Butterick 6182 and OOP McCalls 6291: DIY cropped navy cotton top and tapered printed trousers pants

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

Hi Friends,

Today is a different silhouette for me. I normally avoid wearing shorter length tops and like to have plenty of bum coverage. But I have been seeing lots of these printed pants everywhere and thought that a shorter length top might just balance out the looser, more relaxed fit of these bottoms. What do you think?

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

The top is made using Butterick 6182, which is a Lisette pattern. I made view A. Full review below. I will say that I am 5 foot 3 inches, and I know it depends on your torso length and personal preference etc, but I added 2 inches to the length and I wouldn’t want it any shorter. So what I am saying is, make sure you are ok with the length before comitting to cutting out your fabric.

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

The fabric I used to make this top is a cotton lawn which has a wide embroidered border, which ran down the length of one selvedge. So I cut the body of this top on the cross grain to make full use of the border, which also meant I didn’t have to hem the bottom of the top either.

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

The bottoms (or pyjama bottoms as my husband refers to them) are made from OOP McCalls 6291, which I made last summer – see here for full details and original review.

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

To make this version I removed a total of 8 inches of width from each leg – 2 inches from each of the front and back inner and outer seams. I raised the front crotch by 1 inch and the back crotch by 0.5 inch. I don’t know if I may raise the front crotch a tiny bit more next time? I also omitted the elastic cuff at the ankles, instead turning over 0.25 inch and then another 1.25 inch to hem. Very easy to make and soooo comfortable and cool. Even if they do look and feel like pyjamas. BTW the fabric is a rayon, purchased from my local market.

Pattern Review for Butterick 6182

Pattern Description:
Loose-fitting, pullover top or dress has bias neck facings, and sleeve bands. A: Narrow hem. Skirt has wide waistband, side-front pockets, front pleat and invisible back zipper. B and C: Stitched hem.

I made view A.
Pattern Sizing:
6 – 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the finish inside with the bias neck facing and I do like the finished garment – although I don’t normally favour shorter length tops I think it balances out my looser fit trousers. I am 5 foot 3 inches, and I know it depends on your torso length and personal preference etc, but I added 2 inches to the length and I wouldn’t want it any shorter. So what I am saying is make sure you are ok with the length before comitting to cutting out your fabric. I found the cut on sleeves to be a tiny bit snug and so took a smaller seam allowance to compensate and they are fine. Could just be my arms, but something to watch out for.
Fabric Used:
A cotton lawn with a wide embroidered border, which ran down the length of one selvedge. So I cut the body of this top on the cross grain to make full use of the border, which also meant I didn’t have to hem the bottom of the top either.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 2 inches to the length of the final top. I found that the sleeves were a tiny bit snug, so I ended up taking just a 0.25 inch seam allowance for the sleeve bands and at the armholes. Next time round I would cut these areas to be bigger.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, perhaps. Yes, I would recommend.
Conclusion:

I didn’t think I would like this shorter silhouette but I think it looks good with my new printed pants. Sometimes it’s good to step outside of our comfort zones and try something new.

Until soon.

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

Butterick 6182 navy cotton cropped top and OOP McCalls 6291 tapered printed trousers pants

41 thoughts on “Butterick 6182 and OOP McCalls 6291: DIY cropped navy cotton top and tapered printed trousers pants

    • Thank you sthlivingincolor. Until you have made your first pair you just won’t know! And loose trousers like these are much easier to fit than fitted ones.

  1. They look very cool and comfortable. The silhouette is just right with that length of shirt and the width of the trouser legs.

  2. I think this is a great summer look! I do appreciate the warning about the length of the top. I got a couple of the Lisette patterns but not this one. Hopefully I will get at least one sewn up before summer is over;)

  3. This is a great look, and you wear it well. Nice summer clothes that look comfortable and colorful. Very nice. Thanks for the ideas.

  4. Love the entire outfit. Funny I made a similar type of pant recently and my best friend asked “You decided to wear pajamas out today?” I don’t care what they say I love our Pajama pants.

  5. The shorter top looks great on you with the snazzy pants! I went back to have a look at your first pair and I think the 2nd pair are more flattering and wearable,and don’t look like pjs! Love the colours too 😀

  6. Love the top! the border makes the top. The pants are fantastic and think a pair for every day of the week is the way to go for spring, they fit well and are very wearable. Not pj looking at all!!!

  7. You look great. Really suits you. do you mind if I ask where you got the lovely navy fabric. I have been searching for something similar. Embroidered borders hard to find! Gilly

  8. As you say, this is quite a different look for you, but I think it looks great. I laughed at your husband referring to the trousers as pyjama bottoms – mine would do exactly the same. Men just don’t get fashion sometimes do they?!

  9. You are one of my favourite bloggers. I love that your sense of style is so wearable and chic and your reviews are always so detailed and informative. This foray into a new silhouette really paid off – what a great summer outfit.

  10. I forgot to mention that my husband does not get the peplum trend at all and thinks cropped blouses look like the shrunk in the wash lol They don’t get fashion at all

  11. Pingback: McCalls 6291, McCalls 6991 and Butterick 5926: Printed Pants, Crossover Wrap Top and Ponte Blazer | sewmanju

  12. Pingback: Sewoverit Pussy Bow Blouse + Butterick 6182: DIY Pussy Bow Tie Neck Blouse + DIY A-Line Dark Denim Skirt | sewmanju

  13. Pingback: Butterick 6182: DIY Sandwashed Silk Boxy Top | sewmanju

Leave a comment