Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull On Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings

DSC_1392

Jalie Eleonore Pull on Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings worn with Grainline Archer Shirt

Hi There,

The focus of todays post is my new jeggings, made using Jalie 3461; the Eleonore Pull-On Jeans pattern. But I also want to mention that I am wearing my jeggings with a new Grainline Archer shirt, made from a checked brushed cotton. This is the third time of me making the Archer and you can see the first two versions here and here. The only thing I changed with the current version is that I added 1 inch to the length.

DSC_1403

Jalie Eleonore Pull on Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings worn with Grainline Archer Shirt

Back to the jeggings. I guess you either love jeggings or hate them. I personally wear jeggings an awful lot on a day to day basis. I mean, for me they are smarter and more flattering than a legging, but more comfortable than jeans can sometimes be. Plus, I never wear my tops tucked into my waistband so I don’t mind the elasticated waistband (I must be getting old!!) I have no problem buy RTW jeggings, but when I saw the great versions of Eleonore that were popping up (like Dawn’s and Deepika’s) I ordered the pattern and used some stretch cotton twill I had in my stash to whip these up. Let’s consider these a wearable muslin.

DSC_1406

Jalie Eleonore Pull on Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings worn with Grainline Archer Shirt

The fit of these jeggings is not perfect. I think on my next pair I will shorten the length of the leg above the knee (and add it back at the ankle?), slim the inner thighs down, raise the crotch slightly and possibly move the pockets down a smidge.Any other suggestions?

DSC_1425

Jalie Eleonore Pull on Jeans: back pocket topstitching and rivets

DSC_1435

Jalie Eleonore Pull on Jeans: inside waistband

One thing to note: I raised the waistband on these by 2 inches and they sit comfortably around my natural waist. I am 5 foot 3 so if you are making these I would say think about if you will be happy with the low rise as they come. Overall they are very comfortable but some tweaking needs to be done. Check out the review below for all the details.

DSC_1400

Jalie Eleonore Pull on Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings worn with Grainline Archer Shirt

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Stretch pull-on jeans (long or cropped) with wide waistband.

  • Yoke, faux fly in the front, patch pockets in the back
  • Fitted through waist and hips, straight from the knee down
  • Very easy to turn into skinny jeans!

Pattern Sizing:

27 sizes included in the pattern from girls through to plus size women.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, but I made mine more of a skinny leg jegging

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes…but….minor gripe…the instructions as provided are dotted around all over the (large) pattern sheet. I know you can download the instructions but….!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the finished product is so close to my RTW jeggings in appearance. I think with a few more fitting tweaks these will be perfect. The minor quibbles I have with this pattern are no lengthen/ shorten lines, the lack of an instruction sheet (the instructions of course are there but dotted around the pattern sheet), no pattern envelope provided and you are told to hem the jeggings before completing the waistband…hmm…not sure about that last point…risky I say.

Fabric Used:

Cotton twill with ?2%? elastane.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I cut the size according to my hip size (I didn’t size up) but I did have to ease a lot of fabric at the back on to the elastic to get the waist to fit without gaping due to the fact my waist is 2 sizes smaller than my hips. I purposefully cut the elastic shorter in the back to eliminate the gaping.

I added 2 inches to the rise at the front and back to get the waistband to hit at my natural waist.

I narrowed the leg by about 3 inches total in front and 2 inches total in back.

I removed 2 inches from the leg length.

I added additional topstitching on the pocket and inner leg seam and also added rivets.

I used the (larger) pockets from my Ginger Jeans pattern rather than the ones provided.

I turned 5/8ths inch over twice to hem.

Next time round I think I will shorten the length of the leg above the knee (and add it back at the ankle?), slim the inner thighs down, raise the crotch slightly and possibly move the pockets down a smidge.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, definitely, although it is all a question of finding the perfect fabric. Sigh. Yes, I definitely recommend.

Conclusion:

Fast to sew, convincing to look at and comfortable to wear.

Have a great weekend. Looks like we are in for another wet and windy one!

DSC_1404

Jalie Eleonore Pull on Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings worn with Grainline Archer Shirt

 

22 thoughts on “Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull On Jeans: DIY Mustard Jeggings

  1. These jeggings look fabulous on you, as does the shirt. Your topstitching is immaculate! You have just convinced me to buy that pattern and whip myself up a pair or two.

      • PS your write up in the love sewing mag is fab! Love seeing people I ‘know’.
        Hope everything’s ok where you are with all the flooding. Thinking of you all in your parts.

      • Thanks Ali. The flooding is horrible for those it has affected and it’s the second time round in 10 years for some. My family and I are not affected but heartbreaking for others, especially so close to Christmas. Are you not on Instagram? You need to come over to the dark side…

  2. Great review. These look really good and I agree with your about taking out a little length above the knee on the back. I really appreciate your comments about using the Ginger jeans pockets and the waistband. I am 5′-2″ and my waist is also a few sizes smaller than my hips, so your advice will be well used. The pattern is on its way to me as we speak and will jump to the top of my queue!

  3. I am starting to convert to the elastic waist after vowing and declaring not to. My favourite elastic waist pattern to date is the Lindy Petal skirt. I love the colour you have chosen for your jeggings. I am sure they will get a lot of wear.

  4. Pingback: 2016 Wardrobe Contest: Sewing Plans | sewmanju

  5. Pingback: McCalls 7248, Butterick 6179, Jalie 3461 Eleonore Jeans and McCalls 6886: DIY animal print top, culottes, jeggings and breton top | sewmanju

  6. Pingback: Sewing for My Curves: Manju

Leave a comment