McCalls 6604: DIY Feather Print Chiffon Top with Pleated Neckline

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

Hello Friends,

It was totally not the weather today to be parading around outside in a chiffon top, but the things we do for our blog, hey? This is my version of view D from McCalls 6604, and I love the finished product.

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

The fabric is a polyester chiffon. I didn’t use any special techniques to stabilise it when cutting. I just laid it out on my cutting table, pinned well and weighted it down before cutting out. The only part I cut with my rotary cutter was the neck band, which is cut on the bias. But some useful things tips to aid with sewing chiffon would be:

  • cut notches outwards
  • drop your stitch length (I sewed at 1.6 setting)
  • use a new needle of the right weight/ size (I used a size 70 Schmetz needle)

I actually loved sewing this top and I don’t know why I don’t sew more tops as I badly need them. That will change in the next few weeks!

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

So, I am quite happy with the fit (I did do some modifications – see below), and it is definitely not tight. But I do think there are some slight drag lines over the bust near the neck line, so if I made this up again then maybe I should do a FBA? Suggestions?

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

Confession time: I hate wearing camisoles. So, I lined the main body part of this top with a pongee lining I had in my stash. I am so pleased I did this as it just makes wearing this top so easy. I overlocked all the seams using a three thread overlock. This is a polyester top – let’s not get precious about things! The only thing perhaps I should have done differently was underline the pleats and left the rest of the body as a free hanging lining – does that make sense? But it’s a minor quibble.

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline - inside lining view

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline – inside lining view

The sleeves are a little voluminous but not overly so:

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline - sleeves

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline – sleeves

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:
Fitted, pullover tops have hem variations and narrow hems. A: armhole bands. B: collar, and sleeves rolled-up (wrong side shows) with button tab. A and B: bias front and forward shoulder seams. D: sleeves gathered into cuffs. C and D: bias neck binding and front pleats.

I made view D.
Pattern Sizing:
6 – 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. although I lengthened mine.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the finished top. So easy to wear. Nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
Polyester chiffon.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I lengthened the top by about 4.5 inches, and widened slightly at the hips. I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment and a 1.5 inch full arm adjustment. I also ended up narrowing the cuffs by just over 1 inch. I stitched in the ditch to secure the neckline binding, rather than the hand sewing the instructions suggest. I also lined the main body of the top using a pongee lining. I sewed a narrow baby hem for the chiffon.

This top is not tight and is very comfortable to wear but there are some slight drag lines near the bust/ neckline so I don’t know if I need to do a very slight FBA next time round.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I might sew this again and I do recommend.
Conclusion

I love the wearability of this top and I enjoyed making it.

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

McCalls 6604: feather print chiffon top with pleated neckline

I wore this top out today for a valentines lunch date with Philip and we had a lovely time. What ever you do this weekend, hope you enjoy it and spend it with loved ones 🙂

IMG_0016

28 thoughts on “McCalls 6604: DIY Feather Print Chiffon Top with Pleated Neckline

  1. Your top is so pretty I can hardly believe it came from that pattern! I love the idea of lining the body the way you did – I hate to wear camisoles, too — and that is a great solution.

  2. This is beautiful. I love the print on the fabric, and the shape of the sleeves and cuffs. And extra bonus blogging points for taking photos of a chiffon blouse outside in the winter!

  3. You look as cold as I felt when I was photographing my trousers the other day. Definitely not weather for outdoor outfit photography at the moment! This top looks really nice. The lined bodice is a great idea – I hate wearing camisoles too.

Leave a comment