Top 5 of 2013

Top 5 of 2013 logo

Happy new year, Readers. Did you all  have fun celebrating new year? We stayed at home and I cooked a meal and my mum, brother and sister joined us. It was a cosy way to welcome the new year amidst this perpetual miserable weather we have been having.

Lots of fellow bloggers have been joining in with Gillian’s Top 5 list, and before it’s too late, here is mine.

First some stats.

In 2013, my first full year of blogging, I made a total of 42 garments (and a couple of unblogged wadders):

  • 2 shirts and a body warmer for Philip
  • 3 dresses and a nativity outfit for Kezia (it felt like much more?!)
  • 2 skirts
  • 6 tops
  • A pair of pyjamas
  • 3 coats and a jacket
  • 22 dresses

Wow, when I see it written down like that I am quite amazed.

Top 5 6 hits of 2013 (selected only from items made for myself):

I couldn’t quite restrict it to 5 so it’s 6, actually….

Papercut patterns Saiph Tunic

Papercut patterns Saiph Tunic

Simplicity 2823 floral satin pyjamas

Simplicity 2823 floral satin pyjamas

Sewaholic Minoru Jacket

Sewaholic Minoru Jacket

Butterick 5870

Butterick 5870

Vogue 8904 LBD

Vogue 8904 LBD

Simplicity 1716

Simplicity 1716

It’s interesting that 4 of the 6 items are made from knit fabrics….before I started to sew clothes for myself I would have avoided knit fabrics like the plague as I felt they just weren’t flattering on me. My mother’s day gift this year was a serger and it has opened up a whole new sewing wardrobe for me!

Top 5 misses of 2013:

New Look 6000 Polka Dot Frock Fest!

New Look 6000 Polka Dot Frock Fest!

This just isn’t me…the print and the slightly retro look…worn once, maybe twice I think.

Vogue 8626

Vogue 8626

This coat has already been given away to charity. I didn’t love the colour to start with and the fit wasn’t that great either.

Kelly skirt with Simplicity 2365 top

Kelly skirt with Simplicity 2365 top

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Vogue 8787 floral version

Vogue 8787 floral version

So the interesting thing about these last 3 garments is that they all had slight fit issues but more than that, I think it is the brightness of the colours which is off putting to me. I definitely want to revisit the Kelly skirt and the Moss mini and get them right, so that is something I will look to do this year. But I think this year has made me realise that actually, whilst I do love some colours (like jewel colours), I actually wear basic/ neutral colours more on a day to day basis and am happier introducing colour into my outfits with accessories.

I don’t want to restrict myself by making resolutions. I just want to continue to enjoy my sewing, improve my technical and fitting skills and tailor a jacket/ coat (I was totally inspired by Peter’s pea coat series!)

I do also want to say thank you Readers for following along, leaving comments, hosting competitions and giveaways (I won 2 prizes in 2013!), being inspirational, giving advice, and making what can sometimes feel like a solitary hobby more sociable and interactive.

Wishing you all every happiness, peace, health and prosperity for 2014!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Top 5 of 2013

  1. That Vogue striped dress is one of the best versions ever. And I really like the bright skirts which you put in the bottom 5. You look great in brights so I hope you rethink that. And what an output. Amazing !
    As for your comment re: tailoring. Stay tuned as per commenters’ requests I am going to do a tailored jacket from A to Z. Fitting sewing and all the details.
    I am looking forward to seeing your creations in 2014. Happy New Year, Beth

  2. Happy New Year! I agree with Beth about brights looking great on you but I also understand that if you don’t like something, you don’t like it. It’s OK to move on … there are so many patterns and fabrics out there and I’m looking forward to what you make next. Love your blog … it’s definitely one of my favs, since I adore everything you make. You’re really bad for my pattern budget. lol

    • Thank you so much debbie and thank you for the tidbits of wisdom you’ve passed on to me. Brights…hmmm…well, ok, I might not rule them out forever…maybe it’s how I wear them? Happy new year!

  3. happy NY to you…i was disappointed to see your polka dot NL6000 on your misses list. i absolutely adore it & think it oooks fab on you 🙂 cant wait to see what you make in 2014 x

    • Thank you Angelique. You know I think it’s perhaps the cuffs that bother me about the dress and also the dots in combination with this particular pattern. I just don’t quite feel myself in it. I think the pattern itself (and polka dots) are fine separately… Happy new year.

  4. What a shame you didn’t feel happy with the polka dot dress because, I promise you, you look fabulous in it!
    I also love the Vogue LBD, so very classy.
    You’ve sewn some beautiful things this year, here’s to many more in 2014!

  5. Thanks for sharing! I enjoy reading your blog and gets loads of inspiration from you as we are similar shape/size. I also love brights and jewel tones but find they look better on me as tops or solid dresses.

  6. To be honest, all your misses look really beautiful. You inspired me alot last year with your pattern choices, and though I did not really make many of the things I saw on your blog, I filed them in my 2014 list. Happy New Year.

  7. You have had a very productive sewing year and I have enjoyed following your blog. Shame you are not happy wearing the polka dot dress. I think it’s my favourite, but you have to feel right about it. Looking forward to seeing what you make in 2014. All the best.

  8. What a wonderful year you have had. I really love your version of Butterick 5870 – it is just lovely and I may have to give it a go (even though I am trying not to buy more patterns)
    All the best for a productive 2014!

  9. Pingback: New Look 6000: DIY Shift Dress or The “Readers You Were Right” Dress…. | sewmanju

Leave a comment