New Look 6374: DIY Dark Floral Tunic Top

dsc_6049

New Look 6374 Dark Floral Tunic Top

Hello Friends,

How are you? Today I am sharing a tunic top that I completed a couple of weeks ago, using New Look 6374. It’s a simple little top that I made using some dark floral polyester fabric that I purchased locally to me. In our climate I don’t have a problem wearing the odd polyester item and I just couldn’t resist the print and – bonus – it doesn’t crease up easily either. IMO it’s the perfect top to wear over skinny jeans if you like more coverage in the back (at least if you sew View A like I did).

dsc_6057

New Look 6374 Dark Floral Tunic Top

As ever, you can read my full review below, but the one thing I wanted to point out is that for me, initially, when I tried the top on, it felt very high up into my underarm. Like uncomfortably so. I subsequently went back and resewed the underarm portion taking a smaller seam allowance which made the top  feel much more comfortable (and wearable!) I have adjusted the pattern to lower the armhole depth by 0.5 inches, but I might even go slightly deeper than this. I know Beth made this pattern up without issue so this particular pecularity could just be me!

dsc_6066

New Look 6374 Dark Floral Tunic Top

dsc_6050

New Look 6374 Dark Floral Tunic Top

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Misses’ top pattern includes half sleeve top with shirt tail hem, sleeveless top with contrast yoke and band, sleeveless top with contrast yoke, and 3/4 sleeve top with contrast yoke, center front and sleeve band.

I made view A.
Pattern Sizing:
10 – 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, but I didn’t like the instruction to finish the hem before sewing up the side seams. I ignored that.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the finished top. I think its the perfect tunic top to wear over skinny jeans, especially view A, if you like more coverage in the back. I like the placket construction: they came out nice and I like the slight V-shape formed by the plackets – flattering. I would probably have preferred if the back yoke had been double layer and not single.
Fabric Used:
Polyester.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • I cut my usual size at the bust/ shoulders and graded out a size at the waist and a further size at the hips. I also ended up only using 3/8ths of an inch seam allowance below the bust.
  • 1 inch full arm adjustment.
  • o.5 inch sway back adjustment.
  • I found that, initially, when I tried the top on, it felt very high up into my underarm. Like uncomfortably so. I subsequently went back and resewed the underarm portion taking a smaller seam allowance which made the top  feel much more comfortable (and wearable!) I have adjusted the pattern to lower the armhole depth by 0.5 inches, but I might even go slightly deeper than this.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I would sew this again. Yes, I recommend.
Conclusion:
If you like longer length loose fitting tunic tops with the shirttail hem then try this one out.

Current world events maybe unsettling and frightening but here’s hoping things get better. Have a great week ahead!

dsc_6047

New Look 6374 Dark Floral Tunic Top

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

24 responses to “New Look 6374: DIY Dark Floral Tunic Top”

  1. Laura says :

    Looks really nice! How did you do a swayback adjustment on a loose, no-center-back-seam garment like this?

    • sewmanju says :

      Hey Laura don’t know if you have fit for real people? The book? Page 126 – 127 talks about a sway back on a one piece dress – basically taking a tuck or tucks tapering to nothing at the side seam where you need it, straightening the grain line and “if there is no centre back seam, place the centre back at the top and bottom on the fold of the fabric. The waist area won’t touch; don’t worry. The extra added width is minor and won’t affect the overall fit”. So that’s what I do. Works for me! Hope that helps.

  2. Peggy S says :

    Quite nice!!

  3. Rachel says :

    This looks great

  4. Candice says :

    Love this blouse, Manju! I love tunic style tops; I will have to see if I have this one in my pattern stash.

  5. JenL says :

    Pretty! I haven’t seen a version with sleeves before – looks really nice.

  6. Kathy says :

    You look very nice in this outfit. Very modern and chic!

  7. craftycreeky says :

    Looks great, I really like this one, might have to look the pattern out 🙂

  8. Mags says :

    Really lovely fabric choice. Your top really suits you.

  9. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    super cute and looks great on you. I love this pattern and am about to cut out an other one. It’s nice to find a tunic pattern that has some interesting details.

  10. Tomasa says :

    Love this beautiful feminine top on you. It is so pretty!

  11. maryfunt says :

    Great look, especially with the skinny pants. This design could be made over and over again with different variations.

  12. Lynne says :

    Oh, this is lovely. I really like the shape of the collar and placket, and it looks fab with jeans.

  13. SewSouthLondon says :

    As always, great choice of fabric and pattern. It looks fantastic. I particularly like the gathers on the back yoke.

  14. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    That’s a beautiful print. You look lovely in it!

  15. Flavia Giuzio says :

    Love this!!
    The whole look is super cute!
    The fabric you chose is very flattering and fun!

    Xo
    https://www.alchimistihandmade.com

Leave a Reply

