Love Sewing Magazine Bexley Smock Top: DIY Linen High Low Hem Top

DSC_2947

Love Sewing Magazine Bexley Smock Top by In The Folds

Hi Friends,

Being perfectly honest with you I don’t generally buy sewing magazines. I am too lazy to trace patterns off and I prefer looking up techniques on line. But I saw a snap of this pattern, The Bexley smock top, on Instagram a few weeks back and I liked the look of it enough to go out and buy the magazine, trace it off, and sew it up.

The pattern can be found in issue 26 of Love Sewing magazine. I believe the pattern itself was created by In the Folds, but, at the moment, the pattern is licensed exclusively to Love Sewing Magazine, so the only way you can get it is through them.

DSC_2954

Love Sewing Magazine Bexley Smock Top by In The Folds

The fabric I used is a checked linen that I bought in India last year. For a bit of added interest I cut the yokes on the bias. In terms of changes I ended up lengthening the top (front and back) by 3.5 inches and slightly widening at the hips. Lengthen/ shorten lines are included, helpfully, on the pattern. It would have been nice to have had a line drawing or at least a shot of the back view but, as this was essentially a free pattern, I won’t complain too much 🙂

DSC_2958

Love Sewing Magazine Bexley Smock Top by In The Folds

I also shortened the sleeves by 1 inch and took 5/8ths inch for the hem. The only thing to watch out for is that the neckline binding piece as provided is about half the length it is supposed to. Don’t forget to stay stitch.

DSC_2963

Love Sewing Magazine Bexley Smock Top by In The Folds

Of course my husband declared this had a maternity look to it (pft!) but I have already worn this top and it’s light and breezy and perfect for wearing casually on hot sticky days.

So that’s a quick review of sorts. I find I can never have enough tops in my wardrobe! I am on a mission to add to my summer collection at present.

Until soon,

 

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “Love Sewing Magazine Bexley Smock Top: DIY Linen High Low Hem Top

  1. This shirt is right up my ally! Love it! Your husband doesn’t understand how summer heat stickiness, affects women, lol.

    This weekend, I just so happened to pick up McCalls 5640 which is a shift dress/shirt. It’s Some what similar. It’s yolk is much smaller. I’m no pattern drafter but, I wonder if I can switch it up like yours. I like yours much better! I NEED cooooool and comfortable. I’m in Arizona. It was 104° yesterday.

  2. Some of those free magazine patterns can be fantastic, especially if you make them your own.
    that fabric is so pretty, I was hoping you were going to say where you got it….I was hoping off the Internet. …o well!

    • Thanks Priya. Sorry you will have to travel over to India to buy some! Or what about checking some place like merchant and mills? They sell some nice cottons and linens.

  3. My Husband also thinks that anything not waisthugging looks like maternity. Charming caveman. If it were up to them we would all be wearing fit and flare all the time. If I get that comment, I say: “Good, that is the look I was going for.” And I never got a seat on the bus with my empire waist dress, so…

  4. Such a lovely top! The yoke looks great. I do buy sewing magazines but am usually too lazy to trace off patterns – but I might make an exception after seeing your make 😊

  5. This looks so good, I love your fabric choice! I really fancied making this pattern up when I got my magazine but can’t think of any suitable fabrics in my stash and can’t really justify any new fabric when I’ve got so much. I’ll definitely make it one day though and must remember to check back here for your review, and increase the neckband length.

  6. I seen your photo in this top in Instagram a couple of day before and fell in love immediately. I love this style! I downloaded a pattern from the Love Sewing Magazine (it is free) but there is no sizes. Could you possibly help me to solve what do 1, 2, 3, 4 mean?
    Thank you in advance!

    • Hi 1 – 4 are the sizes with 1 being the smallest size (bust 81cm) and 4 being the largest size (bust 116cm). 2 is 91cm and 3 is 101cm. Don’t know if you have downloaded the instructions but the sizes are printed in there.

      • Thank you! I also downloaded the pattern on internet and indeed you only have 1-2-3-4 written on it. When you say bust… does it mean you measure around your bust or does it means straith line from neck to hips? Thanks a lot for your help!! (Going to try to make a dress of for a family event next week 😊)

  7. I’m cutting out my pattern today. I have high hopes for this pattern. I really need a smock top pattern and have tried two commercial patterns and the ryan top by whitney deal. The ryan top was a terrible fit and could not be altered (by me anyway). Fingers crossed!

  8. Pingback: Simplicity 8134 and In the Folds Ruffle Sleeve Top: DIY Paprika Rust* Linen Wrap Tie Front Cropped Pants and Polka Dot Top – sewmanju

Leave a comment