Grainline Studio Archer Button Up Shirt (2): DIY Blue Denim Shirt

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

Hi-di-hi Readers,

I braved the elements today and took photos outside of my latest make. Yep, my second Grainline Archer shirt (first one here). This is one of those rare patterns for me that I can just see in so many different guises. I want to do a more summery one next.

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

This second version is made from 8oz light blue denim. It has a good weight to it, but is not bottom weight. It will be the perfect tran-seasonal piece as we head into spring (sometime….?!) It keeps the cold at bay, but without overheating, and the lighter colour is great for this time of year. I also think that every woman should have a denim shirt in her wardrobe. It is a classic that you will wear for years to come.

I really, really wanted to put pearl snaps on the front of the shirt, but I did a trial, and not only did the snaps crack whilst I was trying to put them in, but the denim was just a bit too thick for the pearl snap to stay securely in place. So I went instead for these metal buttons. As with my first shirt, I omitted the breast pocket…I just don’t think I need anything else in that area right now!

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

I flat felled seamed the insides so they look nice and neat. I WISH I had added extra seam allowance on to the top of the sleeve piece and the sides of the front pieces to allow me to do the flat fell seaming more comfortably. I mean, I did it….but it would have been so much easier if I had added to the seam allowance to allow for this slightly thicker fabric.

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim - flat fell seams inside

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim – flat fell seams inside

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim - back

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim – back

So that’s it for today. What about you? What are you planning on sewing as we wait for spring to properly arrive?

Have a great week ahead.

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

Grainline Archer Shirt in Denim

Grainline Archer Shirts

Grainline Archer Shirts…just playing with some effects 🙂

 

22 thoughts on “Grainline Studio Archer Button Up Shirt (2): DIY Blue Denim Shirt

  1. Pingback: Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull On Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings | sewmanju

  2. Pingback: Same Pattern, Different Bodies: Grainline Studios Archer Button Up

Leave a comment