McCalls 7542: DIY Statement Pleated Sleeve Blue White Stripe Cotton Top

DSC_6789

McCalls 7542 pleated sleeve cuff striped shirting cotton top (worn with Simplicity 1167 chino style pants)

Hello Friends!

This year is, apparently, the #yearofthesleeve, and I decided to dip my toe into this trend by making up McCalls 7542 in a blue and white stripe cotton shirting (another trend of the moment) purchased from Fabworks.

DSC_6779

McCalls 7542 pleated sleeve cuff striped shirting cotton top

I have to say that I really had mixed feelings about the bodice for this top as I was making it, and I do think that for lots of people, some amount of adjustment may need to be made. But, having worn it for the day, I have to say I do love it and especially those cool pleated sleeves.

DSC_6777

McCalls 7542 pleated sleeve cuff striped shirting cotton top

DSC_6785

McCalls 7542 pleated sleeve cuff striped shirting cotton top

Lets talk proportions for a moment, shall we? This top, as drafted, is quite short and boxy. I decided to add three inches to the length. This makes this top much more wearable for me. I can wear it just like I have done in these pictures over slim trousers or skinny jeans. But, even though I added some width at the hips, it felt too tight so I ended up adding slits to the sides. I also decided to lengthen the sleeves. Or rather, I used the piece for the pleats from sleeve C, but attached them to the sleeves which I cut at the longer length, as per View D. My reasoning for doing this was because I felt I wouldn’t want to wear anything on top of this top, and, for that reason, I wanted a little more arm coverage.

There was some discussion over on Instagram about whether I should have cut the sleeves shorter but I think the new proportions work. I actually think if I had kept the shorter length as intended, the fullest part of the sleeve would probably have ended at my bust line which would have made me look wider. As the fullest part of the sleeve now ends closer to the narrowest part of my body (my waist), I think it works. But hey, I love interacting with everyone over on Instagram and its always nice to have a second opinion.

DSC_6787

McCalls 7542 pleated sleeve cuff striped shirting cotton top (worn with Simplicity 1167 chino style pants)

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Semi-fitted tops have sleeve variations. Includes separate pattern pieces for A/B, C, and D cups.

I made view C but cut my sleeves at the longer line intended for view D.
Pattern Sizing:
6 – 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes…my version is longer with longer sleeves.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I had some misgivings about the bodice as I was making it up. It is short and boxy as drafted. I made some adjustments to suit me (see below). There is a little tightness across the front of the sleeves when I raise my arms. I love the end result with the pleated sleeve. Very on trend.
Fabric Used:
Blue white cotton striped shirting.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • I cut a size 18 through the bust, shoulders and arms and a D cup.
  • I added 3 inches to the length.
  • Inspite of me adding some width at the side seams at the hips, when I initially tried the bodice on it felt tight in that region so I ended up adding side slits.
  • 5/8ths inch sway back adjustment, adding removed length back at hem.
  • Dropped bust dart by 0.5 inch.
  • Shortened bust dart by 1 inch (don’t know if that was really necessary).
  • Cut sleeve length as per view D (but used pleated sleeve pattern piece from view C).
  • 1 inch full arm adjustment (adding the extra one inch to the pleated sleeve pattern piece; 0.5 inch to either side seam allowance).
  • Lowered back opening slit by further 2 inches. Be warned: some people may want to lower the neckline a bit. In the end I left it as is and its fine for me.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don’t know if I want too many of these in my wardrobe, but I might like to try another view and maybe try it is something with more drape like a viscose.
Conclusion:
Make this one up fast for summer because fashions come and go. Right now, I feel very on trend wearing this.

Have a great week ahead!

DSC_6776

McCalls 7542 pleated sleeve cuff striped shirting cotton top

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

16 responses to “McCalls 7542: DIY Statement Pleated Sleeve Blue White Stripe Cotton Top”

  1. Tomasa says :

    Love this top on you and I like the length adjustments you have made. I ordered this pattern and when I make it, I will do the same as you have with the sleeves and bodice length. I agree that the proportions are just right.

  2. Thimberlina says :

    This top says summer’s here!! Love it, and I think the changes made look in proportion and perfect for you 😍

  3. stitchedupsam says :

    I’ve actually just started making this one up in a viscose with the tulip sleeves. I’ve lengthened my bodice – thank goodness – based on other online comments I’d seen. If I like it I could be tempted by this version, I’ve got a lovely ivory cotton with cut out embroidery along one edge.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Sam. I have seen on IG you are not sure about the fit of the bodice: I do kind of agree it’s one that I think lots of women will want to alter. But I am glad I perservered with the top because I do like the finished product a lot.

  4. lovelucie1 says :

    Incredibly on trend. The sleeves are a perfect length. I’m glad to see they are not soo long as to get dangled in your tea – as many that I have seen. I would worry so much about keeping them clean!

  5. Amanda S. says :

    This is really cute and I think the proportions are spot on for you!

  6. CurlsnSkirls says :

    Also agree with your proportional changes, and hope you’ll find a viscose and try it again. It should have a very different feel and drape. (Personally, I’d rather do viscose than cotton any day, but we’ve more humidity here than you have there. 😉) xx

  7. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    I do love the variety of sleeves I am seeing now. Good choice with the changes. I’d probably do the same. Your top is very nice!

  8. beebeesvintagedress says :

    Really like this on you Manju! I wasn’t overly convinced by the statement sleeves on the mannequin as such but on you they really do flatter! Its less dramatic, as in more wearable than I was expecting. Perhaps the fabric in that classic stripe is the perfect pairing, you are so good at getting a classic look!

Leave a Reply

