McCalls 6991: DIY Draped Wrap Cross Over Printed Top

DSC_7901

McCalls 6991 Draped Wrap Cross Over Printed Top

Hello Dear Friends,

Another cold, windy, blustery day and another thin top to photograph 🙂 Hey, I am gearing up for spring!

This is McCalls 6991. If you like this pattern or have it already in your stash, get it out and sew it up soon! These mock wrap cross over front tops are in the shops right now, but I don’t honestly know how long this silhouette will be around. For this particular view (View B) there are 4 pattern pieces to cut. The whole of the front is cut from a single bias piece, with the left cross over front being formed from effectively twisting the fabric round on itself. So you do need a fabric which doesn’t really have a noticeable wrong side.

McCalls 6991

McCalls 6991 Draped Cross Over Printed Top

This is not my first time sewing this pattern. Some of  you may remember the saga of my beautiful washed silk. Yep, not done anything with that top (not worn it either). Any way, that was a different view. I can tell you this top feels extremely comfortable and secure: I have got a RTW top similar to this (see here) but I am always checking that top to make sure I am not exposing myself! No fear of that with this top, the cross over part on the underside feels very secure and the top is fastened with a lightweight concealed button.

McCalls 6991 Draped Cross Over Printed Top

McCalls 6991 Draped Cross Over Printed Top

I was concerned it would be too short at the front. I would possibly prefer for it to be ever so slightly longer at the front but it’s fine. If I was making this top again I would also add the sleeve tabs as I prefer this top with the sleeves rolled up. My fabric is a lightweight polyester. I used a microtex needle to sew it.

McCalls 6991 Draped Cross Over Printed Top

McCalls 6991 Draped Cross Over Printed Top

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:
Bias tops. A and B: very loose-fitting, pullover, mock wrap, self-lined yoke back, left front gathered to right side forming drape, narrow hem and conceal button closing. B: pocket, shaped hemline, wrong side shows on back hemline. C: button tab on rolled sleeves. D: collar. C and D: wrap, semi-fitted, front gathered into yoke, button/loop closing. B, C and D: long sleeves. Note: no provisions provided for above and below waist adjustments.

I made view B.
Pattern Sizing:
8 – 24
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes – although I thought the way to finish the neckline/ yoke was tricky to get right
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the finished garment – it is very much on trend right now. The key to getting this top right is fabric selection. You need something with drape and two good sides. This pattern runs large – check the finished garment measurements printed on the pattern. I sized down by one size and it fits perfectly for me. Also, beware: if you are making the sleeveless version the armholes seem very low. The one thing I didn’t love was the way the instructions told you to finish the inside yoke seams (lots of handsewing). I did all of it on the machine, but had to topstitch the upper seams. Next time I am going to see if I can machine it all without topstitching.
Fabric Used:
Polyester charmeuse.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1 inch sway back and shortened sleeves by 3 inches (probably I would prefer them slightly longer). If making again I would add sleeve tabs.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might….yes I recommend.
Conclusion:

This is a very on trend very well drafted pattern to have in your collection. Sew it up soon and enjoy wearing it.

Has everyone been watching The Great British Sewing Bee (Series 3)? My fellow White Tree Fabric blogger, Amanda, did a great job last night (and previous episodes). I won’t reveal how she got on, but well done Amanda.

Have a great weekend all!

McCalls 6991 Draped Cross Over Printed Top

McCalls 6991 Draped Cross Over Printed Top

23 thoughts on “McCalls 6991: DIY Draped Wrap Cross Over Printed Top

  1. Gee, this looks really nice on you – pretty fabric pattern, pretty style, pretty you! Thanks for the info about the single piece needed for the crossover.

  2. I’ve got a similar pattern to this (can’t remember which one, and too lazy to look!) but it uses a double layer of fabric for the front. Yours looks really nice, love that fabric.

    • Thanks Sam. I think there is a simplicity pattern which looks very similar but doesn’t have the top cut from a single layer. I considered buying that but then I told myself to stop being a wimp and just use this pattern (which I had in my stash). The fabric was bought 2 christmases ago when we were in Edinburgh.

  3. Pingback: Season of Separates: Tops Challenge Finale

  4. Pingback: McCalls 6291, McCalls 6991 and Butterick 5926: Printed Pants, Crossover Wrap Top and Ponte Blazer | sewmanju

  5. Pingback: OOP McCalls 6991: DIY Sage Green Wrap Tie Blouse – sewmanju

Leave a comment