8ths inch seam allowance at the shoulders when the seam allowance on this pattern is 3/8ths inch). I do think if I make this pattern again maybe I should consider a small shoulder adjustment.

dsc_5562

Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigan worn with Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull on Corduroy Jeans and Grainline Archer Shirt

Anyway, I like this version a lot and it has been worn a fair amount already. And to finish just wanted to say I made the black stretch corduroy jeans I am wearing in these latter two pictures (sorry, I know you can’t see them very well). They were made using Jalie 3461 which I have written about here, and the only change I made was to add 0.25 inches to the inner and outer lower legs on the front and back pieces. Again, these have already been worn lots. The only thing is that, as corduroy tends too, these do stretch out a little with wear, but they are just so nice and warm on a frosty day that I know they will get worn lots over the winter.

Boring basics? Perhaps. But probably the ones that, realistically, get worn the most.

See you soon!

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “Muse Patterns Jenna Cardigans and Jalie 3461 Eleonore Jeans: DIY Cardigans and Pull On Corduroy Jeans”

  1. Miss Celie says :

    Wow. The claret version is perfect. It looks just like a cute J.crew or Banana cardi.

    • sewmanju says :

      Yep the claret version is defnitely my favourite and has been worn loads. A great pattern for those of us who cannot just whip something up on our knitting machine 🙂

  2. KS Sews says :

    Really love the second one. And the first one looks more balanced with the dress.

    Sometimes practical sewing is what’s needed!

  3. Carolyn says :

    I like both versions but agree with the other sewists that the second one is the best! And I understand about basics – it seems they are all I sew lately!

  4. Thimberlina says :

    Not boring at all, I think the essentials that we make are often more satisfying than some of the fancier garments we don’t wear too often. 😀

    • sewmanju says :

      Yeah you’re right Ali. Boring essentials get worn so much more than the fancier stuff (just that’s sometimes more interesting to sew and blog about :-))

  5. Abbey says :

    I actually like both although I’m more partial to the claret for reasons of colour. I like the length of the 2nd one, but maybe the larger neckline and sleeve bands less so. Overall, some really nice basics! Abbey

  6. Tomasa says :

    Love both your versions. There is always a place for basics.

  7. amcclure2014 says :

    I know what you mean about feeling it is too slouchy; I share this feeling so often. I don’t find your basics boring and love that claret colour, and the length of your second cardigan. I must get around to sew basics for me.

Leave a Reply

