Pauline Alice Aldaia Dress: DIY Fixed Wrap Jersey Dress

DSC_7198

Pauline Alice Aldaia Dress

Hi Everyone,

I am probably one of the few sewists out there who has yet to find a wrap dress pattern they love. I kind of came to the conclusion that maybe true wrap dresses were not meant for me (constant fiddling/ fear of coming undone), so when Pauline Alice was kind enough to send me a copy of her Aldaia dress I was very happy to see that one of the bodice options offered was a surplice design. Coupled with the option to have a 6-gore skirt, I decided this was as close to my dream wrap dress as I was ever going to get.

DSC_7211

Pauline Alice Aldaia Dress

There is not much to say about this dress which I won’t cover in my review (below), except to say I genuinely do LOVE this pattern! I made virtually no changes (at least not the “major” standard changes that I typically have to do), and I love the fit and finished dress. Couple of things to note:

  1. I think I sewed two of my front panels the wrong way, so the centre panel is on the side, and a side panel is in the centre. Shhhhh.
  2. The pattern instructs you to twin needle around the neckband. I tried this and it was a hot mess (in hindsight I wish I had used my walking foot, as I did on the hem). No matter, I unpicked the twin needling around the neck band and left well enough alone.
DSC_7223

Pauline Alice Aldaia Dress

DSC_7208

Pauline Alice Aldaia Dress

The most amazing thing about this pattern is the number of different options which are included: 3 different bodice styles, 3 different skirt styles and 3 different sleeve styles. You can mix and match all the options to create your dream knit dress. I am now desperately searching for printed jersey fabrics that I like, and I am definitely going to try this out in a ponte knit and a wool jersey for autumn. Another winning pattern from Pauline!

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

The Aldaia dress is designed for knit fabrics, with no closure so it can be pulled up easily. Front princess seams and back darts make the bodice easy to fit. You can mix all the different necklines, sleeves and skirts options to make a unique dress.

View A: V neck, elbow length sleeves with bands and short panelled skirt.

View B: wrap style bodice, sleeveless and below-the-knee pencil skirt.

View C: jewel neckline finished with facing, short sleeves and 6-gore skirt.

I made the wrap style bodice from view B, the 6-gore skirt from view C and the elbow length sleeves from view A.
Pattern Sizing:
Size 34 to 48
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I LOVE this pattern, and all the variations that are included with the pattern. 3 different bodice styles, 3 different skirt styles and 3 different sleeve options. I love the fixed wrap bodice that I chose to use – so flattering and a perfect fit for me right out of the envelope. No gaping. Love the 6 gore skirt option that I also chose to use. Just love! Nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
Cotton jersey purchased locally to me.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • Shortened sleeves by 1.5 inches
  • Slimmed the arms and bands down by 0.5 inches
  • Shortened the neckband by 1 inch. For next time I have also removed a further 0.5 inch from the centre back of the neckband
  • Lengthened skirt by 2 inches

I did not have to do a FBA, sway back adjustment or full arm adjustment on this dress!
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Totally yes I want to try this dress is jersey again, but also in a ponte knit and wool jersey. Yes I recommend.
Conclusion:
It doesn’t happen often and it might not happen for you, but for me, this dress is just so easy to fit, sew and wear.

Have a great week ahead everyone! We are currently enjoying a spell of warm, dry weather. Long may it continue!

DSC_7209

Pauline Alice Aldaia Dress

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

59 responses to “Pauline Alice Aldaia Dress: DIY Fixed Wrap Jersey Dress”

  1. TinLizzie72 says :

    Gosh, I love everything about this dress! I haven’t yet found my perfect wrap dress pattern, so maybe I’ll try this one.

  2. Janie says :

    This is cute on you. Make one in every print and/color. Also, I like the print suit from you previously post. Janie

  3. Betty says :

    I think you got a perfect fit and a lovely look.

