Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress

DSC_1309

Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress

Hi Friends,

As has become something of a tradition now, I made a dress for my birthday, which I celebrated yesterday with Philip and Kezia. We went to the City of York, toured a Viking museum, did some shopping, and stayed in a lovely country house hotel with good food and a swim this morning.

DSC_1291

Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress

It’s becoming increasingly difficult to photograph outdoors (with the weather and light being so poor) so these shots were taken inside our suite at the hotel. The pattern is Butterick 5982, and you can see my first version of this dress here. Quite a different effect, no? Just down to using a completely different fabric. This fabric, by the way, was purchased local to me, and is a lovely rich rayon/ poly jacquard. I pre-washed the fabric so it is easy to care for. It hardly creases, is warm but surprisingly lightweight and I think this dress will definitely see me through the upcoming festive season.

DSC_1302

Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress

You can read my original review on this pattern here. That review also details any changes I made to the pattern. But here are some brief notes specifically relating to this version:

  • This is view A with the boat neck bodice
  • I added 1 inch to the length of the back skirt, tapering to nothing at the sides, to account for shortening the back bodice by 1 inch
  • I finished the edges of the waist seam and the skirt using a 3 thread overlock finish
  • The dress is fully lined (polyester? acetate? lining). I cut the skirt lining 2 inches shorter than the dress skirt
DSC_1334

Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress Lining

  • I applied fusible interfacing to the zipper opening and used an invisible zip. This is probably my best invisible zip insertion ever.
  • I decided last minute to omit the sleeves from this version so I used the pattern pieces to draft 2 inch wide facings to finish the armholes. I took  1/4 inch to neaten the edges and used 3/8 inch only to sew the facings to the armhole. The facings are catch stitched by hand into place
DSC_1333

Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress – armhole facing

  • I did change the order of construction quite a bit. I sewed the bodice and bodice sides first. Then I attached the skirt. I then inserted the invisible zip. Then I sewed the bodice lining and attached the lining to the dress bodice at the neck and understitched. I then attached the skirt lining, machined the lining to the zipper tape, applied the armhole facing and finally sewed the hem by hand.

I really love my birthday dress! I felt comfortable but special in it and I definitely think I need an excuse to wear it again.

DSC_1295

Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress

Here’s one of my favourite pictures of the night:

12219556_10153773262928055_1292344608320620165_n

Me and My Girl

Until soon….

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

37 responses to “Butterick 5982: DIY Fit and Flare Party Dress”

  1. Tessa says :

    You did such a great job. Fit you perfectly. I think I will have to try this one.

  2. Fiona says :

    Your dress is gorgeous but the belle of the ball is definitely your little girl!
    Your fitting issues are almost the opposite to mine, I’m tall with no waist and would look hideous in the lovely dresses that you make. You have introduced me to a completely different range of fitting issues which I find fascinating.
    Thank you for being so frank and honest in your blogs.

  3. Emily says :

    Beautiful! A lovely job of sewing!

  4. Rachel says :

    What a great dress, this looks amazing on you. It looks like you had a fab birthday.

  5. Tomasa says :

    It looks like you had a wonderful birthday! Happy belated birthday and many more. Your dress is beautiful and you look so chic and elegant in it. Your little girl is the cutest!

  6. lm2hyd says :

    Wow, this is beautiful. The fabric is absolutely stunning. Gorgeous gorgeous dress!

  7. Jen (NY) says :

    Lovely dress, and it will be really nice for the holidays. Cute photo of you and your daughter too! Happy birthday!

  8. Margo says :

    Happy Birthday! You look gorgeous in this dress. Love the color.

  9. detroitmarykaydiva says :

    Lovely dress. The change in fabric really does make a difference. I wouldn’t have guess that you used the same pattern.

  10. thetelltaletasha says :

    Well you look absolutely amazing! The color is so rich and regal. I’m glad you had a good birthday 😀

  11. Nakisha says :

    It’s so beautiful!! It fits you perfectly!

  12. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    Beautiful, what a great fabric choice, love the color on you.

  13. Pandora Sews says :

    Beautiful dress, Manju! Those colors look so rich on you, and the fit is great. Happy Belated Birthday!

  14. Maria says :

    Beautiful!

  15. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Gorgeous birthday dress. That fabric looks so festive and the fit is perfect. Lovely sewing skills.

  16. Janet says :

    Happy Birthday… what a lovely gift to yourself! How your daughter has grown!!!

  17. dkswife says :

    The dress is gorgeous and you look great in it. Your daughter is so pretty. 🙂

  18. m3isme says :

    That dress is really love and compliments you well. Great, great job!

  19. Amanda S. says :

    Beautiful dress! I love this color on you. Happy happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

