Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress: DIY Blue Animal Print Shirt Dress

Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress

Hey Everyone,

Inspite of using the Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress to make tops three times (see here, here and here), I’ve never actually made the dress version. I finally bit the bullet and made it as intended (albeit with the addition of long cuffed sleeves) using some viscose crepe purchased from eBay. Conclusion: love it, and it’s already been worn several times.

Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress
Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress
Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress

This is such an easy to wear dress and I love the adjustable waist. I definitely want to make another version, maybe this time with short sleeves.

Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress
Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress

Pattern Adjustments

  • This is a size 18 grading out at the waist/ hips
  • I did a 1 inch FBA
  • I had previously done a 1 inch full bicep adjustment
  • I added a 1 inch pleat to the back (had also done that on a previous version)
  • I removed 7 inches from the length
  • I made the height of the side vents 10 inches
  • I added long sleeves with vents and cuffs
  • I took 2 inches to hem.

Like I say, love this pattern, especially in this drapey viscose crepe (one of my favourite fabrics to sew and wear). And the blue animal print feels fresh and fun.

Back soon!

Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress

8 thoughts on “Named Clothing Reeta Shirt Dress: DIY Blue Animal Print Shirt Dress

Leave a comment