Grainline Studio Archer Button Up Shirt: DIY plaid flannel shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Hello Readers, hope you are all well. I have finally got round to making an Archer shirt! I have read sooooo many great reviews about this shirt that I just had to see what all the hype was about. Let me tell you, it does not disappoint.

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

I made my Archer in a soft flannel (which from these pictures would appear to wrinkle easily!) This shirt is designed to be loosely fitting, and it is. I like the relaxed fit, but next time round I think I would perhaps narrow the sleeves and cuffs down. I did take the precaution of shortening the sleeves by 3.5 inches before cutting the fabric. I used a tip from Beth (having admired her plaid shirt) and used a softer fusible interfacing to give a softer feel to the shirt.

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

I used the same plaid matching techniques as described in this post, again cutting the yoke on the bias. I think I have conquered my fear of matching plaids 🙂 I also chose to flat fell seam all my seam allowances. Speaking of which, I somehow managed to sew BOTH my shirt sleeves on inside out, AND flat fell seam them (on the outside) before I realised and unpicking them (after trimming seam allowances) was hideous, but I managed and somehow got them back on the right way and flat fell seamed…again.

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

I would not say this is a beginners project. It does require a lot of very precise sewing. BUT, I have to say that the sewalong accompanying this shirt on the Grainline blog is superb. Jen’s instructions are extremely clear and so are her photographs/ videos. I have previously used the Craftsy Classic Tailored Shirt tutorials to learn about shirt making, and I do still highly recommend them. But I still learned some new tricks using the Archer sewalong which I will carry forward into my future shirt making.

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

The Archer Button Up is a loosely fitting button up shirt with long sleeves. View A has angled cuffs and a back pleat at yoke. View B has straight cuffs and a gathered lower back detail.

 
Pattern Sizing:

0 – 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I didn’t use the downloaded instructions at all. I just used the Archer sewalong (which is excellent!) and some of my own shirt making knowledge.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the overall fit. It is loose and relaxed. I love the proportions of the collar. I love the fact this is such a versatile pattern (haven’t we already seen so many amazing different versions?!) I think I need to narrow the sleeves for next time.

Fabric Used:

Cotton flannel.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Aside from shortening the sleeves by 3.5 inches and cutting the yoke on the bias, none.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

YES and YES.

Conclusion:

If you are looking for a casual, feminine shirt with some great features then try this pattern.

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Plaid Flannel Archer Button Up Shirt

Until later my friends, have a great week.

16 thoughts on “Grainline Studio Archer Button Up Shirt: DIY plaid flannel shirt

  1. Pretty shirt. I love the colours. I had trouble with the sleeves being too big on my Archer too. I was advised to cut the sleeves two sizes smaller and they will fit better. I will be trying this tip on my next one.

  2. The colours in this plaid are amazing!! I think flat felled seam finishes work so well with button up shirts.

    My stomach turned when I read your sleeve disaster, I would have wanted to break something!!

  3. Pingback: Grainline Studio Archer Button Up Shirt (2): DIY Blue Denim Shirt | sewmanju

  4. Pingback: McCalls 6886 and Muse Patterns Jenna Cardi: DIY Sweater Knit Dress and Cardigan | sewmanju

  5. Pingback: Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull On Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings | sewmanju

  6. Pingback: Same Pattern, Different Bodies: Grainline Studios Archer Button Up

Leave a comment