Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack: DIY Peasant Boho Tassel Top

DSC_3000

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack to Peasant/ Boho Tassel Top

Hello Friends,

Last summer I made Pauline Alice’s Eliana dress. It’s a very easy to wear dress, and the elasticated waist gives some definition in that area as well as being comfortable. But, I was not entirely happy with the fit. It basically needed an FBA.

Anyway, flicking through the Boden catalogue I came across a top that I thought I could recreate fairly easily using the Eliana dress as a starting point. Here’s my inspiration picture, as posted on my instagram feed.

DURW4358

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack to Peasant/ Boho Tassel Top – Inspiration picture

I happened to have a border print viscose in my stash which I thought could work. It meant, like my Vlisco Simplicity 8014 shirt dress, cutting the fabric on the cross grain to take full advantage of the border print. A blog reader (hi, Curls n Skirls, Del) asked about cutting fabric on the cross grain. I would say read this article in Threads which encourages you to look at your fabric and consider cutting on the cross grain to add interest to your garments. What I wanted to say was, when I do chose to cut fabric on the cross grain, I will draw in a new grain line at 90 degrees to the original grain line and use my new grain line to maintain some level of consistency in my cutting out. I know it’s hard to see, but the vertical black biro arrow line below is the new grain line I drew in on one of the Simplicity pattern pieces.

DSC_3015

Cutting fabric on the cross grain: drawing in a new grain line at 90 degrees to the original grain line.

Back to my blouse – the colours in real life are more vibrant than they’ve come out in these pictures. I have already worn this blouse a couple of times since I finished sewing it and it’s cool and comfortable.

DSC_2987

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack to Peasant/ Boho Tassel Top

DSC_2996

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack to Peasant/ Boho Tassel Top

Like the tassel detail? I think it’s a fun detail that takes this top up a notch and totally easy to make following this tutorial. I used one skein of Perle embroidery cotton.

IMG_2985

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack to Peasant/ Boho Tassel Top – Tassel Detail

Here’s the modifications I made to the pattern:

  • Did 1 inch FBA (which introduced a side seam bust dart. In all honesty the dart is probably a little too low and I have moved it up for future use, but it doesn’t affect the fit of this loose blouse).
  • Added 6.5 inches to the length of the dress bodice and shaped the top outwards to accomodate my hips (note to self – only took 3/8ths inch seam allowance at hips).
  • Took a 1 inch tuck out of the bodice back to account for my sway back and added the removed length back to the bottom hem.
  • Shortened the sleeves by 6 inches.
  • Used 1.25 inches for hems.
  • Used 0.25 inch elastic to finish the sleeves.

So that’s a quick and easy blouse which I will enjoy wearing in the warmer months (or could be days…however long this current warm weather spell lasts!)

How is your summer sewing going?

DSC_3003

Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack to Peasant/ Boho Tassel Top

 

24 thoughts on “Pauline Alice Eliana Dress Hack: DIY Peasant Boho Tassel Top

  1. Manju ~ This top is adorable and the tassel is its crowning glory!I recently cut a maxi on the crossgrain to take advantage of the border and all worked out well. Great tip to re-draw the grainline 🙂

  2. Lovely colorful, carefree top for your ‘summer’. I need to make some of these for the Brisbane, Australia weather as they would be worn all year round:) Lovely to visit these northern summer climate from winter in the south – Victoria- to see our beautiful grandchildren. Onto the sewing 🙂

  3. i love this! so pretty. I am always in search of a great border print fabric. You found a winner.

  4. It’s lovely, all floaty and summery. I’m going to head over and pin the tassel tutorial, I honestly thought you must’ve bought them, they’re perfect😀

    • Thanks Ali. Well perfect to you: if I was being perfect I would have counted how many times I wrapped the thread round the card for each tassel but the one thing I am not is a perfectionist! Finished is better than perfect!

  5. Pingback: Curvy Sewn: Your Creations for May

  6. Pingback: Pauline Alice Eliana Top and Butterick 6331: DIY Gauze Peasant Style Top and White Denim Boyfriend Style Jeans: Stylish Fabric | sewmanju

  7. Pingback: Pauline Alice Eliana Top and Butterick 6331: DIY Gauze Peasant Style Top and White Denim Boyfriend Style Jeans: Stylish Fabric | shopitstyleitsew

  8. Pingback: OOP Vogue 8836 and Pauline Alice Eliana Dress: DIY Wide Leg Ivory Pants with Polka Dot Gathered Neck Blouse – sewmanju

Leave a comment