Simplicity 8292: DIY Flutter Sleeve Fuschia Pink Crepe Sheath Dress

20170827_191335

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe

Hi everyone,

I am going on a flying visit to the States at the end of September for my cousin’s wedding and I made this dress thinking I would wear this to the daytime/ church ceremony. Now I am having second thoughts as to whether it will be too warm (New Jersey at the end of September – Carolyn or anyone else, any thoughts?). Anyway, the pattern is Simplicity 8292. The main thing to note about my version is that I have moved the under bust/ empire line seam down to create a waist seam, which I personally find more comfortable and flattering. More details on that in the review below.

20170827_191356

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe

The fabric is this triple crepe in fuschia pink, purchased from Minerva crafts. I have worked with this triple crepe before and it is quite weighty. I was worried it might fray like mad, but it wasn’t too bad. I put it through a hot 60 degree prewash and it cut and sewed very well. I did use a medium heat for pressing with steam and my clapper to get a crisper finish on my pressing.

20170827_191313

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe

Can I just say I am thrilled with the fit through the back of the skirt? I would never be able to get a sheath dress like this to fit me RTW and I love the princess seams on this pattern for the fit opportunities. I did do a full bum adjustment and it worked very well.

20170827_191421

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe

The main attraction of this pattern of course is the statement flutter sleeves. They do make this dress very of the moment, but other sleeve options are included in the pattern (including a cold sleeve option as well as a plain short sleeve option), so I would consider making this dress again for work in a neutral colour with the short sleeve option – now I have got the dress to fit me so well. One thing to watch out for: I wish I had chosen another seam finishing technique to finish the sleeve seam instead of overlocking. I mean, you can’t see it in these pictures when I have the dress on, but personally I think it looks a little ugly, and if I was making this dress again with the flutter sleeves I would reconsider this aspect.

I chose to fully line my dress. I used this tutorial to fully machine the lining around the armholes which I think worked well. Inside shots:

DSC_8426

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe – machine finish lining attachment around armhole

DSC_8422

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe – full lining

DSC_8418

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe – machine finish lining attachment around armhole

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

This Misses’/Miss Petite dress features three different sleeve options, princess seams, invisible back zipper, lined bodice and your choice of either long flare or pencil cut each in two lengths.

I made view C with some alterations.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, although the most noticeable difference between the pattern and my version is that I moved the under bust/ empire line seam down to hit at my waist.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. I kind of did my own thing when it came to the lining.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the finished dress: the fit and the statement flutter sleeves. Love the princess seams which give lots of fitting opportunities. I wish I had chosen another seam finishing technique to finish the sleeve seam instead of overlocking. I mean, you can’t see it in these pictures when I have the dress on, but personally I think it looks a little ugly, and if I was making this dress again with the flutter sleeves I would reconsider this aspect.

Fabric Used:

Triple crepe outer and polyester lining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • I cut my usual size 18 through the shoulders and bust and graded out over the waist and hips.
  • I cut the skirt pattern off at the marked waistline and taped the pieces I cut off  onto the bottom of the corresponding bodice pieces, overlapping the seam allowances, and re-adding new seam allowances at the bottom edges and at the new top edges of the skirt pattern pieces. I did this in order to move the under bust/ empire line down to waist level, which I personally find more comfortable and flattering.
  • 1 inch FBA
  • Added about an inch to the side seams but probably removed most of that when fitting the dress. Used a slightly larger seam allowance than suggested to insert the zipper in the centre back seam
  • 1 inch sway back adjustment on bodice
  • Added a full lining
  • Used the princess seams to fit: let them out approx. 0.25 inch in the tummy and bottom area
  • Did 1 inch full bum adjustment largely to add length to the back of the skirt to account for my full bottom
  • After making the FBA etc some of the seams didn’t match so had to make some adjustments to make the bodice and skirt seams match
  • Interfaced the skirt hems, vent area and zipper opening
  • Hand stitched hems

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Initially I thought my answer to this would be no. But the fact that a plain short sleeve is included means I could see me making this dress again in a neutral colour for work. Yes, I recommend.

Conclusion:

I love the fit, the colour and the statement sleeves. Remains to be seen whether I actually wear this to the wedding at the end of September in New Jersey or if it will be too hot.

Over on Instagram, Diane and Helen are currently running #sleevefest2017 – the deadline for which is on 31st August, so I think I am just in time.

Enjoy the long weekend if you have one, otherwise enjoy your week.

Until soon.

