Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987: DIY Guipure Lace, Chiffon Georgette, Embellished Ball Prom Dress

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

Hello Dear Friends,

Last night I attended the PTA ball at my daughter’s school. The dress code was black tie and I wanted to make something special to wear for the occassion. What do you think?

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

The bodice of this dress uses Vogue 8998, which I made previously here. The skirt is made using the skirt portion from McCalls 6987: the high-low hem view.

All the materials were purchased from eBay. There was absolutely no chance of me finding anything appropriate/ suitable fabric wise anywhere local to me so I ordered everything online.

I started with the guipure lace first, which I ordered 1 metre of, sight unseen. I was fairly confident with this seller and the photographs etc that I wasn’t going to be disappointed, and I wasn’t. This lace is stunning, and is also almost identical to the lace used in this Eliza J dress currently on sale for £150. Just saying. It is a gorgeous coral/ watermelon colour. Beautiful.

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress - close up of guipure lace

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress – close up of guipure lace

I then ordered samples of the lining fabrics and the crinkled georgette chiffon and made sure I was happy with them before ordering. The linings and the chiffon georgette are polyester. I can live with that.

The bodice is lined with a polyester lining and the skirt is lined with a soft polyester mix jersey fabric. The dress is fully lined (bar the sleeves which I cut to take advantage of the scalloped edges) and an invisible zip inserted. All the seams of the chiffon skirt were french seamed. I used my serger to finish edges inside where necessary. I underlined the bodice and midriff section (with silk organza) – you can read about that in the review below, and I made a rolled hem for the chiffon on my serger. I left the jersey lining unhemmed.

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress - lining

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress – lining

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress - rolled hem close up

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress – rolled hem close up

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

I have to tell you about the belt, which I felt was the perfect finishing touch to the dress, and just gave the outfit that little bit more pizazz. The belt is the Paloma Silver Crystal Rhinestone Belt made by a lovely lady called Rachel who was amazing, and after I sent her samples of my fabrics, colour matched the grosgrain ribbon for the belt. I have lightly tacked the diamante part to the midriff of the dress so that I can remove it for cleaning purposes. You can see all of Rachel’s items in her eBay shop here: lots of lovely sparkly things! If you are considering making a special occasion dress or adding something to a RTW dress I highly recommend checking her shop out and she also does custom orders for bespoke designs. I do have to say that Rachel was kind enough to offer the belt to me on a complimentary basis in exchange for me providing a review of the item on my blog.

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress - close up of diamante belt detail

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress – close up of diamante belt detail

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Lined dress has close-fitting, interfaced bodice with princess seams, inset band, skirt variations (horse hair finish on hemline) and back zipper. A: cap sleeves. A, B and C: skirt seam detail. D: collar. D, E and F: gathered skirt with princess seams, and side pockets. F: band and skirt overlays. Separate pattern pieces are included for cup sizes A, B, C, D.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

The dress I made is an amalgamation of Vogue 8998 for the bodice and McCalls 6987 for the skirt. I have made, and reviewed, Vogue 8998 previously.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I didn’t really use them, but from before, yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I have already written why I love this pattern: this second version makes me love it more. For me the bodice and midriff pattern is just great. Nothing to dislike.

Fabric Used:

A gorgeous coral coloured guipure lace for the bodice and a polyester crinkled chiffon georgette for the skirt. I used a polyester lining for the bodice and a polyester mix jersey for the skirt lining. The bodice and midriff sections were underlined with silk organza.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

The dress I made is an amalgamation of Vogue 8998 for the bodice and McCalls 6987 for the skirt.

  • I pinched out 0.25 inches either side of the front neckline (removing a total of 0.5 inches) to stop the straps from sliding off my shoulders.
  • I shortened the back bodice by 1 inch, tapering to nothing at the sides
  • I raised the front armhole curve by approx. 0.5 inch
  • I did not line the sleeves but cut them to take advantage of the scalloped edges
  • I used an invisible zip. Both layers of the skirt hang free below the zip
  • The bodice is underlined with a layer of the chiffon georgette and a layer of silk organza
  • The midriff is underlined with a layer of lining and a layer of silk organza
  • I added a centre back seam to the skirt piece
  • I added 5 inches to the length of the outer skirt and about 3 inches (?) to the length of the lining

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I don’t know if I would sew this exact same look again but I would not discount using the bodice again. Yes I recommend.

Conclusion:

I felt suitably attired for the ball and it was a great night of enjoying time with friends and dancing. My head felt a bit sore this morning but it was worth it. Have a great week ahead everyone!

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987 DIY Ball Dress

84 thoughts on “Vogue 8998 + McCalls 6987: DIY Guipure Lace, Chiffon Georgette, Embellished Ball Prom Dress

  1. Wit-woo! I bet you were the best dressed there, and all the other ladies would be hoping no one else had their frock on but you had no worries on that count! Truly stunning, and the belt really finished the outfit off. Love the bag and shoes too! Stunning! 😃

  2. i am going to pin this dress. I was looking for a way to use that lace but did not want a full lace dress, this way works for me.

  3. Another long time lurker, but I have to say the dress is lovely and you look great in it.

    I find it interesting that you purchase fabric on EBAY, that would never have occurred to me. Do you have any sellers that you recommend?

    • Thanks Stella. I don’t know about recommending particular sellers but I have no hesitation about purchasing fabric from eBay…you do have to know what you are looking for…maybe I will write a blog post on it sometime!

  4. Wow stunning colour and equally stunning shape so flattering .. you’ve given me some great ideas for a wedding I have in august.. x

  5. This is stunning Manju, the colour looks beautiful on you. Isn’t it wonderful to be able to make your own clothes so you can be certain you’re not going to turn up to an event like this and see someone else in the same thing.

  6. Absolutely beautiful! It must have taken ages to select and gather all the different fabrics together so they matched together so perfectly.
    Debbie B

  7. Wow, you truly are a vision of loveliness Manju! Stunning creation…just stunning! Perfect dress for a formal occasion! Glad to hear it was comfortable to wear.:)

  8. Lovely! The coral pink is so pretty, and I really envy your ability to carry off those bright colours so beautifully.

  9. You look stunning! The dress looks awesome on you and the color is definitely “your” color. What a wonderful job you did on choosing the fabric and pattern for your lovely creation, and it’s sewn beautifully. You must have felt like a million dollars at that event!

  10. Oh my, this certainly has the “Wow” factor! What a beautiful dress and I love the colour. You must have had a fantastic time and I am sure you felt as comfortable as you looked. Just beautiful.

  11. You look like a goddess in this dress!! Wowza! I bet no one believed that you made this dress, it looks like an expensive custom made dress. I guess technically it is custom made, but I am sure you know what I mean.

  12. This is really an awesome dress. Very well done! It looks so glamorous, unique and well made. I wish one day I’ll have the patience to make such a fabulous and complicated piece!

Leave a comment