New Look 6388: DIY Girls Cotton Lawn Summer Dress

DSC_7923

New Look 6388

Hi Friends,

A quick review today of a dress I made for Kezia (who is currently a tall 8 year old approx. 140+ cm height) using New Look 6388. This is a basic dress pattern but one which is limited only by your imagination. I just wanted to make a simple, lightweight summer dress for Kezia, and she picked out this soft printed cotton lawn. The bodice is lined with poly cotton.

DSC_7925

New Look 6388

One thing to watch out for is that the “waistband” is not actually a waistband (even though I have sewn it as one, joining the bodice to the skirt). The instructions actually have you sew the “waistband” on top of the bodice, rather like an emblishment, rather than a true waistband. Other than that, this is a pretty straight forward sew.

DSC_7946

New Look 6388

DSC_7898

New Look 6388

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

This party dress for Girls features high low skirt with overlay or sleeveless dress with contrast waistband and lower band, both with bow in back, and short sleeve dress with ribbon or sleeveless dress with shoulder bows.

I made view C.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. The only thing to be aware of is that the “waistband” is not actually a waistband (even though I have sewn it as one, joining the bodice to the skirt). The instructions actually have you sew the “waistband” on top of the bodice, rather like an emblishment, rather than a true waistband.

I cut 2 waistbands, one from the lining fabric and one from the outer fashion fabric which was interfaced, and used the waistband to join the bodice to the skirt.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the finished garment. It is a simple pattern but one which can easily be adapted to all kinds of fabric and for all occasions. I am not sure if the fabric requirements are correct: I used a polycotton to line the bodice but I think I would have struggled to self line the bodice using the suggested fabric requirements.

Fabric Used:

Cotton lawn outer with polycotton lining for bodice.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • My daughter is a tall (140cm+) 8 year old. I cut a size 10 through the bust and shoulders, grading out to a size 12 at the waist.
  • I shortened the bust dart by 1″.
  • I cut the skirt at the size 10 length.
  • See above for my comments on the “waistband” and how I treated it.
  • I ended up letting the side seams out by about 0.25 inches to gain a further 1 inch all round.
  • Used an invisible zip.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I did the sensible thing and traced this pattern so yes, I could see myself making this again. Yes, I recommend.

Conclusion:

Great basic girls dress pattern to have in the stash. Lots of potential with this one.

I will leave you with some pictures of my beautiful, confident girl 🙂 have a great week everyone.

DSC_7929

New Look 6388

DSC_7902

New Look 6388

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

18 responses to “New Look 6388: DIY Girls Cotton Lawn Summer Dress”

  1. SeamQueen says :

    Adorable! Such a cute model too.

  2. Eileensews says :

    Cute dress on a beautiful girl.

  3. Janet Hasselblad says :

    She is absolutely gorgeous!

  4. Aileen Beown says :

    Beautiful model and the dress is beautiful too. I rarely comment but I do find your blog inspiring ..

  5. Colesworth says :

    So pretty – I can see she loves the dress ;o) I think this is a pattern I should get for my 8 yo!

  6. CurlsnSkirls says :

    Adorable, and so is that dress.
    😘 back to you all!

  7. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    super cute summer dress!

  8. Sew Jean Margaret says :

    Oh she’s a natural model…just gorgeous, oh and the dress is very pretty too.

  9. Tomasa says :

    Such a pretty dress and model!

  10. sewmanju says :

    Thank you Tomasa

Leave a Reply