  4. Lynne says :

    Your dress is fabulous! I bought this pattern when it came out, but still haven’t made it. I love that wrap bodice, and am definitely going to give it a try. I recently bought some patterned jersey fabrics from The Textile Centre, and they were a cheap as chips and lovely quality (unlike the more expensive stuff I bought from Girl Charlee…)

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Lynne. I love Textile Centre for all kinds of things! Have heard mixed things about Girl Charlee (but haven’t bought from them myself).

  5. NancyD says :

    This pattern is perfect for you! Neckline just the right depth and the fit is spot on.

  6. idaaidasewing says :

    Wow, this dress is so pretty and flattering, it looks amazing on you!

  7. aradhana gupta says :

    Beautiful! Love the style on you, and the fabric you chose!

  8. Cathryn Harjung says :

    This dress is absolutely perfect on you. I adore the look! I am currently on the Pauline Alice website looking . . .

  9. Tomasa says :

    Beautiful dress – I love this on you. And i love the fabric print and colors as well. GORGEOUS!

  10. Margaret Baylis says :

    Love it. I too have really struggled to like wrap dresses and often think they are not flattering on big busted women. Yours is everything I would want. Thank you so much for the review. I’m going to look at the pattern right now.

  11. ruthcreates247 says :

    This dress looks fabulous on you. Glad you reviewed this pattern, I bought it as I liked the number of options for different dresses. I have cut out a toile for view b wrap style bodice, and have got at least two dresses planned!

  12. Meg says :

    Wow- this is perfect on you! Just gorgeous! Maybe I should try it since we’re measurement twins!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Measurement Twin! I think you would like it….I just like the fact I am not worrying with ties and adjusting it constantly. Put it on and go!

  13. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    Love everything about this dress. It suits you beautifully too!

  14. Mrs K says :

    Wow, super dress, looks superb!

  15. Suzanne says :

    You didn’t have to do a FBA? I’m buying it right now. It looks fabulous.

  16. Anna-Jo says :

    Looks great on you! I might have to give this one a go…

  17. Myra says :

    This is beautiful on you! I love it too!

  18. Wanda I. Laboy says :

    Sra. Soy puertorriqueña. Siempre sigo su trabajo. Pero le comento…que ese traje quedo espectacular. La felicito.

  19. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    looks fantastic on you – great fabric and the fit is just right.

  20. Miss Celie says :

    I love this. The fabric is just perfect

  21. Margo Bergman says :

    Gah!! You look stunning in this dress!

  22. KS Sews says :

    So I saw the preview and thought, WOAH. This is it. This is YOUR wrap dress Manju!

    It fits AMAZINGLY well. Pure perfection!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Nakisha. Yeah, doesn’t happen often and I am scared about what if I use a different weight fabric but this particular version is love!

  23. Julie Culshaw says :

    This dress looks wonderful on you, it suits you perfectly. Very pretty and extremely flattering.

  24. Claudette Eccleston says :

    I do look forward to your posts. This is a very good shape on you, I want to get this pattern for myself. Keep up the very good work!

  25. thetelltaletasha says :

    Absolutely beautiful! You look so great and that fabric turns it up a notch!

  26. Abbey says :

    Manju, I love everything about this – the fabric, the colour, the fit on you!!!

  27. PatsyPoo says :

    Really gorgeous. I’m going to check this one out. I like that it gives you loads of options. Never used these patterns before and now I’ve got 2 on my list (Eliana as well) thanks to you. 😉

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Patsy. I really like Pauline’s design. I think great value for money for an Indie designer and lots of little features that make for interesting sewing.

  28. Lets Get Sewing says :

    This dress is stunning!

  29. Kathy M. says :

    Hi, I’ve followed your sewing projects for a long time but haven’t commented until now. I just have to say how amazing you look in this dress! The fit is perfect and the print fabric is gorgeous, too – a wonderful scale and color for you. Utter perfection. You’ve achieved what every woman wants: to be noticed for how great she makes the dress look! Beautiful!

  30. Anne says :

    This dress is gorgeous on you, suits you perfectly and looks so much nicer than I expected when I saw the pattern. x

Leave a Reply

