McCalls 6885: DIY Popover Gingham Shirt Dress

DSC_7156

McCalls 6885 Popover Gingham Shirt Dress

Hello Friends from Sunny Cumbria,

It’sย  not often I write that! But we have been enjoying some sunny weather lately and I thought I would share this shirt dress I finished recently – infact, I am wearing it right now!

DSC_7131

McCalls 6885 Popover Gingham Shirt Dress

This is McCalls 6885McCalls 6885, which I have made before, and you can see my first version and my review for this pattern here. This time around I made view View B but with the sleeves from view C, using this beautifully soft cotton gingham purchased locally to me some years back.

DSC_7153

McCalls 6885 Popover Gingham Shirt Dress

There is not a huge amount to say about this dress except for how glad I am to have it in my wardrobe. Gingham is very much on trend right now, but it is also timeless and this pattern is so quick, easy and satisfying to make.

Be warned, I am 5’3″ in height and had to remove 2 inches in length from the back. I debated (on Instagram) whether to add darts but in the end opted for the ties at the back and am happy with the end result (I did try darts: didn’t like how they looked). You will notice that I chose to cut my button placket and back yoke (not a standard pattern piece) on the bias to add a bit of interest and avoid having to pattern match ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_7141

McCalls 6885 Popover Gingham Shirt Dress

I want to make this dress again! But as ever, it’s that case of waiting for the right match of pattern and fabric to occur.

My first (only 2 days this week) at work went well and here’s looking forward to summer.

See you soon .

DSC_7157

McCalls 6885 Popover Gingham Shirt Dress

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

30 responses to “McCalls 6885: DIY Popover Gingham Shirt Dress”

  1. janetlouisemiles says :

    Love your dress. You look adorable. Another beautiful creation.

  2. CurlsnSkirls says :

    A lovely make and so nice to see the bias bits! Super job ~ you look fantastic!

  3. Diane G says :

    Oh, gosh it’s lovely Manju! I turned out so well. The back ties are perfect.

  4. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    I’ll have to keep my eyes open for this pattern. It looks comfortable and dressy too. I don’t like tight things in the summer months!

  5. Julie Culshaw says :

    I love your gingham version. I didn’t realise you were 5’3″ tall, you look taller than that. I made this dress last year as a tunic top and must make it again, thanks for the inspiration.

  6. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    really cute and great use of gingham.

  7. Make it Any Wear says :

    This dress looks great on you and I think it’s calling for light weight denim (maybe tencel).

  8. Sue @ A Colourful Canvas says :

    OH gosh! Popover and gingham just go together, now don’t they! You know my love for anything gingham and this pattern and your blue and white fabric are perfect together. I love the addition of the ties…a bit like my darling ranges dress.

    And hey…you are only a little taller than me! ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy that sunshine.

    PS I adore your sandals!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Sue this is a great pattern. The sandals were bought whilst in Barcelona: you know, I bring back fabric and leather goods from my holidays:-)

  9. Lynne says :

    Gorgeous! Loving the bias cut yoke and placket, I think this always works well in gingham. Also loving the weather, we’re getting it in Belfast too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Carolyn says :

    I really like this and it’s on my sewing list too. Love seeing a version with the ties in the back, it’s encouraging me to do the same to my version, whenever I get to it! Enjoy it cause it’s very pretty!

  11. Yvonne says :

    Oh my, that looks perfect for the sweltering summers we have here. I’ve always loved my life in the summer in shorts and casual t-shirt type tops, but recently thought about making dresses such as these for everyday wear. I find them cooler, if the fabric is opaque and doesn’t require a slip. Also, I LOVE those sandals!

  12. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    Very cute dress. I love gingham.

  13. Evie Jones says :

    I adore this dress and now want to shamelessly copy it in navy/white gingham. It’s totally gorgeous and just the most perfectly wearable day dress for spring and summer. BTW I didn’t realise you were just up the M6 from me! Yay for norther sewists!

  14. Tomasa says :

    I love how this dress came out. Using the tie is perfect. Just the right amount of shaping. Beautiful!

  15. Tanya says :

    Love this, Manju!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. #sewtogetherforsummer shirt dress finished! – Ruth Creates - June 17, 2017

Leave a Reply

