Closet Case Patterns Ginger Skinny Jeans: DIY Dark Denim Skinny Fit Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Hello Friends,

I am absolutely thrilled to say that I have finished sewing my first ever pair of jeans: Closet Case Patterns Ginger Skinny Jeans. And I love them! If I had any doubts at the start about the validity of sewing my own jeans those doubts have been well and truly dispelled. IMO, these jeans are comfortable, flattering and the perfect fit  – for me.

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

You can read my first post about these jeans here.

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

What do I want to say about these jeans?

Well, I don’t know what weight or percentage lycra my denim has in it. I would say, at a guess, it is a medium weight denim with not very much lycra in it (less than or equal to 2%)?

In the end I did spend quite a bit of time trying to perfect the fit on these jeans (in addition to making a muslin – see the first post). As the pattern suggests, I basted the jeans together and tried them on. They were too loose below the knees so I pinned out the excess from both the inner and outer seams, unpicked and cut the legs narrower. I then re-basted, tried on again, and decided they were a tad too small (!) around the ankle. Sigh. So I sewed them in that area with a 0.5 inch seam allowance and they are a perfect fit.

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

You can read the full details on all pattern modifications below.

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

The eagle eyed among you would have noticed I decided to do my bar tacks and button hole in contrasting red thread. I only used one machine to sew these jeans up (and my overlocker to finish seams – I decided against the flat felled seams in the end). So I was dealing with swapping between 3 different thread colours. But it personally didn’t bother me doing so. I also didn’t have any problems installing my rivets or button – but then I don’t think my rivets or button are the real deal heavy duty metal type. They are what I could source locally to me. Some detail shots:

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans Back Pocket Detail

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans Back Pocket Detail

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans Pocket Stay and Bound Fly Extension

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans Fly Topstitching

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans Fly Topstitching

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans Coin Pocket and Rivet Detail

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans Coin Pocket and Rivet Detail

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Classic 5-pocket jeans are given a fresh look with the Ginger Jeans sewing pattern. With a modern and flattering cut, this is the daily staple you’ll reach for again and again. View A features a comfortable low rise with narrow stovepipe legs. View B is sexy and high-waisted with skinny legs.  Designed for stretch denim, Ginger Jeans will hug you in all the right places.

Engineered to be as flattering as possible, Ginger Jeans feature subtly shaped back pockets to highlight the curve of the bum, slimming side seams and a higher back rise to prevent peekabooty.

I made view B, the high-waisted view with skinny legs.
Pattern Sizing:
2 – 18.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are good but the sewalong is the bomb! These are the first pair of jeans I have ever made and they make the process painless.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
For me these jeans are the perfect modern skinny jean. There is nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
A dark wash denim of unknown weight or lycra percentage. Sorry 🙂 At a guess I would say these are a medium weight denim with less than or equal to 2% lycra?
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
To start with, I cut a size 16 at the waist and a 18 at the hips and thighs, tapering back down to a size 16 below the knees. I ended up keeping the ankle at a size 16, but removed a further 1 inch in total from each leg from the calf up to the knee. I removed the 1 inch from both inside and outside seams.

I ended up pinching out 2 inches in total from the waistband and making it more curved to account for my proportionally smaller waist and sway back. The waist is a perfect fit. No gaping. Amazing!

I initially shortened the length by 2 inches but ended up adding in 1 inch below the knee, because I like my skinny legs to be slightly gathered around the lower calf.

I added the pocket stays – they make such a difference to the tummy area! I cut my stays from a soft cotton shirting.I understitched the pocket linings.

I moved the back pockets over towards the centre back seam by 1 inch.

I ended up scooping the front and back crotch out by 0.25 inch.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes. I most definitely would. It’s just a question of finding the right denim. Yes, I very much recommend.
Conclusion:

I have avoided wearing proper jeans for around 3 years because of problems with fit. These jeans address all the previous problems I faced: no gaping waistband, no bulging tummy, no digging/ cutting in or riding up and just the right amount of fit on the calves. If you have the confidence to try this pattern you won’t regret it. It’s the perfect first-timers pattern.

I am entering these jeans into The Jeans Contest on Sewing Pattern Review, so head over if you want to see all the amazing entries.

Have a great week everyone, and happy mothers day (as it is here in the UK). See you soon!

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

Closet Case Ginger Skinny Jeans

63 thoughts on “Closet Case Patterns Ginger Skinny Jeans: DIY Dark Denim Skinny Fit Jeans

  1. Fan-freakin-tastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have a very similar body type and have been holding onto my Ginger pattern. I love seeing what a great fit you’ve achieved. LOVE!!

  2. I loVe them! The red bar tacks are inspired- I just finished making a pair, but will definitely keep that smile in mind for my next pair!

  3. 3 years of not wearing jeans so you will just have to make more of those jeans to make up for lost time. The fit is perfect!! They look like very expensive jeans. I hope you make more soon!

  4. These look fab Manju. I love the red bar tacks and the top stitching on the back pockets. I haven’t tried this pattern myself yet, I made some Jamie jeans last summer and am now torn between another pair of them and trying this pattern.

  5. Those look so ready-to-wear – and I mean that as a compliment! perfect jeans that look like you paid a lot of money for in a swanky shop. love that choice of dark denim. I have no intention of making jeans but I can admire those that do 🙂

  6. I absolutely love how fearless you are when it comes to sewing. You’ll take on any project & look at these outstanding results. Love the red contrast bar tacks….quite genius. xx

  7. Everything about your jeans is top notch.
    The stitching. The seam lines. The fit. You look happy in them too.
    While having to swap threads on your machine would have taken time, the effect make these a really great pair of jeans!

  8. Pingback: Curvy Sewn: Your Creations for April

  9. Pingback: Winners! Your Favorite Curvy Patterns of 2015 (Part 1: Individual Patterns)

  10. Pingback: Same Pattern, Different Bodies: Ginger Jeans (+ a Giveaway!)

  11. Pingback: Simplicity 8295 and Closet Case Patterns Ginger Skinny Jeans: DIY Linen Lace Up Eyelet Tunic and Skinny Jeans | sewmanju

  12. Pingback: Closet Case Ginger Jeans and Jalie Eleonore Leggings: DIY Dark Denim Skinny Jeans and Faux Leather Leggings – sewmanju

Leave a comment