20170827_191246

Simplicity 8292 flutter sleeve sheath dress in fuschia pink triple crepe

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

49 responses to “Simplicity 8292: DIY Flutter Sleeve Fuschia Pink Crepe Sheath Dress”

  1. Miss Celie says :

    Manju, this is stunning! I really love the flutter sleeves and the color is out of this world. I think temp wise you’ll be alright for late September. Even today it’s a little brisk three hours south. But, I don’t expect that to last. LMK if you venture into Washington DC of Philadelphia for this trip!

  2. Meg says :

    Wow, this is gorgeous! Great fit and I looooove that color on you!

  3. Diane G @dreamcutsew says :

    This is so fab Manju! The fit is sublime and what neat innards too! I’m glad the moving of the empire seam worked well for you too. The sleeves look lovely and swooshy(is that a word?) and perfect for our Sleevefest challenge.

  4. KS Sews says :

    What an impeccable fit Manju! All those lines are just perfect. That fit through the bust – perfect. Fit over the butt – perfect. I love everything about it!

    Hope you have tons of fun when you visit!

  5. JenL says :

    Really nice! You should be fine in NJ in late September, barring unusual weather. It might even be cool in the evening, so consider bringing a wrap or light jacket just in case.

  6. Yaffle says :

    Hello! I used to live in the North East of England, and I’ve lived in Northern New Jersey for 8 years. Is it a wool crepe, or a poly/rayon one? Either way, I think you should be fine by Sept. Sept tends to be more like 20C every day, maybe a high of 25. Of course, you could get a scorcher. We’ve had a wet, cool summer actually, it’s a high of 22c today which is unheard of – it’s usually around 28c at this time of year. (it’s lovely!)
    I love this dress!

  7. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    that color is fantastic on you, absolutely beautiful. and the sleeves look great. Yes definitely wear it to the wedding! smashing.

  8. Helen says :

    Beautiful colour and the dress is fabulous on you! Thank you for the link to the sleeve tutorial and enjoy the wedding!

  9. Lynne says :

    Ooo! This is gorgeous, and the fit on the back is brilliant. Hope you get to wear it at the wedding!

  10. Amy says :

    Before I read the text I thought, “This would be perfect to wear to a wedding!” Usually New Jersey at the end of September is not too warm so this should be fine. As already mentioned, you might even need a wrap.

  11. Lori says :

    This is so pretty with the flutter sleeves and great fit. I love that color on you.

  12. maryfunt says :

    Stunning color on you! I love the design and the flutter sleeves are perfect. I’m in NY and you should definitely be good with this for end of September. I hope you have time for a side trip to NYC and more fabric shopping.

  13. PatsyPoo says :

    It looks perfect. The sleeves, the colour, the fit. Really nice. I hope you get to wear it for the wedding. One of my cousins got married in Brooklyn a few years ago. Beginning of September. I’ve never felt humidity like it – and I grew up in Brasil! 🤣 It was hard to manage without air con. Fingers crossed it’s a different story a few weeks later for you.

  14. Anonymous says :

    Wow! What a sensational color on you! It’s beautiful. Moving the waist seam down was a clever idea, and the flutter sleeves look great. This is perfect for a wedding.

  15. Mags says :

    Not the first to say it but this dress looks fab on you. That’s definitely a colour that suits you and love the fit of the dress

  16. Wynn says :

    The colour is great and the sleeves are so up-to-the-minute style-wise. (I wonder how the pattern would look with no waist seam? It might need 1/4″ out of the back waist length. Or does it need the waist seam for shaping?)
    This looks so beautiful for a wedding.

    • sewmanju says :

      I think it would be ok without a waist seam, if that’s your preference….but then you would maybe have to change the bodice back darts to princess seams? Maybe? Personally I prefer a waist seam.

  17. dkswife says :

    The dress is stunning. The color is great on you.

  18. Shauni S says :

    This is fantastic Manju! So flattering and you look absolutely amazing in that colour! 🙂 x

  19. Myra says :

    You always look so stunning in your creations and this is no exception! Lovely!

  20. corrineappleby says :

    Wow! This is stunning on you! I love the colour and those sleeves!

  21. Naomi says :

    This is so beautiful. I absolutely love the colour on you!

  22. wastedmyweekends says :

    This is so beautiful. The color is amazing and the fit is fantastic.

  23. Alex says :

    I love the sleeves! Congratulations on a very well made dress!

  24. Tomasa says :

    I live in New Jersey. Usually the end of September is very comfortable. It is not hot. In fact, we have been having uncharacteristically cool weather. I love this dress. It’s beautiful and will be perfect for the wedding. What a gorgeous color on you! Beautiful fit as well.

Leave a Reply

