McCalls 7543: DIY Off the Shoulder Top

DSC_7104

McCalls 7543 Off the Shoulder Top – worn with Simplicity 8019 Denim Skirt

Hi Friends,

Today is a quick review of McCalls 7543, view A. This is a great little pattern which sews up fast with minimal alterations and has some good variations included in the envelope.

DSC_7101

McCalls 7543 Off the Shoulder Top

I think I am with a lot of fuller busted women who feel they perhaps can’t partake in the off the shoulder look because of bra issues: or rather we hate to wear strapless bras. I wanted to try this particular view out because it has straps which I hoped were bra friendly. And on the whole they are. The way you are instructed to sew this top is to attach the straps in the back of the top first, before creating the casing for the elastic. The straps are sewn to the front of the top at the last step. So whilst I was able to move the straps over in the front of the top, in the back it hasn’t been quite as successful. That’s not to say I won’t wear this top because I do like it, but if I make this top again I know I need to move the straps out, and by how much.

The fabric, BTW, is from my stash. It’s a cotton with an embroidered/ cut work scalloped border. The border just ran along one side of the 2 metre length of fabric I had so I just had enough to cut the front and back pieces. Maybe I should have had the scalloped edges along the sleeve hems but it is what it is. A fun piece to wear on hot days (if we ever get them!)

DSC_7118

McCalls 7543 Off the Shoulder Top

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Pullover tops, tunic and dress have elastic on shoulders and sleeve variations. A: Straps. C: Shaped hemline.

I made view A
Pattern Sizing:
4 – 26
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the finished top. It comes together very quickly with little fussing. I like the option to have straps. I widened mine slightly but I need to alter the strap position in the back of the top for next time to cover my bra straps better. The straps are sewn in place in the back of the top first before the casing is created and the straps are secured in the front of the top as the final step, so it does make altering the back strap position more difficult. But we will call this a wearable muslin. Nothing to dislike as such.
Fabric Used:
A cotton with an embroidered/ cut work scalloped border along one length. I cut the fabric on the cross grain to utilise the border.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • 0.5 inch sway back adjustment, adding length back to hems.
  • Used 0.25 inch seam allowance to sew the straps so the finished strap width was 1 inch.
  • Moved the straps out on the front of the top but need to do this for the back next time round.
  • Shortened straps by approx. 1.5 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might. I like the other options that are included. Yes, I recommend.
Conclusion:
Cute and fun, I will wear this top if we ever get hot weather but I will alter the back strap position for nex time.

Until soon!

DSC_7103

McCalls 7543 Off the Shoulder Top

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

23 responses to “McCalls 7543: DIY Off the Shoulder Top”

  1. craftycreeky says :

    Very pretty top, I love the fabric!

  2. CurlsnSkirls says :

    Great pattern for that fabric! I think it looks perfect cut this way as scalloped sleeves wouldn’t be quite enough (IMHO), but sleeves & hemline might be a bit much! (Those are large scallops!)
    Question: How do you always find such well-coordinated shoes?!

  3. stitchedupsam says :

    Looks great Manju, and it’s good to know it’s (almost) bra friendly straight from the envelope. That colour looks fantastic on you.

  4. Sue @ A Colourful Canvas says :

    Great review. I’ve been on the sidelines on this trend for just the reason you mentioned. And also, I’m not sure how us petites fare with too much volume. You’ve given me hope! Maybe a little adjustment is in order for the next make, but it really is a cute top, and who cares if a little bra strap is showing!

  5. dkswife says :

    That is the best off the shoulder top I have seen.

  6. Faye Lewis says :

    Love the cold shoulder and the use of eyelet.

  7. Amanda S. says :

    I like it! The color is so pretty on you.

  8. Mags says :

    Manju, so cute! Love it. I didn’t think I could wear one of these because of the bra issue, but now I think I’ll have a go at this one. Love your choice of fabric makes it really special.

  9. danvillegirl says :

    I like this look of this top. Your fabric was perfect for this!

  10. Tomasa says :

    Very pretty top – I love the fabric and how you placed the embroidery at the hem – perfect. This would be the closest I would ever come to wearing an off the shoulder top because it has straps that could hide my bra.

  11. KS Sews says :

    SUPER cute and that’s my favorite color!

  12. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! says :

    That is so cute! I don’t like going without a bra or having a strapless one so this would be the answer. Now I know if I try a pattern like this to pin the straps on first in various positions to make sure they cover my bra straps. Thanks for the tip! Cute fabric too – I love the border!

Leave a Reply

